We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horizon Villa - The only hotel to be recommended to stay in Mcleodganj”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horizon Villa - North
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horizon Villa - The only hotel to be recommended to stay in Mcleodganj”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Just returned from McLeodganj and was eager to write the review and feedback of this hotel. Horizon Villa is a complete package of luxury with personalized service. Its the only hotel that provides the majestic view of the valley. Located just adjacent to Dalai Lama's temple, this place is ideal to stay and enjoy the beauty of nature at its best.The interiors make you feel being at a royal place. But dont get confused with two different websites - Horizon Villa North(1st floor) and Horizon Villa South (ground floor). The property is same but the floor names differ with separate owners.
All in all - your spend on time and money is perfectly en cashed staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: select the master bedroom for complete view of the valley. You may also opt for Super deluxe room to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxkapur31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    16
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The villa by itself is quite nice, rooms are very neat and clean. Food is minimal but tasty. Had a bad experience though while paying, we stayed only for 1 day and they wanted us to make a payment for 2 days. We refused and the manager spoke pretty rudely over the phone. i would not recommend this place though it is ver close to Dalai Lama's home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MalluPank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Me and my husband were planning to visit Mcleod ganj from long as have heard about this place a lot and the trip was amazing.
Horizon Villa North is the best place we picked to relax for 3 nights. Scenically this hotel is in an unbeatable location with mountains view in the background. We booked a Supreme Deluxe Room which was extremely comfortable and the room itself was perfect with perfect view and very spacious with attached balcony. Its next to Dalai Lama temple and market is 15 min walk.
For the people who wants to visit Mcleod Ganj would recommend this place to stay.

People should visit - Bhagasu Fall which is 2 kms from the hotel, we walked however people can take taxi's.
Jimmy's Italian Kitchen .... The ambience and the dinner was amazing ..
and should try the street ... MOMO'S :-)

Room Tip: Supreme Deluxe rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha14253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had a recent vacation at McLeod Ganj and wanted to visit the Dalai Lama Temple, hence the location was just perfect. It is a bit away from the tourist attractions, but right next to the Dalai Lama temple & a small monastery. It is a holiday home more than a hotel and the service supplement the same. The location and view from the villa is truly fascinating while the calmness & serenity of the surrounding put you at ease. While we really enjoyed some great home cooked food at the Villa, it is a short walk from the market with more dining options. We had a short stay and can;t wait to go back again. It would be our choice of accommodation at McLeod Ganj for future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voyager1581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Me and 3 friends stayed there for 2 night in the first week of Jan'14, We didnt pre book a place and we randomly landed up at this place.

Pros:-
Off the Hustle Bustle on a quiet track.
Very Beautifully Built with all the modern amenities
Courteous staff.
Amazing Homelike food.
Excellent Sleep quality.
Lots of open space to sit and chit chat, or to light a bonfire.
Amazing view of the valley.

Cons:-
Might be a lil heavy on pocket for some.
A lil away from the main market.

All in all its a paradise for travelers like me who are interested to stay away from the concrete jungle, away from the markets and just rest in peace..!!

Room Tip: Take room no 101
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitulExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

There is an element of mystique when you mention the name McLeod Ganj and we found our cute little haven in Horizon Villa, a beautiful property tucked very close to Dalai Lama Temple. The lounge and the rooms in the Villa are beautifully furnished. The Deluxe room with the French Windows offers a panoramic view. But on the down side food here leaves a lot to be desired. It is advised to pick your parcels from Ashoka restaurant or any other place and then use the micro in the room to reheat for consumption. The staff is very hospitable and the Star of the resort is their pet Pomeranian, Sweety, who was seen challenging a pack of dogs in a neighboring compound. Close proximity to the shopping area is an added advantage. A lovely halt not too far from the Kangra Airport.

Room Tip: Opt for Super Deluxe room with a view They are more spacious and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sonalib72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed there on 27th Dec'13 night. Off location, no scenic beauty from room, over priced and no value for money. It is not belongs to any of categories Hotel, Villa or resort. 3 Rooms is having in each floor of two stories building. Poor service and pathetic food. Over priced food. There are lots many other option & good property available at Mcleodganj.
Must avoid and rethink for booking.

Room Tip: Go by traveler recent review
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanjibkrdas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
8.1 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#3 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
8.6 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
7.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Bella Heights
Bella Heights
#17 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Exotica Dharamshala
The Exotica Dharamshala
#16 of 69 in Dharamsala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
7.9 mi away
Spring Valley Resort
Spring Valley Resort
#9 of 21 in McLeod Ganj
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Villa - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Villa - North

Property: Horizon Villa - North
Address: Near Dalai Lama Security Quarters | Buddha House Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India (Formerly Horizon Villa - Serviced Apartment)
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Speciality Lodging in McLeod Ganj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1)Convenient & Centrally located at Mcleodganj2)Private Entrances, balconies, sit out lawns with sunny - mountain & valley views3)Fully equipped pantries (incl. microwave, electric kettle, electric stove, electric chimney, sink, refrigerator & all accessories)4)Walking distance to the Tibetan Library5)2 min walking distance from the mall.6)Situated Adjacent to the Dalai Lama Temple and is at a 30 minute drive from Dharamsala Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Villa - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing