We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Elms
Nearby Hotels
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor(Stourport-on-Severn)
US$85
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kidderminster(Kidderminster)(Great Value!)
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
The Talbot Hotel(Knightwick)
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Droitwich(Droitwich)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (736)
Filter reviews
737 results
Traveller rating
344
190
100
74
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
344
190
100
74
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teahigh teafamily friendly hotelhalf termmain restaurantsconesspa facilitiesa la carte menulovely groundscream teacoach housecountry housesteam roomold housethe main housegreat facilitiesrelaxation room
Filter
Updating list...
410 - 415 of 737 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is a really mixed bag, and definately not the ideal solution for family weekend breaks that it apparently once was.
On the plus side, the pool and the creche are excellent and the staff are are generally very friendly. Unfortunately the minuses outweight the pluses, the biggest being the dire food. Everything we ate that was cooked tasted primarily of oil, and the buffet breakfast was very poor for a hotel in this price range. Despite having paid for full board we ended up eating dinners in the far superior village pub.
The second biggest problem is that service is very slow, and most but not all of the staff appear very young and inexperienced. The owners of the hotel seem desperate to squeeze every penny out of it but the hotel seems unable to cope with the multiple events (pre weddings etc) it is constantly hosting with the needs of the regular guests. To give an example despite pre bookin and pre ordering our kids dinner for 6pm in the garden cafe our drinks took 20 minutes to arrive and our food 40 minutes. Taxis were ordered for the wrong times, meals booked for the wrong times etc. Finally it is worth pointing out that Wifi power is very low, so no kids watching their ipads either. Finally the decor is a bit shabby, in particular the moulting grey carpet the covers most of the communal areas.

Room Tip: Rooms above the dining room can be noisy
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

dear AdamS
Thank you for your review. Naturally I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us and that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion.

I note your comments regarding your dining experience and I am a little confused as examination of your booking reveals that you were not booked on a board basis that included dinner but were instead on bed and breakfast basis though your review states that you booked dinner then chose to eat out which unfairly gives the impression that the food was so awful that you paid for it and then left it, which is not the case.

I will, of course take on board your comments regarding the food on the lighter menus that you ate from and I understand that this is not meant as a reflection on the a la carte dining which you did not sample. The bistro and all day dining menus are currently being rewritten and I hope will be lighter flavours and options more suitable to summer dining which perhaps you were expecting. I am sorry that the food and service did not live up to your expectations and that you felt we over committed ourselves with functions during your stay and that you were negatively impacted by this. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience, it is offered with all sincerity.

I am pleased that you thought the hotel was beautiful and the location was great, unfortunately as we are in a remote location we are not able to have fibre- optic broadband and as such the speed is then compromised and will only allow downloading of emails and web surfing once you have clicked through the Elms internet login page. The hotel does provide DVD players in rooms and a wide range of DVD’s for in room entertainment.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I regret the disappointment we may have caused.


Yours sincerely

Hayley Kirton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

visited spa yesterday dissapointed in service. spa facilities ok ,but 3 50 for a coffee !!!!!!!!!!! and 16 pounds for 4 very small portions of chips. we were not offered a serviette or salt and vinegar , had them served in garden , waitress spilt our milk then forgot to bringus more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bessy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Bessy35
Firstly thank you for choosing to visit the spa at the Elms. I am pleased you enjoyed the spa facilities but naturally disappointed to read that the food service provided was below our usual standards. The feedback has already been shared with the necessary departments to take corrective actions.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for providing feedback that will help with our continuous improvement. As you are in close proximity to the hotel perhaps we can tempt you back via one of the special offers on the spa web page and restore your faith in our offering?

Best wishes

Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed with our two daughters at the Elms on many occasions. We have always enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the great food. Our visit on this occasion wasn't as hoped with some 'drain issues' in our room. This could not have been foreseen. What impressed us was the response to the problem, particularly for the manager Hayley. She did everything in her power to make the best of a difficult situation. We shall definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skindocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear skindocs

Thank you for your wonderful review of your time at the Elms – even when faced with some adversity. The team and I really appreciate your comments and were delighted to read that the luxury family experience of relaxed atmosphere and great food really works for you.

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Hayley & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited The Elms today for afternoon tea. First impression from reviewing their website and other reviews was positive and I was therefore looking forward to our visit. Sadly from the start of our visit it was disjointed, slow and food quality was below average for what I would expect from a luxury hotel.
The tea was delivered well in advance of the food. After chasing the food eventually arrived but the sandwiches were stale, scones crumbly and poor choice of cakes.
We were served by most of the members of staff but not the same one more than once, which is why I think our service was disrupted.
The hotel did compensate us for this. However it would make be question whether I would visit this hotel again.
The facilities on offer are excellent for families but expensive given the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AlisonCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

dear Alisoncass

Thank you for your recent review and recognising the potential at the Elms Hotel. We do have a great location and some excellent facilities. The gardens are a great place to have afternoon tea when the sun is shining. I am sorry that our service levels drop and as a result we were not able to meet your expectations, which is extremely disappointing.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team to ensure these inconsistencies are ironed out.

Once again many thanks for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards

Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Really looked forward to our return to The Elms this year and it has been sadly disappointing. Great location and the facility is superb. However some areas of the service have seriously taken a dive since our last trip here. The main issue being the restaurant. Food is overall good however we had to pretty much ask for everything from drinks to condiments. In one meal we had to leave our table to seek attention three times from disinterested staff. Orders taken incorrectly by staff who can barely understand English. At £350 per day we expected much much more. Highly doubtful we would return here. Shame.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Richard P
Thank you for taking the time to post a balanced review on Tripadvisor. Whilst it’s disappointing to read we were unable to meet your expectations on your return visit I am pleased your first visit was a positive one.

I am sorry that your dining experience dropped below our usual standards. Your visit may have coincided with some new recruits, who initially were nervous and had to build on their confidence with their language skills. This perhaps contributed to a disjointed service which I sincerely apologies for.

I am pleased to read that you did enjoyed the location, facilities and food. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to restore your confidence in the Elms.

Many thanks

Hayley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews