We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dive Center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Looe Key Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
2,753 reviews
212 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 806 helpful votes
“Dive Center”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Outside your backdoor is a dock, you are on a canal halfway out for the day.. You can go diving on the #1 reef in the USA. You can go back to the tiki bar and look for your sunglasses, The restaurant is open early, the coffee is good, so are the eggs & toast. Then you can go to the sundeck, or the pool. It's all cost friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 387indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    53
    44
    15
    15
See reviews for
53
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The resort and the shop are old. Shop looks better than the resort.

This review is about the dive experience. This shop is about 45 mins with good traffic and construction from old town Key West.

We arrived on time and filled out our forms. Got thru the check in process to sit and wait for the boat to arrive. They needed to get fuel( I thought this was usually done the night before but everyplace is different).

On board the dive boat we were luck to only have 2 other divers and about 12 snorklers and a few passengers(not crowded) I probably wouldn't do this trip with a filled.

The crew was great. They gave us detailed instructions answered questions we had. Overall they took good care of us.

It is about 30-40 min trip to reef. We were given good details on reef and how to dive it. Each of the two dives were an hour long. Plenty of time to see what the reef offered.

This is probably the best reef I have seen diving in the keys. The amount of fish, creatures etc we saw was great. Some highlights: School of tarpon, sting ray, shark, large lobster, plenty of parrot fish, and no Lion fish.

Crew helped us into and out of the water and made things very easy.

I would highly recommend this dive just dont have the expectations that this is the prettiest resort and dive shop.

We will look to make this dive again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nottarts23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's got a typical dive resort feel to it. The first room we got was a little on the icky gross side. Room #29 I think it was....it needs some major overhauling! We saw the room our friends had and quickly asked for one of those!! MUCH better!! Very clean, the air worked great, had great water pressure. The gals at the front desk were all very nice and helpful. We had a good experience diving and it was also nice that our room overlooked where the boat was docked. The best part of it all was that he realized he had left two battery chargers in the room and three days later we called to see if someone had found them. Much to our delight someone turned them in to the front desk. Its nice to know that there are still honest people out there.

Room Tip: If you are there to scuba dive make sure you get a ground floor room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcraig67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and i stayed there this past weekend. Check in was easy and simple. The room needs a good cleaning, The sheets were clean but the room had a dirty feeling about it. It did not help that there was blood stains on the walls (several walls), like someone get beat up in that room a while ago. For a night its fine, longer not sure. The Tiki Bar was fun/ good very keys-ish. But the kitchen door was open and i would not eat there, looks like the staff and the kitchen itself need a good cleaning. We wont stay here again. It needs a good company to take over and run it the way it can and should be run.

Room Tip: room nbr 1 has a million dollar view out the back porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boars919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing three days . With Tara's skills and her Patience she allowed me to accomplish recertification! I first dove in 1989 in the Panama Canal. This great grandma did it & so can you!
The reef was awesome and our friendly 150lb. grouper that hung out was our boat buddy! Saw turtle, moray eel, lots of parrot fish and much more ! Was my first visit to the keys but not my last !
Did not stay at the hotel but the Tiki Bar on site had good food and friendly service and Music !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfside, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Returned to the Florida Keys to kick renters out of my house so needless to say, we weren't in the best of moods. My feelings soured more as our typical Keys lodgings were unavailable due to a visiting Navy carrier air wing and Gay Pride Week revelers. (Must've been a wild party). I've spent some time at the Looe Key Tiki Bar and as Keys' bars go, they definitely hold their own. Thumbs up! But I never stayed in the rooms until this weekend.

Rooms were very economical given other Key's accommodations. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. We had a window shaker air conditioning unit that did the job on this hot weekend. Room also had a small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. My wife can be picky about cleanliness and she had no complaints. WORD TO THE WISE: ASK FOR A ROOM BEHIND THE DIVE SHOP OFFICE!!! These rooms are the furthest from the bar and the noise shouldn't bother you unless you're a very light sleeper. Any closer then I'd say there will be noise issues. I believe the music must end at 10-11 PM given Monroe County regulations. If you want something more Miami-esque in tiki bars, just head across US-1 and visit Boondocks.

Room Tip: Behind the dive shop office!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justthatgoodguyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

A buddy and I stayed here for 4 days to do some diving. The hotel looks like a bit of a dive, but I was pleasantly surprised to find a nice, clean room with tile floors. The beds were very nice, fairly new, high quality, thick mattresses, firm, yet soft. I had none of the back problems I often get sleeping on the road. The sheets were clean, towels were decent and changed daily. The housekeeping staff does a great job. I've had bad experiences at hotels like Econolodge and Super 8 and won't go back to those chains. This was very much like a nice hotel in a third world country. Not the Ritz, or even the Hampton Inn, but very acceptable. I would definitely return to this hotel. The backside fronts on a canal and has a full length balcony. The dive boat is right out back. If you are looking to dive or snorkel Looe Key, this is a great choice. Its also a great choice if you are just looking for a reasonable, yet inexpensive place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 11 is on the second floor and has a great view straight down the canal. Plus its the farthest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramrod Key
19.4 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
19.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
25.0 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
1.3 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
10.1 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looe Key Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looe Key Reef Resort

Property: Looe Key Reef Resort
Address: Mile Marker 27.5 Overseas Highway, 27340 Overseas Hwy, Ramrod Key, FL 33042
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Ramrod Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Looe Key Reef Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looe Key Resort was constructed in 1958 and has been well maintained. We offer that chic old Florida charm. Our rooms have all be recently renovated and all offer Wi-Fi, a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and cable TV. We have an outdoor pool and offer kayaks, rental boats, dive/snorkel/fishing charters, and also have a Tiki bar & restaurant onsite. Come join us for a wonderful day on the reef. Now offering 2 trips daily!! Don't forget to visit the Looe Key Tiki Bar! Or just come and relax at our classic Keys Resort! **Please make sure to place reviews for our 3 listings in the appropriate location** -Review for Hotel or a combination of all 3 Resort Entities: please post HERE at "Looe Key Reef Resort" -Review for Tiki Bar: please post at "Looe Key Tiki & Grill" -Review for Dive & Snorkel Trips at "Looe Key Dive Center" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Looe Key Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing