We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always looked forward to returning to the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always looked forward to returning to the room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Parts of the hotel were under construction when we arrived - they were building a new restaurant - and we were the only ones staying there the first night, however our room was perfect. With airco to save us from the heat (this was not perfectly positioned-it was right over the bed which got us sick), with the best beds we had throughout our journey through Panama, and a huge beautifully designed bathroom to come back to after a long day of surfing or scubadiving. Because of the construction the reception is hard to find, but while we were walking towards our presumed rooms we were welcomed by the spanish speaking host.We could use their well-kept bicycles during our stay and these were definitely useful to explore the area and travel for breakfast and dinner. In the room there was a book filled with very handy tips and info -especially for restaurants for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    87
    16
    11
    2
See reviews for
96
143
26
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Third time I stay into this hotel , an is pretty amazing , have all the facilities that you need, very clean rooms, bathrooms and bed, with air conditioner; to have a very good rest after a heavy day of activities as surf snorkel and scuba that Santa Catalina and Coiba offers.
Short walk of distance from the Stero beach and the downtown of Santa Catalina.
Definitely I will come back

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Javier D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great hotel to stay if you are planning a trip to Santa Catalina with some friends. It's located just in front of La Punta so you have the best wave in town just seconds away. The rooms are great: A/C, bathroom with hot water, fridge, satellite tv, comfortable beds, space for the boards. The staff of the hotel is amazing, always willing to help and make you feel just like home. Just 15 minutes away on foot you have el Estero which is a great beach for beginners. So whether you are a pro or a beginner, Hotel Santa Catalina is a great place to stay if you are visiting Santa Catalina.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the rooms with kitchens, will save you money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadimKowalenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torio, Panama
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel Santa Catalina. The rooms are very nice, even though the suites we had had no sea view. Booking service and reception were very helpful. No restaurant as it is currently under construction. When we came back from an excursion the first evening, our rooms were not made up. We asked at rhe reception and were rold that rooms are only made on request as pwople want privacy!? Well, how about a sticker "do not disturb" to be put outside the door? At least they should have told us this on arrival, not when it was too late and the room maid had already left. At a rate of $ 100 you might expect Our room to be cleaned. However, this is my only complaint, otherwise I could recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giselajud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

this is a nice hotel. rooms are very clean, nice bathroom, good air conditioning, and outside each room there are hammocks to relax. the price is reasonable for what you get. we had a rental car and they allowed us to keep it parked there for 3 days while we were away in Coiba, which was nice. as of april 2014 they still have not gotten the insurance money to begin rebuilding the restaurant, but there are plenty of other places in santa catalina to eat. everyone staying there during our visit were in their 30s and 40s and mostly surfers who were up at dawn, so noise and rowdiness wasn't at all an issue.

santa catalina is tiny, so it's not a big deal, but the hotel is a bit out of the way from the main intersection where the general store, dive shops, la buena vida, etc. are. it can get extremely hot and sunny, so keep in mind that walk can be somewhat unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boquete, Panama
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Sadly there was a fire in December that took the entire restaurant. It was that beautiful thatched structure. Fortunately they are close to making that all new again...this time a more Colonial style like the rest of the Hotel. I have no doubt it will be a wonderful upgrade. For the time being, the staff now are centered out of the front large house/reception area. A temporary dining facility was put up as an attachment to the house/reception. The same delicious meals are offered as before. If you have any needs, this is where you will find the staff if they are not working in and about the rooms. The upside is always...fine Tempur Pedic mattresses, clean neat accommodations with flat screen TV and AC. Cruiser bike, soft surfboards, kayak....a long list of things offered FREE will cost you anywhere else to rent. Real friendly staff...that do aim to please. Groups that plan excursions are common. Helps to plan/reserve ahead. Rooms with or without kitchens ! Also large family rooms with kitchen. Can't beat it !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABLeever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

My 2 friends and I were without a hotel and we stumbled upon this gem! The beautiful manager was kind enough to personally drive us back into town to get our bags and went above and beyond her role as manager/owner for our 4 day stay. The rooms were perfectly cleaned and very spacious with all the luxuries you could want. This hotel is a great little oasis with it's own beach access and a view that can't be beaten! The staff were super friendly and good for a laugh especially Cheney who became our dear friend! If you are looking for a place to eat for dinner a short walk away is the Argentinan restaurant Los pibes that had food that was to die for, order the ribs!
The best hotel in santa catalina, we will definetly be back!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#2 of 25 in Santa Catalina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coibahouse
Coibahouse
#3 of 8 in Santa Catalina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#2 of 8 in Santa Catalina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Catalina Panama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Catalina Panama

Property: Hotel Santa Catalina Panama
Address: | Route to Playa Estero. Playa Santa Catalina, Santa Catalina, Panama
Phone Number:
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Catalina Panama 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Santa Catalina is an 11 room boutique beachfront hotel located directly in front of the world class surf break in Santa Catalina, Veraguas Province of Panama. The hotels location is ideal for anyone coming to Santa Catalina to surf, dive, fish or just hang out at the beach or islands. Short walking distance from all the restaurants, bars, village center and other beaches. Coiba Island and Cebaco Island is within a short boat ride from the property for diving and snorkeling activities. Santa Catalina Island is just a 10 minute paddle on Kayak or Stand-Up Paddle Board (SUP), which are both free to our guests. The hotel offers comfortable rooms with memory foam beds, 100% cotton bed linens, air conditioning, en-suite bathrooms with hot water, mini-refrigerator, cable TV, safe, and kitchenettes in the suite rooms. Our award winning ocean front "Pescao" seafood restaurant serves a hearty breakfast, lunch and dinner (not included in room rate), open every day of the week from 7 am to 10 pm. Our on-site yoga studio is also available for yoga classes. We offer free use of our Kayaks, Surfboards, Skateboards and Bicycles through our on-site surf shop (Santa Catalina Surf Shop). Massage services are also available upon request. Previously known as Kenny's Surf Camp (since 1981), in 2010 the hotel was completely re-designed and re-built, using all natural sustainable materials including stone, rock, clay tile, and local tropical hardwoods. With a blend of Spanish-Colonial and tropical architectural style, Hotel Santa Catalina Panama offers a unique look and feel with professional bilingual service staff and ideal location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Santa Catalina Panama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing