We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”
Review of Chonor House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McLeod Ganj
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chonor House
Ranked #3 of 67 McLeod Ganj B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Stayed for 4 nights. Beautiful rooms, each with a different theme. Very clean. Friendly staff, nice food. Definitely a place to recommend.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Dharamsala. Rooms are clean, well-maintained and beautiful and each has a different theme and have hand-painted murals, classy wood-work and appliqued bed linen. Service was very friendly, efficient and courteous. We will forever remember Dickie at the front-office who always entertained any request with a smile. Food was average, though. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CKavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Whether you spend the bucks to stay at Chonor, you will want to eat at the Chonor restaurant which like the hotel is the best in McLeod Ganj. Try breakfast in the garden on a sunny day. You'll see the Dalai Lama's Temple and residence on the next hill over from Chonor House.

The Chonor House shop sells fine Tibetan craft creations made at Norbulinka Institute. If you wish to acquire something beautiful to take home check out this shop or make a trip to Norbulinka for a broader selection.

If you are interested in birds, the Chonor garden and its path up towards town center or up past the monastery along Chonor House Road are productive following the monsoon months.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajinderS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I traveled with a group spending almost three weeks at the Chonor House. The rooms were beautiful, the restaurant good, and its space in McLeodganj was a tranquil spot with easy access to all else the town has to offer. My thanks to Karma and all the staff on being so warm and thoughtful.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Govinda74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very well located Hotel. The entire staff is very hospitable n they make your stay very comfortable. The Food etc. was also great.
Very homely n personalised service. Looking forward to going back soon. Highly Recommended. Gautam Kapur

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coleman2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

While planning our first trip to Mcleodganj, Chonor House was recommended on top of the list and accordingly we made reservations for two double rooms. On arrival, we realized that one room was right in front of reception, while other was on first floor! We made requests to shift our rooms on the same floor, but thanks to the rude and indifferent staff, our requests were not attended to. The rooms were nicely decorated but upholstery was in a bad condition, washroom was huge but no jet cleaner provided in the wc. Since we arrived around 4 in the eve, we requested the staff to arrange for some tea & snacks, however the service and attitude of the staff was quite disappointing-we were told to shift to indoor restaurant as the terrace restaurant was hosting a small private party! Finally we ordered tea in our rooms-the so called masala tea was obnoxious to taste as it was prepared long back and just heated before serving. Our ordeal went further as it was warm in the room and Ac in our room was not working! Next morning, we had bed tea (which was still decent) and we decided to check out of the exorbitantly priced hotel! Just at a stone throw distance is Zambala House, which is a simple guest house but newly built and much cleaner rooms! We checked in and spent rest of our trip in Zambala House. All in all, I can say Chonor House is only interested to cater to foreign tourists, so much so that we felt strangers in our own land!

Room Tip: Best view is from two rooms-Kham and amdo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank staritika2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stay 1 week at the hotel and we simply loved it.
Our room was big and beautifully decorated with hand-painted murals. Air-conditioning worked perfectly and we had a small varanda.

The restaurant is really good and we had a lot of meals there as we found it to have the best Tibetan food in town. As the hotel was full for our second week in McLeod Ganj, we had to move to another hotel, but still came back for the restaurant a number of times!

Staff were always extremely kind and attentive. They also arranged for transportation to take us to Norbulingka Institute (a must-see place for Tibetan arts heritage!)

We highly recommend it this hotel and would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brasileirinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLeod Ganj
0.2 mi away
Pink House
Pink House
#4 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
704 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fortune Park Moksha
Fortune Park Moksha
#1 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
427 reviews
1.8 mi away
Udechee Huts
Udechee Huts
#2 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Shivani International
Hotel Shivani International
#5 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
Hotel Moon Walk Residency
#7 of 25 in McLeod Ganj
147 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Divine Hima
The Divine Hima
#1 of 79 in Dharamsala
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chonor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chonor House

Address: Temple Road, McLeod Ganj, Dharamsala 176219, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kangra District > Dharamsala > McLeod Ganj
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in McLeod Ganj
Price Range: £2,639 - £4,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chonor House 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst tall cedars, Chonor House is peacefully removed from the hustle and bustle of the town, and yet within easy walking distance of everything McLeod has to offer. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chonor House Hotel Mcleod Ganj

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing