We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappoined”
Review of The Elms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Elms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappoined”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Wonderful location, beautiful hotel, but.... Drab grey carpets, worn in places, cheap bedding, cheap TV's, Free WiFi ..what free WiFi, not even good enough to download your email let alone access a website. Wherever you went in the public areas, there were used coffee cups, glasses, teapots standing around. Nobody bothers to clean up.
Don't bother going for dinner. The food was rather poor and the service was appalling. It took as 2 1/2 hours to make our way through a disappointing meal, had to ask for cutlery (same happened to the table next door. When I asked for a refill of my water glass I was told that a waiter will be around shortly with the next water round.... Water round??? Never heard of such a thing. Tables were not cleared when guests finished their meals, plates with left over food were just left on the tables. Really, really bad!!!
They call this a luxury hotel. Seriously. It could be, but someone has to pull it together!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review. Naturally I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us and that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion.

I note your comments regarding your dining experience and we must hold our hands up here. On this particular evening we did not manage the dinner reservations correctly creating a bottleneck effect that impacted on the kitchen, restaurant and the subsequent service throughout the evening. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience, it is offered with all sincerity.

I am pleased that you thought the hotel was beautiful and the location was great, but with such a countryside retreat the wi-fi is compromised a little with our location. Wi-fi is freely available throughout the hotel and whilst we cannot provide huge bandwidth and lightening fast speeds, it certainly allows email download and normal internet browsing once you have clicked through the Elms internet login page.

I am sorry you did not like some of the bedroom provisions. Our aim is to provide a great nights sleep so all of our beds have deep filled mattress toppers, goose feather and down duvets pillows to provide that sumptuous feeling. All our rooms have flat screen TV’s with terrestrial channels and a full range of free view channels.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I regret the disappointment we may have caused.

Yours sincerely

Hayley and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    158
    84
    69
    29
See reviews for
365
127
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed a couple of weeks ago for our honeymoon with our 12 week old baby. Met Hayley the manageress on reception and from that moment onwards everything was faultless. From a very generous upgrade, due to it being our honeymoon night, to the faultless service from every member of staff to the luxury enviroment this was the perfect place to cap the perfect wedding. We do feel a little sorry for people who have complained about the service in the restaurant previously but rest assured the service we recieved was first class. Even though the hotel is only 20 miles from home we will be back!

Room Tip: Even though we did not get to see the original room we booked we were put in the Madresfield suite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear James B
Thank you for your great review. Everyone here at the Elms are delighted we were able to contribute to a memorable honeymoon experience and it was a pleasure to be able to upgrade your room.

I was pleased to read that the luxury family environment worked for you and the team will be particularly pleased with their mention. They have been working tirelessly during a short recent period where we have been a couple of staff members light.

As we are ‘almost’ neighbours we look forward to welcoming you to the Elms in the near future.

Best wishes

Hayley & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel is a really mixed bag, and definately not the ideal solution for family weekend breaks that it apparently once was.
On the plus side, the pool and the creche are excellent and the staff are are generally very friendly. Unfortunately the minuses outweight the pluses, the biggest being the dire food. Everything we ate that was cooked tasted primarily of oil, and the buffet breakfast was very poor for a hotel in this price range. Despite having paid for full board we ended up eating dinners in the far superior village pub.
The second biggest problem is that service is very slow, and most but not all of the staff appear very young and inexperienced. The owners of the hotel seem desperate to squeeze every penny out of it but the hotel seems unable to cope with the multiple events (pre weddings etc) it is constantly hosting with the needs of the regular guests. To give an example despite pre bookin and pre ordering our kids dinner for 6pm in the garden cafe our drinks took 20 minutes to arrive and our food 40 minutes. Taxis were ordered for the wrong times, meals booked for the wrong times etc. Finally it is worth pointing out that Wifi power is very low, so no kids watching their ipads either. Finally the decor is a bit shabby, in particular the moulting grey carpet the covers most of the communal areas.

Room Tip: Rooms above the dining room can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
dear AdamS
Thank you for your review. Naturally I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us and that we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion.

I note your comments regarding your dining experience and I am a little confused as examination of your booking reveals that you were not booked on a board basis that included dinner but were instead on bed and breakfast basis though your review states that you booked dinner then chose to eat out which unfairly gives the impression that the food was so awful that you paid for it and then left it, which is not the case.

I will, of course take on board your comments regarding the food on the lighter menus that you ate from and I understand that this is not meant as a reflection on the a la carte dining which you did not sample. The bistro and all day dining menus are currently being rewritten and I hope will be lighter flavours and options more suitable to summer dining which perhaps you were expecting. I am sorry that the food and service did not live up to your expectations and that you felt we over committed ourselves with functions during your stay and that you were negatively impacted by this. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience, it is offered with all sincerity.

I am pleased that you thought the hotel was beautiful and the location was great, unfortunately as we are in a remote location we are not able to have fibre- optic broadband and as such the speed is then compromised and will only allow downloading of emails and web surfing once you have clicked through the Elms internet login page. The hotel does provide DVD players in rooms and a wide range of DVD’s for in room entertainment.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I regret the disappointment we may have caused.


Yours sincerely

Hayley Kirton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

visited spa yesterday dissapointed in service. spa facilities ok ,but 3 50 for a coffee !!!!!!!!!!! and 16 pounds for 4 very small portions of chips. we were not offered a serviette or salt and vinegar , had them served in garden , waitress spilt our milk then forgot to bringus more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bessy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Bessy35
Firstly thank you for choosing to visit the spa at the Elms. I am pleased you enjoyed the spa facilities but naturally disappointed to read that the food service provided was below our usual standards. The feedback has already been shared with the necessary departments to take corrective actions.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for providing feedback that will help with our continuous improvement. As you are in close proximity to the hotel perhaps we can tempt you back via one of the special offers on the spa web page and restore your faith in our offering?

Best wishes

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have stayed with our two daughters at the Elms on many occasions. We have always enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and the great food. Our visit on this occasion wasn't as hoped with some 'drain issues' in our room. This could not have been foreseen. What impressed us was the response to the problem, particularly for the manager Hayley. She did everything in her power to make the best of a difficult situation. We shall definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skindocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear skindocs

Thank you for your wonderful review of your time at the Elms – even when faced with some adversity. The team and I really appreciate your comments and were delighted to read that the luxury family experience of relaxed atmosphere and great food really works for you.

The whole team looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Hayley & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited The Elms today for afternoon tea. First impression from reviewing their website and other reviews was positive and I was therefore looking forward to our visit. Sadly from the start of our visit it was disjointed, slow and food quality was below average for what I would expect from a luxury hotel.
The tea was delivered well in advance of the food. After chasing the food eventually arrived but the sandwiches were stale, scones crumbly and poor choice of cakes.
We were served by most of the members of staff but not the same one more than once, which is why I think our service was disrupted.
The hotel did compensate us for this. However it would make be question whether I would visit this hotel again.
The facilities on offer are excellent for families but expensive given the service and quality of food.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
dear Alisoncass

Thank you for your recent review and recognising the potential at the Elms Hotel. We do have a great location and some excellent facilities. The gardens are a great place to have afternoon tea when the sun is shining. I am sorry that our service levels drop and as a result we were not able to meet your expectations, which is extremely disappointing.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and will be shared with the team to ensure these inconsistencies are ironed out.

Once again many thanks for your valuable feedback.

Kind regards

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Really looked forward to our return to The Elms this year and it has been sadly disappointing. Great location and the facility is superb. However some areas of the service have seriously taken a dive since our last trip here. The main issue being the restaurant. Food is overall good however we had to pretty much ask for everything from drinks to condiments. In one meal we had to leave our table to seek attention three times from disinterested staff. Orders taken incorrectly by staff who can barely understand English. At £350 per day we expected much much more. Highly doubtful we would return here. Shame.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheElmsAbberley, General Manager at The Elms, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Richard P
Thank you for taking the time to post a balanced review on Tripadvisor. Whilst it’s disappointing to read we were unable to meet your expectations on your return visit I am pleased your first visit was a positive one.

I am sorry that your dining experience dropped below our usual standards. Your visit may have coincided with some new recruits, who initially were nervous and had to build on their confidence with their language skills. This perhaps contributed to a disjointed service which I sincerely apologies for.

I am pleased to read that you did enjoyed the location, facilities and food. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to restore your confidence in the Elms.

Many thanks

Hayley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abberley
9.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
13.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Brockencote Hall Hotel
Brockencote Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chaddesley Corbett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
19.6 mi away
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
Hogarths Stone Manor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elms

Property: The Elms
Address: 1 Stockton Road, Abberley WR6 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Abberley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abberley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elms 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elms Hotel, part of Luxury Family Hotels, is much loved by children and parents alike. Located in beautiful rural Worcestershire, this Queen Anne mansion boasts a family friendly spa, a fine dining restaurant and complimentary crèche.At The Elms Hotel and Spa, our aim is to ensure your family feels completely at home so that you can relax, have fun with the kids and enjoy grown-up time for yourselves. You’ll find locally sourced food, a family spa, gorgeous grounds and superb children’s facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Elms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elms Hotel And Spa
The Elms Hotel Abberley
Elms Hotel Abberley
The Elms Abberley, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing