We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top class hotel”
Review of Claregalway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Claregalway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Certificate of Excellence
Loughrea, Ireland
1 review
“top class hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Attended a wedding party in the claregalway hotel on friday the 14/2/14. The food service was excellent and the food was top class.Thanks to Nora and all her team.I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would be thinking about staying or booking a wedding party at the ClareGalway hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    137
    80
    26
    24
See reviews for
186
168
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
kerry
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here recently with my extended family for my brother's wedding. The staff were so helpful and kind (even at the breakfast buffet assisting my elderly aunt). Our kids loved the pool and I found the beds particularly comfortable. We all enjoyed our stay and nobody had anything negative to say. The only difficulty I had was the walk from the rear car park to the front door (but the wind and rain didn't help!)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
obcg, Owner at Claregalway Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear c0kerry

Thank you for your lovely comments and it was our pleasure to look after you, as you celebrated your brothers Wedding Day.

Thank you for your kind words and I have passed your compliments to all of the team here at Claregalway Hotel. We are especially glad that you found our team helpful especially towards your aunt and that your kids enjoyed the pool and gym area and that you were able to enjoy our beds comfortable.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Claregalway Hotel soon!

Is mise le meas

Paul Gill
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We had to wait for our roomy but the staff were pleasant. The hotel is clean and well presented but is completely let down by the music playing until 2am. From our room we may as well have been in the bar. No chance of sleep before 2am and if we had children with us it would be a nightmare.
Shame really.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splank365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We attended a wedding in January 2014, Bar Service on a week night was just not good enough. If we were not ignored despite bar not busy then the staff did not have a clue what they were doing. We weren't hungry so decided to have a sandwich at 7 pm so we could have an early night before the big event the next day. Would you belief the Barman had to ask the Chef if this was possible after 20 minutes Barman came back to take our order for a sandwich eventually we got a very standard sandwich. We tried to get the attention of the not busy staff again for the bill and another drink about 9pm at 9.15 we got our drink and bill and went to bed not looking forward to the event next day with the service we had received. A Bar Man who did stand out and well worth a mention as been Polite, Helpful and had a Cheerful Smile and overall the best Barman in the building was Ger without a dought he is Manager Material please Management take note.
Rooms were clean and moderate had a good sleep., Breakfast was good. Wedding food was excellent as was the service well done to function staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoking room they have balcony's
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryanne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Called for the bar here for food to break a long journey. It was a Thursday evening so didnt expect it to be too busy and it wasnt....but staff practically running around the bar & didnt seem to be doing much. Waited over 10 minutes for a menu, eventually stood up & found one. Couple at next table also grumbled about waiting. Ordered after some time. Fishcakes very soggy, with very little fish & served with overpowering garlic mayo. Accompanying chips were nowhere to be seen, when they did arrive were covered in salt & inedible. Sat for another 15 minutes before my plate was removed. Young manager tried to make amends with free dessert but he seemed to be under pressure & rushed. Would be very hesitant to return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank tenjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed here on Sunday night with my two sisters. From the moment I'd called to book 3 rooms to the time we left on Monday, we had excellent service. Mary on reception is exceptional and could not have been more helpful (arranging taxis; an early check in for one of the rooms and rooms in a quiet location), particularly when I rearranged our room/taxi booking three times! All done with a friendly, professional and caring attitude. The rooms were all spotless with very comfortable beds; the heating was on when we got to the rooms and extra milk pots provided straight away. Check in and out was smooth. The service in the restaurant and the dining room at breakast the next day was good. What let the hotel down was the quality of the food - we had lunch on the Sunday (a mediocre offering of roast beef with vegetables - obviously reheated/microwaved). The crumble for pudding was just about ok. The hot breakfast was a big disappointment. We arrived just after 9.30am (breakfast was 'til 10.00am) It was brought from the kitchen so we were expecting it to be freshly cooked. A good sized portion but again, pre-cooked, microwaved/reheated food. Had the breakfast cook gone home early?!!! I left most of it. And no sign of any soda bread! We asked for some and some walnut studded bread arrived - not quite the soda bread we know and love. Sort out the kitchen and stop serving reheated food and you'll be rated 5*.

Room Tip: Room 216 was a huge family room with a double and 2 single beds Rooms 213 and 215 large room with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen_Jennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stopped for lunch here on friday. Overall disappointing. The waitress was miserable and quite short with us. The chef however, did do breakfast items for our mother even though breakfast was over which was appreciated and the rest of food was lovely..tasty and beautifully presented. The tea though was possibly the worst I've ever had! Now sure how that can even happen and 2 of our cups were dirty. Once we had paid someone came to clear our table straight away, cups, everything gone..felt like we were being rushed out the door. It wasnt busy. Bit more attention to detail needed in this place and staff could do with lesson in how to treat paying customers!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rororo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claregalway
0.1 mi away
The Arches Hotel, Claregalway
5.4 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,566 reviews
5.4 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,078 reviews
4.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Galway
Clayton Hotel Galway
#11 of 46 in Galway
1,904 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claregalway Hotel

Property: Claregalway Hotel
Address: Claregalway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Claregalway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claregalway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Claregalway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Claregalway Hotel is 'definitely different' with an innovative, contemporary design offering an indulgent experience and energetic atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Claregalway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claregalway Hotel County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing