We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quick Break Away”
Review of Claregalway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Claregalway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Quick Break Away”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stopped here for someone's 70th birthday. Have to say it is a very lovely and lively place. the location is unusual, but in easy access of Galway. Takes about 15 mins by car.

The rooms are spacious, clean and modern. They are have air conditioning also which works too well in some cases. Careful which setting you choose!

The breakfast room is lovely too although I feel that this is a rather underused part of the hotel. the bar is certainly popular from locals as well as tourists.

There is a health club next door where you may use the pool or the treadmill, depending on your choice.

Great night, fantastic staff and would stay here again if the deal came up.

Room Tip: Live Bands every Friday and Saurday
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_R_Beckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, General Manager at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Darren,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us .

We hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Claregalway Hotel again in the very near future.

You’re sincerely,
Paul Gill
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    136
    80
    26
    24
See reviews for
185
168
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Lovely friendly warm hotel. Good location for visiting Galway and surrounding area. The staff were helpful and the room was comfortable with good lighting which makes a nice change.
We asked for a room away from the traffic so were given a room at the side which was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front traffic if you want it more quiet as this hotel is on a very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, General Manager at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Hazel O,

Thank you so much for your positive review following you stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Claregalway Hotel. We hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back again to the Claregalway Hotel the next time you return to Galway.

You’re sincerely,

Paul Gill
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed for 2 nights midweek at the end of January. The room was huge and absolutely lovely a real tase of luxury. The staff were all very friendly and the food was also lovely even though the service was a bit slow they could not do enough for you and were very helpfull. Would highly recommend for a nice break as its great all round.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, General Manager at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Joe Q,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us in January.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel team. I will be sure to pass these comments to the new F&B manager along with your comments relating to the service.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward in welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gill
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We were there last weekend 16th to 18th February
Very friendly and efficient reception on arrival All the staff at this hotel are very friendly and accommodating
We really enjoyed the 2 course menu that was included with our 2 night deal through Deal rush
The rooms are basic; but very clean
This hotel lives up to its 3 stars we would give staff 5 star

However there is a little bar about a hundred meters from the hotel called Summerfields
Were the local clientèle were very hostile when we walked in making some very strange noises directed at us making us feel very unwelcome avoid at all cost
much better welcome in Hotel bar.

Couple Dublin

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agvanzanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Agvanzanten,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience here at Claregalway Hotel.
On behalf of the team I would like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to post your comments.

I am delighted to be reading your comments; it is kind words like yours that make our hard work worthwhile. I will pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gill,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband and I had a Lovely two night Escape in The Claregalway hotel just recently, and had a really great time.
Claregalway overall is a warm, spacious, Clean, and Child friendly hotel which is also wheelchair accessible. The Beds are Like sleeping on a cloud in Heaven, and the T.V happened to have a hockey highlight channel (which was great news for my Husband)
The Hotel is host to a generously sized gym on one floor, and a well kept pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room on another (If you are using the pool they ask you to invest in a swimming cap which they sell there; but It may be cheaper to pack your own).
We had a lovely dinner In their restaurant one of the evenings. The food portions were generous and tasty, but the service is pretty slow...and confusing. I think the waiters also serve in the pub that's next door as they would all disappear for long moments of time. But would eventually come back and clear the tables and ask you if you had enjoyed everything. If you are not in a hurry, and if you are in good company, you should be grand!
What sold me on the hotel is their Full Irish Breakfast :) A breakfast of this size and portion is for champions indeed! I had a great waiter named Carl who was very charming, and didn't mind putting my husbands breakfast into a to go box so that I could surprise him with Breakfast in bed!
My only wish would be for a more convenient City Bus to and from Glaregalway to Galway City. The stop itself is right outside the hotel, but it comes very few and far between with the last bus from Galway returning to the Hotel at 6:15p!!. We support cabs, they are great and plenty, but each way burnt an eighteen Euro hole in our wallets.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahWritesandDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, General Manager at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Sarahwriteanddreams,

Many thanks for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent trip to the Claregalway Hotel. I am delighted your family enjoyed the stay. It is really appreciated.
I am glad that you availed of all the facilities and had the opportunity to enjoy them. Your comments about our staff are much appreciated. I will be sure to pass on your feedback.
I am delighted you enjoyed your food in the restaurant but I am sorry to hear that you found the service in the restaurant to be slow. I have passed your comments onto our Food & Beverage Manager to review.

Sarahwriteanddreams, all bus timetables are available from our reception desk. Please find below detail which you might find helpful for your next trip to Galway.

There are several regular bus services that pass the hotel. Bus Eireann runs every hour approx. to & from Galway. Their Sunday service runs every 2 to 3 hours with the last bus departing Galway at 22.15 on Friday & Saturday night. A one way ticket costs €3.75 approx. Burkes also runs a service from Claregalway to Galway. The service runs every hour Monday to Friday & every 2 hours on the weekend. The last Burke Bus leaves Galway every evening at 21.15. All buses stop just outside the hotel.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,

Paul Gill,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I had a deal rush voucher for this hotel which was an absolute bargain!! Food could not be faulted, clean hotel, nice spacious room with all amenities. Staff members really make this hotel what it is, they are extremely attentive, friendly and made our stay that bit better!! Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sineadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, General Manager at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Dear Sineadr19

Many thanks for your much valued custom and kind review of the Claregalway Hotel on Tripadvisor. Your comments about our staff are much appreciated and help keep everyone motivated. I will be sure to pass on your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to Galway.

Best Regards,

Paul Gill,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickmacross, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here Oct bank holiday weekend have to say i was very surprised with some of the bad reviews it has received.
Went here with my wife and kids and we taught it was a very good hotel rooms were very large and spotless and same with the pool but was a bit annoyed that we had to go back up to our room to get towels on one of our visits as the had ran out.
They had a ghost hunt on for the children which they had a great time going around trying to track them down.
The staff were the main asset to this hotel some of the friendliest i have come across had no problem accommodating anything we asked.
We had dinner on one of the evenings it was just average could have been alot better, but on both mornings breakfast was excellent.
Went down to the bar on one of the nights as they had a band playing just can't remember his name now, it was packed and had a great atmosphere, turned out to be a brilliant night.
Overall a lovely hotel with some of the friendliest staff and just a short distance from Galway would consider going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear MonMan3,

Thank you very much for posting your review of Claregalway Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Claregalway Hotel.

It is such a pleasure to hear that you were happy with your accommodations and you found our team friendly & helpful. We are also delighted that you enjoyed the atmosphere & the live music within the bar however

I am very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy one of your meals with us. I will inform the Food & Beverage team of the short comings in the restaurant and I assure you that this is not our usual standard.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,
Paul Gill,
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
5.4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
1,562 reviews
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 45 in Galway
1,901 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claregalway Hotel

Property: Claregalway Hotel
Address: Claregalway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Claregalway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claregalway Hotel is 'definitely different' with an innovative, contemporary design offering an indulgent experience and energetic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Claregalway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claregalway Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing