We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms, Spectacular View and a friendly owner!”
Review of Hotel Sol y Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sol y Mar
Ranked #1 of 10 Santa Catalina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Rooms, Spectacular View and a friendly owner!”
Reviewed 15 April 2010

We stayed at Sol Y Mar for 3 nights in January and couldn't have been happier. Sure, you have to climb a few stairs, but the view is totally worth it!
Luis is super friendly and a great Santa Catalina guide. He recently opened a restaurant at the hotel which serves up some tasty food and generous drinks for a totally reasonable cost. The town is very small, so it was really nice to have the option to eat at the hotel. The rooms are clean, bright, and the beds comfortable.
Nothing can top the ocean view and SUNSET!
On top of it all, Luis offers surfing lessons (time permitting), and had both of us up riding waves within an hour! Wished we had many more nights to spend here. Santa Catalina is all about: diving, surfing, and beach...

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    57
    16
    7
    3
See reviews for
55
87
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Hi!
I'm portuguese but currently living in Birmingham. Hotel Solymar was a great choice since it's not usual to find such good living conditions (air conditioning, hot water, mini-fridge..) in a place like Santa Catalina. the best thing was a fantastic sea view! The owner provided me with kind guidance and it gave me the opportunity to explore the best spots in the area! He also advised me in taking a diving course. Both the diving course and the stay were pretty affordable and I'm definitely thinking about going back someday!

Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sofia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fort mc murray
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2010

Stayed with Luis at his hotel in Santa Catalina for what was supposed to be three nights. Ended up staying for six because it was so nice. Luis and company made the stay very worthwhile. Clean comfortable rooms. Carried our bags up the big hill on the property. Let us cook our Mahimahi that we caught that day. Has a restaurant , serves excellent meals . Has hammocks for the guests to use, and has really affordable rates. Strongly suggest a stay at Luis's Hotel Sol Y Mar. Website also has easy instructions to get there from Panama city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormHennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We just returned from staying at Sol y Mar for 3 nights. Yes, it's Spartan. Yes, you have to walk up a steep hill to get to your room or meals. Yes, the power went out once. And, yes, there's really no comfy place to just sit and veg out. But the place is in a beautiful setting with beautiful views. The rooms were clean and air-conditioned (!) in a place where both of those attributes might be quite rare. The owner, Luis, is worth the trip alone! So informative and so accommodating; he'll do anything to make your stay in Santa Catalina (the perfect antidote to touristy places) fun and satisfying.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2009

After a hot drive 100 kms down a heavily potholed road from Santiago, it was a nice relief to find Sol Y Mar at first. The room was clean , and i suppose at 50 dollars a night quite good value. But then at night things started to go wrong.... little touches would be nice - nets over the gaps in the windows and doors which let in bugs and mozzies would help, and the rooms themselves arent comfortable for louning around in - the tv area could do with proper seating. it rains a lot at this time of year over there and indoors needs to be do-able in comfort if its pouring
The visit wasnt helped by the fact that the electricity failed during our stay, across the whole of the village, so we had to leave after 1 night. 32 degrees and high humidity, and wet weather make the place unbearable without a/c if you have been used to it . I got the impression this happens a lot in the village. take a torch for walks into the village. Maybe we will return in a few years - it was out of season so yes, it was quiet - what we wanted - but things can be too quiet and we came away thinking that whilst beautfially isolated, and a real place of magic amongst the jungle, Santa Catalina itself is a very poor, dirty village, with people living amongst their animals. there are very few places to eat, or things to do, and it was the town that disappointed us as much as anything. it's not very geared up for tourists, like much of panama. something which prospective visitors to the area should consider as much as anything is whether the difficulty getting there is worth it until the road is repaired. A pity, as i was really looking forward to a nice stay there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank creatured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Wa
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Sol y Mar is a delightful if spare accomodation. The owner/proprietor is helpful and fascinating, like many of the residents of Santa Catalina, which seems like it fell right out of a Steinbeck novel. Prices are right but bring cash, when we were there there were no cash machines and they didn't take credit or debit cards.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandma3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I can recomend this wonderful place to everyone, but probably really elderly persons cause it´s really not that easy to climb the high stairs to your cabin. But as a reward the higher you stay the better view you enjoy!
The room was airconditioned, quite spacious, with 2 twin beds, a tv-set and a fridge. But to crown it all we took the advantage of the terrace - utilities for barbeque, wooden garden furniture, 2 hammocks and a splendid sea view!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoscowAcuzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 23 in Santa Catalina
125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#3 of 10 in Santa Catalina
67 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Catalina
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Ca...
#2 of 23 in Santa Catalina
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sol y Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sol y Mar

Property: Hotel Sol y Mar
Address: Calle principal, Santa Catalina 00507, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sol y Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the main street in Santa Catalina,600 meters from Santa Catalina beach,on a hill overlooking the ocean,Sol y Mar offers 9 spacious rooms, all with air conditioned, private bath with hot shower, satellite TV, mini-fridge,safe-deposit box,terrace, internet (in restaurant area). Six of the rooms have two double beds and a sofa-bed, so they can accommodate up to 5 people Some of the rooms has an additional bunk bed,so can sleep 7.There are three new rooms each with a King bed. We also have a restaurant with pool table,ping-pong and a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sol y Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Hotel Santa Catalina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing