We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully quiet comfort”
Review of Coibahouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coibahouse
Ranked #3 of 10 Santa Catalina B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Coibahouse is everything I look for in a place to stay while on travel. The beds are the most comfortable of any I've slept in during my 4 month tour of Central America. The sleeping rooms are spacious and intelligently designed and built into the hillside so that they remain comfortably cooler than the ambient temperature; the air conditioning is quick to chill the room if needed, which was only in the evening before bed time for me. The shower is large enough to accomodate my frame (6'3" x 235 pounds) with room to spare, and there was plenty of hot water when I needed it. Darcy, the operator, and his family are super friendly and run a tight ship. Darcy is a wellspring of information about things to see and do around Santa Catalina and Panama in general. The breakfast is fresh, delicious, and healthy. There is a selection of books to enjoy in the hammock on the veranda, which overlooks the beach below. Should the setting invoke a philosophical spirit, Darcy is an excellent conversationalist in English and Spanish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purvis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

My family and I had a great stay at Coibahouse. Coibahouse was nice and clean. The setting was lovely, and relaxing. There was a hammock out on the deck with the view of the ocean and the setting of the sun made the stay truly memorable. The property is fenced, so having a secure place to park my car was also a weight off my mind. The beachhouse within the property is located on a small hill surrounded by pretty landscaping. The beach is calm and directly in front of the house, just 50 meters downward from the property.

Coibahouse had all the comforts of a home to include air conditioning in the rooms, comfortable beds, furniture on the deck, and hot water, etc. Not an issue with our family, however, the bathroom and refrigerator are shared with the other guests. Breakfast was good and appetizing and also served by request. The room was reasonably priced, and a real bargain compared to a hotel. Unfortunately at the time of my stay there was no Wifi/Internet available. Darcy, the owner, related he was in the process of acquiring it.

If you’re driving to Santa Catalina with your own vehicle it can be a little intimating due to the limited signs leading to Santa Catalina. However, locals are more than generous to assist people when asking for directions. Once there, I followed Darcy’s directions and found the house quite easily, despite never having been in the area before. I can’t provide any information about the other means of transportation from what I can see plenty of buses and taxi heading to Santa Catalina. That would not be an issue.

In my personal opinion Coibahouse, is the best kept secret in Santa Catalina, it’s secluded and quiet. Centrally located within Santa Catalina, walking distance to everything. I really recommend this place for everybody who is visiting Santa Catalina.

Lastly, Darcy and family were extremely helpful, and accommodating. I look forward to staying in this house again, if it is available, but for a much longer time. Thank you, for the memories!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fulo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This B&B is run by a very nice Canadian guy and his Panamanian wife. They truly can recommend you the best places to go and the nicest activities to do. Service is very important for them and you feel at home the minute you walk in. The view is the best of the village!

Darcy (the owner) is such a great guy and we are very thankful for this trip. He picked us up at the airport and drove us in the night back to the B&B. Every morning we had a lovely breakfast he made and brought to us, sitting on the terras looking over the ocean. While we went away for 2 nights (diving trip to Coiba Island with scubadivecenter.com), we could store our luggage at Coibahouse and even could use the safe. His dogs, cat and young cheerful daughter were a nice personal touch.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janitasluurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Wow we loved this place! The B&B is like paradise! It's peaceful and quiet. The view from the terrace is stunning and owner Darcy is very friendly. He immediately makes you feel at home! He can give you advice and likes to improve his B&B as much as possible. Previous guests suggested to place a fridge and immediately afterwards he bought one. Rooms are basic, but clean and with airco. Bathroom is shared, however as the B&B has 3 rooms this is not a problem. Just walk down to the beach and take a swim, relax in the hammock and enjoy the sunset. This is real holiday here! Make sure you don't stay too short...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dutchy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed here for a few days and had a very relaxing stay . Darcy , the owner was very accommodating and happy to give his guests useful information regarding the area.This is a small newly opened Bed and Breakfast perched ontop of a cliff overloking the ocean and with direct access to the beach.The rooms of which there were 3 were small and reasonably furnished.All rooms had a/c and shared toilet and shower facilities. This worked fine as there were a small number of guests.


Each morning Dary prepared and served breakfast on individual tables on the veranda with great views over the ocean.
The reason we gave a 3 star rating is that there was no guest fridge to chill off drinks etc., although Darcy was quite willing for guests to use his own personal fridge as he lives with his family in the accomodtion above the 3 double guest rooms.He was actually open to any advice re improvemrnt of facilities etc. and actually said that he would probably think about installing a fridge in the future for sole guest use.
The actual B and B is quite dificult to find as there are no signs indicating where it is and even the actual property does not have an evident sign, we had to ask a local store holder for directions.Once you know where the property is it is actually very eady to find, right next yo Rollos Cabins and one of very few property's with direct access to the beach.
If you have a mobility problem it would be difficult to access the property as there is a steep climb to the entrance.
We would stay here again as we liked the ambience and the owner, Darcy, was very gracious

Room Tip: If you want adouble bed the first 2 rooms have this the 3rd has twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tutty52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Darcy found us hiding from the rain at the bus station and told us about his place...
He is a warm hearted person and we connectetd from the first second. The rooms he has are one of the best ones we have seen in Panama !!! They smell good (find that in a hostel haha), look great, are comfortable and on top there is a huge terrace with hammocks and a incredible view, a little paradise garden and a path dircetly to the beach... if u want to take a break from everyday life lie in a hammock look at the sunset ... thats the place to be !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaisersozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Darcy was a great host for 2 days in December. Not only did he carry our heavy baggage up the slope, but he went out of his way to help us in every way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there - the views all the way out to Coiba, the location near the town, the comfortable room, the great breakfast all at a reasonable price. I could have sat on the balcony all day just watching the changes in the scene as the hours went by - from gorgeous sunrise to gorgeous sunset. I highly commend this B&B.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Catalina
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Catalina
Hotel Santa Catalina
#1 of 3 in Santa Catalina
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Time Out
Cabanas Time Out
#2 of 3 in Santa Catalina
180 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Catalina Inn
Santa Catalina Inn
#3 of 3 in Santa Catalina
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Deseo Bamboo Panama  EcoLodge-Bungalows
Deseo Bamboo Panama EcoLodge-Bu...
#1 of 22 in Santa Catalina
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sol y Mar
Hotel Sol y Mar
#1 of 10 in Santa Catalina
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coibahouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coibahouse

Address: Main Street, Santa Catalina, Panama
Region: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santa Catalina
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Catalina
Price Range: £48 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coibahouse is a family run guesthouse, not a hotel. Santa Catalina's only beachfront accommodation. Stunning views. Boats depart for Coiba island in front of lodging for world class surf, diving and snorkeling. Rooms are of high comfort quality, all with A/C. The balcony is relaxing and re-energizing located on a hill overlooking the beach, islands and ocean. Only 3 rooms, share a common bathroom area and terrace. There is also a common fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Coibahouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing