We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unwinding in Santa Catalina”
Review of Santa Catalina Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Santa Catalina Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Even though there was a power black out, which meant no electricity and no water, it was charming and cute. The supermarket and restaurants had little candles lit, which made the small town of Santa Catalina even more cute. The water and electricity went on again after an hour, so that wasn´t really inconvenient, and no electricity gave us the opportunity to sit and relax on our balcony and be amazed by all the stars.
The supermarket is opened till late in the evening, and covers the basics: beer, water, sunscreen lotion and some other necessities one might need.

The town and its people were so friendly and welcoming. We had a great couple of days in Santa Catalina, with diving and snorkeling. Unfortunately, we didn´t had enough time and energy to go surfing too, but all together it was an unforgettable experience.

The hotel Santa Catalina inn was great! it is run by a very friendly couple, and a receptionist (sorry I forgot your names) that went out of her way to help. Calling the dive schools to see if there was availability to go on a dive the next day. Unfortunately they were fully booked, but she managed to arrange a very cool snorkeling trip, where we encountered a white tip reef shark and many other beautiful fish as well as coral reefs. The next day our luck turned and we could go diving too!

The room itself was charming and roomy, with a good sized bathroom, big shower with room to hang a wetsuit/swimming trunks etc., hot and cold water, air conditioning, ceiling fan, a big balcony, a good sized bed with a comfy mattress. It was simple, but everything was clean and more than enough. A big plus was that Santa Catalina inn was conveniently located within walking distance of everything. (dive schools, the beach, shops, the delicious french bakery and the restaurants.)

All restaurants in Santa Catalina, at least the ones we´ve been to, were very good. Delicious fresh food, nothing over pretentious, and fresh fish that tasted divine, freshly cleaned by the owner minutes before ending up on a plate.

The last night we ate in the restaurant of the hotel, a great and easy pizza place with great pizzas. There is nothing above a pizza, beer and the great company of the owners, receptionist and some other locals. We really enjoyed our stay, and we will definitely return to Santa Catalina inn next time! Thank you for our lovely stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldandyvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi there... it was difficult to get you the diving tour... but yes....Diving in Coiba is incredible and i would recommend it to everyone. Snorkling too.

Thanks for your review. We appreciate it, and give us the strength to improve ourselves

take care
Adrian and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Santa Catalina Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Santa Catalina Inn is a great little place to stay if you are traveling to Santa Catalina. Please keep in mind that the rooms are very basic, but the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean. The AC works great (as long as the electricity is working in Santa Catalina --- which has the occasional power outages). The balconies are a nice feature to dry out your wet clothes. No internet, no TVs in the rooms, but you are most likely in Santa Catalina to get away and disconnect from it all. It's a quick downhill walk into town. Santa Catalina is really off the beaten path. I stayed here the night before and the night after my 3-day dive trip. They have an onsite restaurant (which I didn't try). The restaurant is not open everyday, but on my last night, it was quite festive. ***NOTE*** if you are a light sleeper, the "guard dogs" on the premises bark at all hours of the night!

Room Tip: upstairs with a balcony
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank texasjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all your comments.

The dogs have been relocated to my house.

Hope to see you again. regards Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Santa Catalina Inn is a great little place to stay if you are traveling to Santa Catalina. The rooms are very basic, but the beds are really comfortable and the rooms are clean and have balconies. It's a quick downhill walk to town. Santa Catalina is really off the beaten path--there are no ATMs and we had no internet or cell service there, so the town itself may not appeal to everyone, but we loved being off the grid for a few days. The beach in town is nice but Playa Estero, which is probably a mile away from town, was lovely. Scuba diving at Coiba Island is amazing, and, while there was no surf during our stay, the surfing here is supposed to be world-class. Adrian, the Inn's owner, also operates a pizza place behind the hotel that had some of the best pizza we have had anywhere. We loved our time in Santa Catalina and hope to return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriRNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Hi Lori...Thanks for your review...How is it in New York?

here we are all the same... quiet and disconnected.

Take care
Adrian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days at the Santa Catalina inn. The rooms were clean and bright. Air con worked perfectly. Adrian the owner was very accommodating and helpful with local suggestions. He was also flexible with payment options. We would return in a heartbeat.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed for only one night but would have liked to stay longer.

The staff spoke great english and were very helpful in providing good orientation.

The rooms were well appointed and clean. There was nothing to fault.

modern comfort in a hippy town which was very welcome. I had visions of low end living when in fact it was quite high end imho.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoyed the time we spent in Santa Catalina and the night we spent at Santa Catalina Inn. For a good price we were able to get a clean, private room with A/C, a private bathroom and a balcony with a table and chairs and a nice view of the surrounding greenery. The staff and people we met at the inn and at the attached restaurant were nice and great to talk to!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyGrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Stayed here a couple nights, although was only planning one.
Although i had a bad first impression after not having slept in a jungle area for 2years
there was a mini-wasp hive on the terasse and some inofensive beatles in the room)
everything else worked, unfortunately cell coverage was intermittent (working 80% of time)
The owner was very friendly and helpfull, has a garden with fruit and flowers, a nice bar and restaurant, had a great combo pizza and a lobster the second night, both were great ñam ñam ñam)
Thanks for the stay and hopefully i'll be back sometime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian S, Manager at Santa Catalina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Thank you for your review, We have to learn to live with nature. Thats the charm of Santa Catalina. Take care Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
437 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Catalina
Hostel Villa Vento Surf Santa Ca...
#2 of 23 in Santa Catalina
83 reviews
0.6 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 23 in Santa Catalina
135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 10 in Santa Catalina
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Catalina Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Catalina Inn

Address: Calle Estero, Santa Catalina, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Santa Catalina
Price Range: £39 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Santa Catalina Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Santa Catalina Inn opened during the summer of 2010 only steps from the center of Santa Catalina. The hotel is conveniently located on a quiet side road, within a short walk from beaches, restaurants, the surf break and dive shops.Our hotel offers five air-conditioned, spacious and well-decorated rooms each with a ceiling fan, hot water and private balconies or patios where guests can relax and watch the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Santa Catalina Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing