We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hunger Hill Yurts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Poppleford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon
northants
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hunger Hill Yurts”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had a wonderful 5day stay in the yurts over Easter . I was a little apprehensive about going at this time of year but I needn't have worried, the yurts were lovely and warm with wood burners. We were made very welcome and the facilities were excellent. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I am lying in a hammock looking out over the beautiful countryside around this area, having had a good nights sleep on a comfortable bed in one of Hunger Hills Yurts.i awoke this morning to see blue sky and sunshine through the yurt roof, and to find fresh croissants, coffee , yogurt ,fruit and muesli waiting for me on the table outside. I could have gone for the organic bacon and egg option,but it's not Sunday!
Last night we barbecued by our yurt, sitting on log benches around the BBQ which then became a fire as we gazed up at the stars and felt a million miles away from stress.
A lovely warm shower this morning, all if have to do is decide whether or not to take a 10 minute drive to the beach today or just stay in this hammock and read till I feel hungry again.
Or I may just shut my eyes..........
Thank you Hunger hill.

Room Tip: All yurts ha
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We love it here; it is a beautiful place to stay and the kids love the Yurts. We have been there a few times now and always find it peaceful and relaxing, hoping to get there again in 2014 for a weekend of doing nothing

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I wrote a review back in 2011 (if memory serves me correctly!) to say what a fantastic place Hunger Hill Yurt Camp was. Well, just to update that, not only have my partner & I returned every year since, but this year we booked out the site & brought our friends along to see 'what all the fuss has been about'!!
The same lovely set up continues along with the extremely efficient service. For details about the site, including the yurts, please refer back to my original review. One thing which has been introduced this year, is that each yurt now has its own charging unit for phones & iPads, etc & not forgetting there is wi fi available, with reception being best down at the kitchen area.
Our group consisted of babies & small children & I think all could be accommodated appropriately. We had let Chris know in advance, so that cots, etc could be arranged too. I think the parents really appreciated the fact the little ones could have a play/run around/explore the outdoors but safely (as safely as is possible), eg the field being gated, etc, & the children loved seeing the various animals too!
We are already making plans for 2014, such was the success! So, thank you for keeping up the very good work & creating such a wonderful place that is Hunger Hill Yurt Camp. We really look forward to seeing you next year!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Frodo848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

What a splendid place to just spend time with your family and relax.
Very well equiped yurts, with lovely log burners. Very calming, back to nature kind of experience.
Like a hotel, but just more, something!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Visited Hunger Hill Yurts over the weekend 12th-5th July 2013. What a fantastic weekend we had. We stayed in the orchard Yurt as a family of five. Beautiful location with a tastefully decorated yurt laid out with plenty of room to accommodate five persons. Wood burner for the cooler evenings although we didn't need it that particular weekend as we were in the middle of England's 10 yearly heat wave. We did however take advantage of the outside BBQ and sat till late in the night with a small log fire burning in the grate and the odd bottle of wine. Accommodation was really great with our own outside kitchen area which was well equipped and our own toilet and shower. Would we go back, yes we would its was a holiday with a difference which we all thoroughly enjoyed. The Hills of Bournemouth/Blandford

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

When we first arrived we were welcomed with a friendly smile and a tour from Chris. We stayed in the Orchard Yurt which was set in a small field on its own and boasted its own kitchen, toilet and shower; all of which were well equipped, extremely clean, bright and colourful. We were overwhelmed at how well the inertia of the Yurt had been thought out and designed in a Moroccan theme; it made it feel extremely warm and cosy.
With English weather being as it is (this time last year was scorching hot) the nights/early mornings were cold, but the log burner and sheepskins meant we always felt ‘toasty’.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Yurt and found the camp was situated in an ideal location to be able to fill our days with places to visit; we would highly recommend staying at Hunger Hill Yurt Camp.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon

Property: Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts in Devon
Address: Holly Tree Hunger Hill, Newton Poppleford EX10 0BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Poppleford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Newton Poppleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hunger Hill is open from April to October. There are 5 cosy Yurts with splendid views, set in a secluded two-acre meadow on a small holding with Kune kune pigs, ducks, chickens and a friendly old dog! The Yurts are furnished with comfy beds, kilims, cushions and sheepskins. Each Yurt has a wood burner and kitchen. Out side there is a fire pit with BBQ grill and hammocks. All Yurts are in easy reach of the main kitchen, toilets and showers. The Orchard Yurt has it own kitchen - dinning area, toilet and shower.Hunger Hill is a tranquil location next to the RSPB reserve on Aylesbere Common and close to spectacular East Devon beaches. It's a great place to holiday with friends and family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hunger Hill Yurt Holidays - Yurts In Devon Newton Poppleford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing