We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe derry great food”

The Abbey Restaurant
Price range: US$12 - US$21
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Joe derry great food”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We found this restaurant by chance lucky us food and service excellent the dinner was so good on the sat night that we ate there on Sunday as well

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    13
    3
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food.. Great Service!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Could'nt decide where to go on a sunday afternoon and decided on a first visit to The Abbey....It won't be my last visit,that's for sure.
It's fantastic..in this day and age where restaurants try so hard to out do each other with the hippest food and decor (and usually make a mess of it by neglecting either their service or value to the customer)..the abbey gets it just right.
The most genuinely friendly and attentive staff that I have seen anywhere in Galway and the food is absolutely lovely.. The menu is so good we agreed right afterwards that we would be back to sample everything on it ..even though there was so much of it it was hard to think about food at the time...I will be back again and again and again..Great Value for Money too...I cannot stress how good the service was by the way..absolutely perfect!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mullini2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

All my family love this restaurant, that has a great Irish atmosphere.

Last time, the restaurant was packed, yet the upstairs seating was "closed today" according to staff.
After about a 20 minute wait, we were seated. The menu was very broad, and easily legible.
The soup was very creamy and wholesome, one of the best in the country for sure.
My Chicken Kiev, was just out of this world. It was cooked to perfection, and the creamy sauce was so nice. The vegetables were also very nice and complemented my meal.
I was too stuffed for dessert, unfortunately.
I look forward to returning very soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were in Claregalway for a wedding recently and stopped in for dinner the night before, we were delighted with the quailty of food and the staff were so freindly.
no waiting around.

If your ever passing by it is worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We enjoyed a full buffet breakfast during our stay....lovely view, wonderful staff, and a nice selection of breakfast goodies. We were also able to order from a selection of eggs & sausage....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank josflowerbasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Abbey Restaurant also viewed

 
Aucloggeen, County Galway
Claregalway, County Galway
 
Tuam, County Galway
 

Been to The Abbey Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing