We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Elms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Elms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could be great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited The Elms today for afternoon tea. First impression from reviewing their website and other reviews was positive and I was therefore looking forward to our visit. Sadly from the start of our visit it was disjointed, slow and food quality was below average for what I would expect from a luxury hotel.
The tea was delivered well in advance of the food. After chasing the food eventually arrived but the sandwiches were stale, scones crumbly and poor choice of cakes.
We were served by most of the members of staff but not the same one more than once, which is why I think our service was disrupted.
The hotel did compensate us for this. However it would make be question whether I would visit this hotel again.
The facilities on offer are excellent for families but expensive given the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
dear Alisoncass

Thank you for your recent review and recognising the potential at the Elms Hotel. We do have a great location and some excellent facilities. The gardens are a great place to have afternoon tea when the sun is shining. I am sorry that our service levels drop and as a result we were not able to meet your expectations, which is extremely disappointing.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team to ensure these inconsistencies are ironed out.

Once again many thanks for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    154
    81
    65
    27
See reviews for
356
126
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Really looked forward to our return to The Elms this year and it has been sadly disappointing. Great location and the facility is superb. However some areas of the service have seriously taken a dive since our last trip here. The main issue being the restaurant. Food is overall good however we had to pretty much ask for everything from drinks to condiments. In one meal we had to leave our table to seek attention three times from disinterested staff. Orders taken incorrectly by staff who can barely understand English. At £350 per day we expected much much more. Highly doubtful we would return here. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Richard P
Thank you for taking the time to post a balanced review on Tripadvisor. Whilst it’s disappointing to read we were unable to meet your expectations on your return visit I am pleased your first visit was a positive one.

I am sorry that your dining experience dropped below our usual standards. Your visit may have coincided with some new recruits, who initially were nervous and had to build on their confidence with their language skills. This perhaps contributed to a disjointed service which I sincerely apologies for.

I am pleased to read that you did enjoyed the location, facilities and food. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to restore your confidence in the Elms.

Many thanks

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

School Easter holidays- I had limited time due to work and we needed a break at the last minute. We had only one night here and all returned in much better spirits. For the children it was fantastic, for us the food was excellent. Through the stay the staff could not do enough for us. It was pricey, but when time was short this was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear StuartH
Thank you for your positive review Stuart and we are pleased we were able to cater for your needs during your last minute break and allow you to leave in better spirits. Hopefully we can entice you back in the near future for a slightly longer stay?

Thank you for mentioning the teams effort during your stay – they really do try to meet and exceed our guests expectations and care about the service they offer. Reading the Tripadvisor reviews gives them a huge boost.

Many thanks

Hayley & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I arrived with two very tired children and bags, partner was joining us later. One of the guys took our bags and whisked us straight off to our room. No filling in of forms or credit card copies, one of the best and easiest checking in. The room was big with cot and bed set up, everything that you could need was there. The children's food selection was very good as was the menus for adults.
The crèche, pool, spa are all great facilities the grounds itself were very good, if they weather had been better I think we would have spent more time out there. As the hotel is aimed at families you don't have the worry of them waking up others or loud parties waking the children up. Breakfast was very good the fact that bibs are provided is another indication of how well thought out the hotels are. I suspect we will try another one of the hotels in the group later in the year. I'm not sure I would stay here without children as everything is geared for families

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Windsoreatsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Windsoreatsalot

Thank you for your recent Tripadvisor review and we are so pleased to read that the luxury family experience worked for you. It is always our aim to provide stress free relaxing short breaks for children and adults a like so it is great to hear the little touches such as the express check-in is appreciated.

We were also pleased to read that you and your little ones enjoyed the facilities and food. We place equal importance on the food we provide for our VLIP’s (very little important people) as we do our adult diners, offering a balanced and health menu that children want to eat.

Once again thank you for you review of the Elms and we are delighted you had a wonderful experience. We hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Elms in the near future of at one of the other Luxury Family Hotels.

Best wishes

Hayley & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, Middlesex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife, 5 years old daughter and myself stayed for 3 days at the end of May. There was an issue around the room we were allocated but this was promptly sorted out the next morning. The staff are all very friendly and we loved the fact that our daughter could attend the Bears Den for 2 hours each day whilst we enjoyed the spa facilities. We also had the chance to have a dinner one night alone as the bear den staff ran a slumber club from 1900-2200hrs where the kid played games and watched DVD's with popcorn. The spa facilities were clean and the pool was never that busy even though it was half term. Food and drink is fairly expensive but that's what you get to stay in a luxury hotel. It has lovely grounds and fanstastic views from the rooms. We also took our daughter horse riding at a local farm riding school( Wharf Stables), £20 for half an hour. Will definately return. I have also statyed at New Park Manor in the New Forest, this chain of hotels is great.

Room Tip: We stayed in the duchess. Queen size bed and z bed for child. Still loads of space and fantastic vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eclipse18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Eclipse18
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Elms Hotel. The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and that you are a fan of the luxury family experience and our collection of hotels.

The team work hard to deliver that unique luxury family experience and they will enjoy reading your feedback.

We hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Elms, but if we cannot tempt you back you may like to visit New Park Manor, Woolley Grange or Ickworth which are all in reach from your location.

Many thanks

Hayley & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We've just returned from 3 nights at the Elms with our three children - aged 5, 4 and 2. It was the perfect family break. The staff were amazing, particularly the lovely and ever-helpful Portuguese waiter Tiago. Star of the break was the hotel itself: if there is a prettier view than the one outside our first floor hotel room I have yet to see it: gorgeous rolling hills, just perfect, idyllic English countryside. The kids loved the pool, the gardens are divine and it is impossible not to have a good time, regardless of the weather.
We are going back in August.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Jules S

Thank you for writing a lovely review of your stay at the Elms. I am so pleased that you had a great time . I will pass on your comments to Tiago, I know he will be pleased to get a mention.
August is nearly upon us so I look forward to welcoming you all back soon!

Best Wishes

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were given this as a gift from my son and daughter in law in April this year
So the weather was kind to us so I booked the afternoon tea some where nice and quite local to us
The hotel was lovely to see from outside lovely setting until we went inside
Not a lot to say really not very welcoming at all .had to wait for ages for someone to acknowledge us
We were asked were we would like to sit as it was nice and warm we chose outside in the gardens
Bad mistake there were children every where so much for a quiet afternoon tea
Never mind were sat in a lovely garden any way.
Then the pot of tea came ok
Then a short while later came our afternoon tea
What a let down, tiny sandwiches looked like left overs we were not asked what fillings we wanted it was just assumed that we ate the fillings given.
Salmon no ,ham no, cheese and chutney no, the only I ate was egg and that was hardly there
My husband ate the ham and cheese what cheese there was.
I am vegetarian so the should have asked when making the booking I think
The scones jam and cream were lovely though very nice as for home made cakes were concerned they need to have a few lessons in home baking most of these were out of a packet
Over all can say we will not recommend this to any one nor will we return any time soon

Room Tip: Didn't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosalind d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abberley
9.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
13.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
19.6 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms

Property: The Elms
Address: 1 Stockton Road, Abberley WR6 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Abberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elms 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms Hotel, part of Luxury Family Hotels, is much loved by children and parents alike. Located in beautiful rural Worcestershire, this Queen Anne mansion boasts a family friendly spa, a fine dining restaurant and complimentary crèche.At The Elms Hotel and Spa, our aim is to ensure your family feels completely at home so that you can relax, have fun with the kids and enjoy grown-up time for yourselves. You’ll find locally sourced food, a family spa, gorgeous grounds and superb children’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel Abberley
The Elms Hotel And Spa
Elms Hotel Abberley
The Elms Abberley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing