We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Claregalway charm”
Review of Claregalway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Claregalway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed at the claregalway hotel for 3 nights in July for a friends wedding! The staff were most helpful and accommodating and no request or query was to big for them ( even with our Aussie accents!) The breakfasts were a fine start to the morning or the end to the night ( I did way I was here for an Irish wedding!) and the room sizes were large and roomy and the beds comfortable.

The leisure centre was a nice facility with every gym item you need.

If you are on a weekend and not attending a function, ask to be placed away from the ballroom.

Thanks claregalway staff ( especially Catherine!) was lovely to stay in your hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wah_wah02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (592)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

377 - 383 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Back from one night stay room over ballroom noise as in a night club very loud as function going on did not finish till 2:15 Not advisable for young kids as noise will keep them awake as i could not sleep. When taking a shower no shower gel carpets very stained bed clothes clean but bottom of bed dirty like some spillage stain tv in room did not work. Little old fashion but could not fault food it was good. Also carpet on stairwell frayed.

Room Tip: Rooms need carpet to be cleaner as i was in three other rooms and they too were stained
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Just back last night from a 3 day stay, have to say every member of staff we came across were ever so friendly and helpful. Leisure center was the same staff were great as were facility's. We had a family room and it was well equipped for what we needed, rooms were freshened up every day and clean towels supplied. Breakfast was good every morning with plenty of selection, we also ate one night in the hotel and the food was delicious and plenty of it. Would definitely stay here again if coming to Galway location was 12 mins from the city (sometimes a little longer due to peak time traffic) Good value for money

Room Tip: we had a great room on floor 1 near a little outside area with seats and a little water fall, my dau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellypyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear kellypyper,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate the feedback and it makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile.

We are thrilled that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed on your great comments to all our team and I know they will be trilled with such lovely feedback.

Hopefully, we will have the pleasure in welcoming you all back to Claregalway Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Gill
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Lovely Hotel with great big family rooms, super leisure facilities and friendly staff. Breakfasts are really good and there is no problem.. Great value too and child friendly. But when they having wedding or function don't book your room near to the ballroom if you want to go good sleep. Our room was on the first floor, right under the banquet hall.You could hear the music and when the people danced, and we asked to change our rooms next morning we got room from third floor.so we were fine. Restaurant staff is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear nirohn,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we really appreciate the feedback, we must apologise for allocating your room near a function a will ensure on next arrival that this doesn’t occur again.

We are thrilled that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us, I have passed on your great comments to each Department. Hopefully, we will have the pleasure in welcoming you all back to Claregalway Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Paul Gill
Managing Director.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We celebrated our wedding at the Claregalway Hotel early July and we cannot recommend this hotel enough. From our initial contact right through to check out, the level of service was outstanding. This is the first time we have written a review but felt we must share this gem of a hotel with other couples searching for the perfect wedding venue in Galway. We would like to thank Nora, Paul, Darragh and the whole team at the Claregalway hotel for their professionalism, dedication and excellent service to us, our families and to all of our guests. The best way we can describe the level of service we received is we were made feel like we were the first and only couple ever to marry at this hotel, even though they had another wedding party the day after our wedding. We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights, which included an intimate post wedding party the following evening in the residence bar. This did not interfere with the other wedding and the high standard of service continued, serving platters and champagne to us as part of this evening. We planned our wedding from Perth, Australia and there was nothing and I mean nothing that Nora did not do for us. All of our guests commented on how nice the hotel is. Most of the feedback we received was their rooms were clean, spacious, comfortable, the food & service was excellent (the food was incredible, served hot, prompt & so plentiful and continued well into the night, including platters served in the residence bar) and the staff so friendly and helpful. So many of our guests spoke of how "this level of service would not be found anywhere else". Our guests travelled from all parts of the world and stayed in several hotels before arriving to Claregalway and each spoke of how this hotel out shone all the rest. Nora ensured our day ran smoothly, all of the stress was taken from us. The staff assisted us every step of the way. We both stayed in the hotel the night before the wedding and Nora ensured we had everything we needed the morning of the wedding & throughout our entire stay. She is so calm, organised, approachable, professional..the list is endless with how much good we could say about Nora & her team. Our day went without a hitch. Paul did a wonderful job organising our entrance music, first dance & other songs played at different intervals throughout the evening. We also had a photo slide show running during our meal, which worked out perfect. Nora assisted us with organising the timing of everything, working around the schedules of our band, DJ, Irish dancers, photographer, videographer, food service & speeches. She ensured it all came together and we cannot thank her enough for her help. The banquet room was beautifully presented, which included small Australian & Irish flags in each napkin which added a personal touch to our reception. The backdrop fairy lights and wedding cake stand looked stunning. Nora organised a guest book too and ensured this was circulated to our guests. All of these things really made our day special. We also had to cater for some children attending our wedding. The children's club was perfect for them, all receiving a kids dinner in the club. They had a great time and were so well looked after. We are left with the most amazing memories and can really look back on our day with no regrets. We booked this hotel based on other reviews on forums & websites and I am glad to report all are accurate, you will not be disappointed with this hotel as your wedding venue. Thank you so much for your level of service and we look forward to visiting you again. We wish the hotel continued success, as it deserves nothing less. A sincere thank you to you all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMDM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear BMDM2013,

Many thanks for your lovely compliments and it was our great pleasure looking after you, your family and friends who travelled from all parts of the world to be with you both on your Wedding day here at Claregalway Hotel.

We take great pride in the service we offer and it makes it all worthwhile when we receive a lovely review on trip advisor. I have passed on your compliments to Darrah and all the Team here. I hope it helps others who are planning or thinking about booking their wedding with us here at Claregalway hotel.

Again, thank you for your lovely comments and we hope you are enjoying married life in Perth, Australia and we would be thrilled to see you back in Ireland and to stay with us at Claregalway Hotel.

Is mise le meas
Nora Gill
Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here recently as part of a hen party group and I would definitely recommend the hotel to groups and individuals. The staff were simply superb. I was responsible for booking the group and the hotel were very accommodating and flexible which is really helpful when dealing with a group. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel food was fantastic. We stayed for 2 nights, the original plan was to commute to Galway for Sat night. However the entertainment and the Craic was so good at the hotel that we remained there for both nights. We had a cocktail lesson and dinner and the hotel reserved an area for our group where the excellent in house band helped us dance the night away! In short, this is an excellent hotel, with so wonderful staff and a brilliant atmosphere! Book it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

On check on this was a lovely hotel. Annemarie on reception was excellent & I was impressed with the room. Although I had paid for a family room it was directly above the bar where live music played until after one am. Not great with a 4 year old daughter. There were no other rooms available. I received a call the next day offering an upgrade the next time we stay but unfortunately we shall not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,172 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#12 of 46 in Galway
2,029 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,752 reviews
6.6 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claregalway Hotel

Address: | Claregalway Village, Claregalway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range: £44 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Claregalway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claregalway Hotel is 'definitely different' with an innovative, contemporary design offering an indulgent experience and energetic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Claregalway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claregalway Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing