We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Ti Cusacks at The Claregalway Hotel
Price range: US$15 - US$44
Restaurant details
Knockananna, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Friendly staff, good food, Management are excellent to deal with an issues you may have. This is a very popular hotel for weddings.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    13
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worst Greek Salad ever”
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

What do you expect when you order Greek salad? Fresh crisp salad leaves, crumbly feta cheese, olives, ripe tomatoes, onion, cucumber, olive oil dressing, not too difficult you’d think. Well I’m afraid no one had told whoever prepared mine today in the Claregalway Hotel.

Limp leaves with brown edges out of a salad bag, no tomatoes, no cucumber, no onion. French dressing from a bottle. And the tiniest portion you ever saw.
I couldn’t take a photo or complain unfortunately because I was being brought out for lunch by a client.
What’s more the service was very very slow, and we were only 1 of 3 tables occupied. Never again

Helpful?
Thank Oonaghpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bar food wait”
Reviewed 9 March 2013 via mobile

In passing we decided to pop into the hotel bar for some lunch. The hotel was spotless and there was a flurry of activity getting the bar area set up for a busy afternoon. We were met and served by a friendly waiter, ordered and received our drinks in a timely manner. Whilst the coffee was ordered and being made, we had decided on what food we wanted. So as soon as the drinks were dropped to the table we placed the food order. After a short while 2 of the orders were delivered, a short wait and cutlery arrived. One of the party ordered soup thinking its bound to be quick and tasty. After the others had finished their food , we were still waiting for the soup, a polite prompt was answered with "it's on it's way" .
So we waited, another gentleman came in and sat waiting for service at the next table, and after being passed by several times by waiting staff he showed his frustration by simply walking out again. It was clear that he was waiting for food / service. Two ladies sat down next to us and again waited for service. In the end one of them approached the bar for service.
At this point we had been waiting over 30 mins for the soup just as we got up to leave the soup appeared. With the amount of staff on in the bar, versus the amount of customers this was totally unacceptable.
The lady at the till was informed about the soup being late and did apologise but offered no excuse or comment. Other members of the party were disappointed with the quality of their food, steak baguette had 4 tiny pieces of meat smaller than the mushrooms. Not tasty.
Service needs to be improved on greatly, not sure if we would hurry back.

Helpful?
Thank Happysham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good value, small portions, great taste”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I've been here a couple of times now with friends and have been fully satisfied each time. It's bar food, but tasty. The prices seem to be excellent value - but - the portions are small - so be careful if you're really hungry. Good service, friendly and clean (but about four different strange ways to go to the toilets so don't get lost). Great if you're driving out of town, want something reliable with free parking and quick service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lunch time food and menu could be better”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Takes a little long to get served there also. I just wanted lunch, took a while to get served and I have had lunch there twice and I would not say I love the place. Day time menu is also very limited. Staff were pleasant enough but need to recognise their day time customers too. I hear it is great for weddings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maricka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ti Cusacks at The Claregalway Hotel also viewed

Claregalway, County Galway
Claregalway, County Galway
 
Galway, County Galway
Aucloggeen, County Galway
 

Been to Ti Cusacks at The Claregalway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing