We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Looe Key Reef Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Don't let the lack of curb appeal scare you off, this is a pretty comfortable place. Sure, the floors could have been cleaner and the air conditioner made a strange gurgling noise.... but really, there were fewer ants in the bathroom here than at the fancy B&B where I stayed in Key West (and this place was less than half the price). Also, this is not a place to stay if you're looking to get a lot of sleep. The band plays until the noise ordinance kicks in (10PM on a week night) and the dive boat loads the tanks at 7AM. Both can be loud enough to keep you from sleeping.

Ok, I know I'm not selling this place very well (maybe I don't want the demand to increase and the price to go up). We really had a great time. Considering that this is a dive place, the rooms were quite clean. With the exception of a few ants (pretty unavoidable in the keys), the bathroom was really clean. The beds were very comfortable. The view was incredible. The staff was friendly. The deals with the dive boat were great (best price in the keys - plus a discount for those staying at the resort and a free drink at the Tiki bar!).

I will definitely return to this place. It's not for everyone, but I love it.... and I'm actually pretty picky about hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claryqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

This review is about the boat rentals available at Looe Key Reef Resort. We were staying on Little Torch Island and had our own boat but unfortunately experienced motor problems. We contacted multiple places about renting but Travis Basavage, at Looe Key, made the difference for us! He was accommodating, flexible and great to work with. We rented a 20 foot Starcraft that was clean, comfortable and perfect for our family to explore and enjoy the area. Travis made sure we had all the necessary equipment and safety gear and gave us maps of the area and a portable GPS. He also called to check on us and see if we had any questions or needs. I would recommend Travis if you are looking for a boat rental in the Big Pine Key area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank dka23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Outside your backdoor is a dock, you are on a canal halfway out for the day.. You can go diving on the #1 reef in the USA. You can go back to the tiki bar and look for your sunglasses, The restaurant is open early, the coffee is good, so are the eggs & toast. Then you can go to the sundeck, or the pool. It's all cost friendly.

Room Tip: Try to get a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank 387indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The resort and the shop are old. Shop looks better than the resort.

This review is about the dive experience. This shop is about 45 mins with good traffic and construction from old town Key West.

We arrived on time and filled out our forms. Got thru the check in process to sit and wait for the boat to arrive. They needed to get fuel( I thought this was usually done the night before but everyplace is different).

On board the dive boat we were luck to only have 2 other divers and about 12 snorklers and a few passengers(not crowded) I probably wouldn't do this trip with a filled.

The crew was great. They gave us detailed instructions answered questions we had. Overall they took good care of us.

It is about 30-40 min trip to reef. We were given good details on reef and how to dive it. Each of the two dives were an hour long. Plenty of time to see what the reef offered.

This is probably the best reef I have seen diving in the keys. The amount of fish, creatures etc we saw was great. Some highlights: School of tarpon, sting ray, shark, large lobster, plenty of parrot fish, and no Lion fish.

Crew helped us into and out of the water and made things very easy.

I would highly recommend this dive just dont have the expectations that this is the prettiest resort and dive shop.

We will look to make this dive again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nottarts23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's got a typical dive resort feel to it. The first room we got was a little on the icky gross side. Room #29 I think it was....it needs some major overhauling! We saw the room our friends had and quickly asked for one of those!! MUCH better!! Very clean, the air worked great, had great water pressure. The gals at the front desk were all very nice and helpful. We had a good experience diving and it was also nice that our room overlooked where the boat was docked. The best part of it all was that he realized he had left two battery chargers in the room and three days later we called to see if someone had found them. Much to our delight someone turned them in to the front desk. Its nice to know that there are still honest people out there.

Room Tip: If you are there to scuba dive make sure you get a ground floor room facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmcraig67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and i stayed there this past weekend. Check in was easy and simple. The room needs a good cleaning, The sheets were clean but the room had a dirty feeling about it. It did not help that there was blood stains on the walls (several walls), like someone get beat up in that room a while ago. For a night its fine, longer not sure. The Tiki Bar was fun/ good very keys-ish. But the kitchen door was open and i would not eat there, looks like the staff and the kitchen itself need a good cleaning. We wont stay here again. It needs a good company to take over and run it the way it can and should be run.

Room Tip: room nbr 1 has a million dollar view out the back porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boars919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing three days . With Tara's skills and her Patience she allowed me to accomplish recertification! I first dove in 1989 in the Panama Canal. This great grandma did it & so can you!
The reef was awesome and our friendly 150lb. grouper that hung out was our boat buddy! Saw turtle, moray eel, lots of parrot fish and much more ! Was my first visit to the keys but not my last !
Did not stay at the hotel but the Tiki Bar on site had good food and friendly service and Music !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramrod Key
19.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
20.8 mi away
Skipjack Resort Suites & Marina
23.7 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
24.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,375 reviews
21.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Looe Key Reef Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Looe Key Reef Resort

Address: Mile Marker 27.5 Overseas Highway, 27340 Overseas Hwy, Ramrod Key, FL 33042
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Ramrod Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ramrod Key
Price Range: £129 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Looe Key Reef Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looe Key Resort was constructed in 1958 and has been well maintained. We offer that chic old Florida charm. Our rooms have all be recently renovated and all offer Wi-Fi, a small refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker, and cable TV. We have an outdoor pool and offer kayaks, rental boats, dive/snorkel/fishing charters, and also have a Tiki bar & restaurant onsite. Come join us for a wonderful day on the reef. Now offering 2 trips daily!! Don't forget to visit the Looe Key Tiki Bar! Or just come and relax at our classic Keys Resort! **Please make sure to place reviews for our 3 listings in the appropriate location** -Review for Hotel or a combination of all 3 Resort Entities: please post HERE at "Looe Key Reef Resort" -Review for Tiki Bar: please post at "Looe Key Tiki & Grill" -Review for Dive & Snorkel Trips at "Looe Key Dive Center" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Looe Key Reef Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing