We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Hotel Sol y Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sol y Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Squamish, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Very nice hotel, with a great view of the surrounding area. Rooms were very clean and spacious, with all the necessary amenities. Each room has a hammock on their deck, which was handy for relaxing.
The pool and open air restaurant were great to spend time lounging in the hammocks, or playing pool/billiards or table tennis. The food was excellent.
Wifi at the restaurant, which was fast and reliable.
While this location is 5 minute walk from the beach, this is ideal for people looking for a quiet vacation as downtown SC can be quite noisy.
There are many stairs to the top off the property, with the restaurant at the top. The rooms are just below the restaurant. Although the property is somewhat steep, Luis and staff are more than willing to use a vehicle to transport guests and luggage.
We really enjoyed our stay and it was a serene B&B to retire to after a day of SCUBA diving etc...
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms #5 and #6 have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SantaCatalinaSurfer, Owner at Hotel Sol y Mar, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review our property and thank you for an accurate description of what we offer the visitors.
Its always rewarding to know that the guests have a pleasant stay with us,and we keep doing our best to improve
Hope to receive your visit again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    55
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
50
84
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zipolite, Mexico
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Favourite place in Santa Catalina, comfortable room, fast Wifi, panoramic sea view, friendly staff, nice pool, better than walking to the beach actually.. U can get a boat to some nice islands nearby for good beaches and snorkelling..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_Hey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orosei, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I had several stays at Sol y Mar and i will continue staying there.
The location on the border of Santa Catalina is a benefit for good sleep but,
you have to take a 10 minute walk to reach the heart of Santa Catalina and a steep
climb to reach your room while coming back.
The rooms have working a/c and internet access on the restaurant on the top or by cell phone
in your room.
Some of the upper bungalows have sea view, hammocks on the porch and they are 2 apt. bungalows most of them with a car parking by the side.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrigelKarrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Sol y Mar is indeed the finest hotel in Santa Catalina in Panama. Luis, the owner, is very friendly and provides excellent service, very clean rooms, a pool, a spectacular 360 degree view, and delicious meals. The rooms were equipped with air conditioning, refrigerator, clean sheets, cable TV, and a nice hot shower. There are hammocks by every room so you can just lay around and take in the spectacular scenery. My father is disabled and could not walk up the steps to the restaurant or pool area, so Luis drove him to and from his room to the restaurant and pool in his truck any time he wanted without haste. Lastly, this trip was a special trip for my family and I (a group of 10). Luis took care of all the details to make this trip very special. This trip will always be close to my heart. Thank you Luis.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2caldero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have spent an amazing time in that surfer's paradise little town! Hotel is located on a little hill so you can enjoy ocean views while hanging out at one of the hammocks :) rooms are spacious and clean with hot shower and air-condition. Service is great, the owners are very nice people always helpful and welcoming. When you're there try their food - very tasty! It's also one of the few places in Santa Catalina that actually has wi-fi! And don't forget to go for a trip to Coiba Island! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m*a*g*i*c m*a*d*e*l*e*i*n*e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed 5 nights in Santa Catalina,and i couldnt choose better place to stay than Sol Y Mar.Luis is very friendly and always helpful if you need a bit of advise around santa catalina,or even panama.
the rooms are huge,with cable TV,and the view from the top rooms-where i stayed-is very nice.
i was eating in the restaurant every evening,the food is excellent.
In the restaurant you have the Wi-Fi,also a pool table,ping-pong table and fussball plus the swimming pool,so sure can find some activities if you not in the mood to go to the beach.
lovely place,lovely people,only can recommend
P.S.-Luis,hope you found the leek on the pool and its fixed.

Room Tip: obviously the top rooms has much better views,but room no1 and 2 also have a nice view,with less ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is a wonderful place in Santa Catalina where me and my GF spent couple of days back in February 2013. The owner (Luis) and his family took care of us and helped us with everything - renting bikes, surfs, arranging trip to Coiba etc.

This B&B has a lovely setting which you may admire especially early in the morning when the sun goes up or later in the afternoon when the sun sets - then it is a perfect place for reading a book or playing pool.

I hope i can come back one day!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Faldimor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#3 of 9 in Santa Catalina
66 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#2 of 23 in Santa Catalina
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol y Mar

Property: Hotel Sol y Mar
Address: Calle principal, Santa Catalina 00507, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sol y Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the main street in Santa Catalina,600 meters from Santa Catalina beach,on a hill overlooking the ocean,Sol y Mar offers 9 spacious rooms, all with air conditioned, private bath with hot shower, satellite TV, mini-fridge,safe-deposit box,terrace, internet (in restaurant area). Six of the rooms have two double beds and a sofa-bed, so they can accommodate up to 5 people Some of the rooms has an additional bunk bed,so can sleep 7.There are three new rooms each with a King bed. We also have a restaurant with pool table,ping-pong and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Hotel Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing