We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Hotel in Santa Catalina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sol y Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sol y Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Healdsburg, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Hotel in Santa Catalina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Luis is the best! Awesome service, rooms and food. AC with TV and mini fridge....hammock on the deck...what more could one ask for. A view of the sea....included with the best sunsets in town. I have stayed at Hotel Solymar many time in the past 5 years. It's always the best time spent in all of Panama!

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 6 have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    55
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
49
83
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Beautiful view, good rooms with AC, and good food make this place a great place to stay. The owner, Luis, makes it an amazing place. Totally chill, understanding, kind, helpful, happy, fun, and there just aren't enough adjectives to do him justice. I would stay here again in a heart beat. Thank you Luis! You're the best!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Our stay at Sol y Mar was a pleasant surprise, and Luis is one of the best hosts you will come across. He made a delicious New Year's eve buffet for us which included a giant baked Red Snapper and ribs by special request. He also let us use his computer and acted as our interpreter to help us book a flight. Thank you Luis. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Staying in Santa Catalina was such a great experience being at Sol y Mar. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and relaxing. It's a gorgeous spot just outside the village, with great views right outside your room! The restaurant is on top of the property, which is on a big hill, and you can dine while gazing out to the ocean. And the food was amazing! Try the octopus rice. Luis was nothing but helpful. He was always willing to help if I needed to figure something out. I would highly recommend staying here. I truly felt welcomed into Santa Catalina, and Sol y Mar was a big part of that feeling.

Room Tip: I liked the building with one and two, but they are all really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Catalina, Panama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Sol y Mar has the most comfortable and clean rooms in Santa Catalina. We were there for a month and found nothing better. Then owner Luis is extremely helpful and will bend over backwards to make sure you have the best possible experience while in Santa Catalina. If you're a surfer, there's no better person to be your surf buddy! And he will help you set up your diving and snorkeling trips too. The rooms are very clean and have air conditioning and satellite TV, a mini fridge, nice bathrooms and beautiful views of the Pacific. Luis's girl Adriana is one of the nicest people I've ever met, and their daughter Anabella is so cute and well behaved! Some people have said it's far from the beach, but if you consider a 5 minute walk to be too far then maybe you could use the exercise! I definitely recommend staying at Sol y Mar if you go to visit Santa Catalina.

Room Tip: The rooms at the very top (#5 & #6) have the best ocean views, so if they're available when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

My husband and I spent a few days at Sol y Mar on a diving trip to Isla Coiba. Luis, the owner, picked us up and drove us back to Panama City. The hours sure passed fast talking to him and we got some insights into life in Panama that I really appreciated. Climbing up to the cottages was a bit of a workout but that was just good to get. The view from up there was amazing. Being a bit off the center of Santa Catalina we felt in the middle of nature there. Food really was excellent and Luis a host you unfortunately don't encounter very often, always going the extra mile to help with things. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pipsano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

My brother and I stumbled on to Sol y Mar arriving in Santa Catalina, Panama, with
no reservations during May of 2011. Well it was the off season and were attracted to a place which was out of the town noise. The location is up very high on the mountainside. Though you don't have a good view of the shoreline you can see the ocean and the surrounding hillsides. We rode with the owner, Luis, and headed to his favorite surf spot. It was fun seeing the pro catching some amazing waves. Luis was so kind to share his long board with us as
we reminisced of our days surfing during the late 50's through the mid 60's. I felt so honored to be with my brother who taught me how to surf and now I had the chance to do something special for him in his dementia days.

Luis was such a super host. His restaurant is set at the top of his property, great views We ate together at times, we played pool together (watch out, he is a good player) and though we did not play, there is also a ping pong table as well. Luis is a great guy and fun to interact with. Highly recommend his hotel. He has put his heart and soul into making this a special place for his guest. Though it is a steep climb to ascend his hill, it is a happy hill and well worth it!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 24 in Santa Catalina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#2 of 8 in Santa Catalina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mama Ines Hotel
Mama Ines Hotel
#9 of 24 in Santa Catalina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol y Mar

Property: Hotel Sol y Mar
Address: Calle principal, Santa Catalina 00507, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sol y Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the main street in Santa Catalina,600 meters from Santa Catalina beach,on a hill overlooking the ocean,Sol y Mar offers 9 spacious rooms, all with air conditioned, private bath with hot shower, satellite TV, mini-fridge,safe-deposit box,terrace, internet (in restaurant area). Six of the rooms have two double beds and a sofa-bed, so they can accommodate up to 5 people Some of the rooms has an additional bunk bed,so can sleep 7.There are three new rooms each with a King bed. We also have a restaurant with pool table,ping-pong and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Hotel Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing