We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic view and very good experience”
Review of Hotel Grand Hill

Hotel Grand Hill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Grand Hill
Ranked #39 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Someone suggested this hotel i called hotel on phone and was told that rooms are clean and location is good.As promised hotel is well in the market.There was no lift but hardly there is any need.Toilets are clean,view from balcony is mindblowing .excellent view of valley and dholadhar ranges . And what we like most was taste of the food in the resturant. I think chef is excellent. Overall it was memorable stay.

i recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank s n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Hill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

Hotel Grand Hill is the awesome property in Mcleodganj on temple road....very near to the temple and main market. Rooms are good with nice view of hills from the balcony...........and Food in the Hotel is awesome.........But you need to order the food before market gets closed as they will provide you the freshly cooked and lavish food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kashishbhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We booked two rooms as we were two families with two kids in each. Our checkin was on 27may2013 and chechout in 30may2013.we stayed in room no 202 and 203.this infirmation was just to prove our authenticity. Anyway someone suggested this hotel i called hotel on phone and was told that rooms are neat an clean and location is gud.we were particularly worried about parking and the location but promised about everything .
Afterall we booked two rooms.we reached mcleodganj at about 12:30 and called hotel for location.they promptly deputed a boy on roadside waiting for us.as promised hotel is well in the market.parking was just 100 mtr away.dalai lama temple again 100 mtr and main mcleodganj square at 100 mtrs.this was all true to the scale.
Rooms were v gud much better then what shown on there website i think the photographs there were taken by ammature photigrapher. There was no lift but hardly there is any need.toilets are clean.view from balcony is mindblowing .excellent view of valley and dholadhar ranges .
And what we like most was taste of there in house resturent.i think chef is excellent.
Overall it was memorable stay as staff was really helping.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobby9288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

After the brutal journey from Chandigarh to Dharamsala by bus, I literally leaped halfway across my hotel room on to my bed. The landing would have been more comfortable had the bed been crafted out of granite and the mattress out of pumice.

When you take time to assess the room in all its gloomy glory you have a bog standard, characterless box which you find all over the Asian subcontinent. These are the sort of rooms where - in films - people either die gruesome deaths or open up briefcases full of cash after a heist (think the closing scenes of Trainspotting).

If you come back into the hotel at any time after 11pm, you'll be greeted by staff sleeping on mattresses in the lobby. You make any noise and the wafer-thin walls will ensure that the rest of the guests are party to it, even your most embarrassing bowel symphonies.

You do have to contextualise stays like this though. It is clean and has hot (scolding hot) water available. You simply aren't going to get a Taj standard hotel (for example) in Mcleodganj, and I don't think any sensible traveler would expect to find one.

The view from the rooms is what brings this up to 3 circles. It is stunning. You can impress all your friends on Instagram, Facebook and Twitter in one easy click.

These sort of hotels are far more memorable than the generic 4* plastic, wood and metal structures that we see around the world.

Oh and a traveller's tip: Unless you want to die a painful and horrific death akin to something that befalls the unsuspecting victims in the Final Destination franchise, don't touch anything that looks electrical in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The hotel was neat n clean. Also it was in budget. Breakfast was good in taste and service was quick.The only problem is they dont have a lift, someone staying on 7th floor(the last floor) will have a challenge.
Convenient part is, it is situated in middle of market. So market, Dalai Lama Temple and car parking are easily accessible.
Altogether it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saumya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

The hotel is ok. It's a budget hotel and located half kilometer from the market. If you want to walk to famous Shiva Cafe and monasteries nearby this hotel is a good choice.The view from the balcony was superb.
Other than that i don't remember anything about this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I had gone to McLeodganj last week to trek to Shiva Cafe and chill. Since I was travelling with friends, I really didn't care where we crashed. By chance I entered this hotel and he offered us a great deal. 2 rooms for Rs 1000 each (plus taxes).

For 1000 bucks, the hotel is more than okay.

Yes, the beds are rickety and cleanliness is not up to the mark but then, you'll get what you're paying for.

The bathrooms DO NOT stink and are clean.

The food is decently priced but room service takes a lot of time.
The staff is not very helpful but there's not much needed from them anyway.

The the rooms in the basement. Spectacular view! Made our trip worth it.

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the basement- Spectacular view from the balcony where you can chill, drink, smoke...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptGrewal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these McLeod Ganj hotels
0.2 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#5 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
696 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Backpackers Inn
Hostel Backpackers Inn
#1 of 50 in McLeod Ganj
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
D's Casa
D's Casa
#10 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
48 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gipsy Kings Home Stay
Gipsy Kings Home Stay
#23 of 67 in McLeod Ganj
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
HosteLaVie McLeodGanj
HosteLaVie McLeodGanj
#4 of 50 in McLeod Ganj
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Hill

Address: Dalai Lama Temple Road | Dharamsala, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: £17 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Grand Hill 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Grand Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing