We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned Italian charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sierra Silvana Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Selva
Certificate of Excellence
Middx
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Old fashioned Italian charm”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is somewhat unusual.Lots of swagged fabrics in all the public areas,rather like a wedding marquee!
There are nice grounds,prettily lit at night and a lovely terrace overlooking the pool.The bar area is small but cosy and there is free wifi in the lobby for short periods.
Bedrooms are simple but clean,though the walls are very thin and if you are unfortunate enough to have a connecting door,every sound can be heard.There is a large conservatory which is used for public functions,and if there is a function on during your stay do not accept rooms beginning with 1 overlooking the conservatory.Bedrooms are in 5 separate buildings in the grounds and the first building is VERY close to the noise from any function making sleep virtually impossible .There is TV in the bedrooms but no English channels,not even news.Food is generally acceptable and the staff efficient and quite friendly.Breakfast is the usual cold buffet,supplemented with scrambled eggs,bacon,boiled eggs.very few fruits or vegetables make an appearance in meals but there is an occasional salad.Overall,the hotel has an old fashioned charm making our stay rather enjoyable

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank sagittarius7Middx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    247
    87
    13
    6
See reviews for
259
138
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
497 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed here for the first three nights of an Italian group tour. Considering there were four other coaches in the car park, we didn't expect excellent food and service but we received it.

We had a large, clean room with a good shower, TV and plenty of storage/hanging space. The set meals were the best hotel food we've had in two tours of Italy. Good local wines at an average of 12 euros, and Nastro lager at 3 euros a 33cl bottle. A large, relaxing bar area overlooking the pool, which occasionally became noisy. Not the hotel's fault, this. If any hotelier finds a way to control European testosterone when men gather in a pool, he will make his fortune!

The staff (plenty) were excellent and the location, high on a wooded hillside, was impressive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderingdubyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We are touring Italy and this was our third stop, I had read reviews and I must admit wa slightly concerned! When we arrive unfortunately my first impression was not the best which I must add is down to my travel agent as we had asked to stay in small 3/4 star hotels in various parts of Italy snd this hotel is not small or in keeping with the local area, it is obviously a convention/wedding venue but saying that the staff are all very nice could pick out a few characters from previous reviews! But tbe foid which most people seem to complain about on trip advisor was stunning the best we have had so far (only Sorrento to go this trip!) So anyone who has booked and have read the bad food reviews ignore the food is tops!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroldKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the same time (early September) and in the same party as one of your other contributors and I have to disagree with her comments about the food.

Yes the food wasn't from the a la carte menu - as a large group we were given our own menu to choose from each morning, which I have found to be quite usual. The food was generally good and if someone didn't like what was on offer the staff did their best to provide an alternative. Unfortunately the other contributor was feeling unwell for the whole of the holiday so nothing seemed to be to her liking. As far as I was aware, no-one else in our party found the food inedible and it certainly wasn't unrecognisable.

As to problems getting the bar staff to understand her needs, this is a hotel in a part of Italy not much visited by the British but rather by Italians. Not all the staff, therefore, speak much English but they did try their best to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel two weeks ago on a coach tour holiday which was unfortunate as our food at dinner was different from the a la carte menu. The food was at best average and sometimes inedible and unrecognisable from what it was supposed to be! The good points were that the rooms were very clean with the usual facilities and the shower was very powerful. The hotel staff were helpful. The pool area was okay but full of wasps which the minute you laid on a sun bed were all around so not very pleasant. The bar for lunch was short staffed and it took a long time to get any food plus the bar staff could'nt understand what you wanted in the way of food. The hotel is in a small village with a couple of bars and a pizza place but not much else so you definitely need a car. I'm sure there are other much nicer hotels in this pretty area but not for coach parties.

Room Tip: Not near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roz1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sierrasilvana, Direttore at Sierra Silvana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear customer,
Thank you for your reports.
Regarding the menu I would like to point out that groups usually require special conditions, so the menu that we suggest it is not alla cartè menù but a choice between 3 first courses and 3 seconds courses.
In a short period of the year, usually during the grape harvest (some days of September) there is the presence of bees; in Italy is an insect protected and it is forbidden to use products to remove them.
For all other insects (flies and mosquitoes) periodically we made pest control.
All our guest have lunch/dinner in the dining room or they use the bar to have snacks: there are 10 plates photographed and described in English. The day that you wanted to eat at the bar, the bar manager was off and replaced by a person who did not speak English very well, and because you wanted to eat something different from what was in the menu there has been difficult to understand.
For the future thanks to his judgment will try to improve.
Best Regards
Giuseppe Nigri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I can only think that the people who rate this hotel are either families with kids or that they have never been to a four star hotel before.
The rooms and the hotel are fine. Clean, comfortable and spacious. The pool area is lovely although having to go back and forth to reception and pay 3 euros a time for a towel was a bit inconvenient.
We found the location of the hotel excellent for getting out and about to the surrounding sights and the village itself pleasant.
Noise control in the bedrooms was poor with some parties going on till well after 1 a.m. The small herd of elephants in the room above on the last night didn't help! Every footfall and movement of furniture was heard.
The really disappointing part was the food. Coffee from a machine and reconstituted fruit juice from another machine for breakfast was dire and something I have never experienced in Italy (and hope I never will again). The worst part was having a set menu (we had gone half board with Citalia) presented to you at breakfast and being expected to choose what you wanted to eat that night. I seldom know what I want for breakfast let alone in 12 hours time. The choices were poor and on the second night I requested the a la carte and chose of this. This did cost more but at least I could find something I wanted to eat between the 2 menus. Some of the food was excellent but some was dire - I've had better lasagne from the frozen food section in Tescos! The restaurant staff did try but were generally run off their feet. Not true of the bar staff. One barman was lovely but 2 others were much more interested in talking to one another and eyeing up the younger girls at a wedding. Knocking the glass on the bar and shouting 'gin and tonic' so I would collect the drink myself and save them walking over to deliver it is not really what I expect in a four star hotel.
We have stayed in many 4 star hotels in Italy and have rated them all highly until we got to Sierra Silvana. I would only rate it at 3 and recommend couples avoid it - it is probably better suited to mass catering for large tour parties and families with small children.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor to avoid noise from the room above and probably ask for a room not overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annstocktonontees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sierrasilvana, Direttore at Sierra Silvana Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear customer,
his statements are a bit offensive to guests who have freely given a good judgment about our hotel.
Most of the hotels in Italy, but also anywhere in the world at both 4 and 5 stars use distributors for hot drinks and juices .
By us, at no extra charge you can request both espresso and cappuccino made by the Bar .
For the choice of dinner at breakfast is not obbligatory, it is done only to speed up the service in the evening.
Thanks anyway for some of his reports. These will be useful in the future to improve some negative aspects found.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This Hotel is ranked 4 Star by Citalia but 4 star it is not. Plus points for the hotel - reasonably good bathrooms with great water pressure in showers and a friendly Maitre' D who looks a bit like Basil Fawlty. Other than that I can find nothing to recommend it. Of course if you want to order your dinner at breakfast with choices such as 2 fish pasta or broad bean purée for starters followed by rabbit stew, fried mozzarella sandwich or pea soup with poached egg in it or may be a Parmesan omelette which I could have used as a mouse mat it was so rubbery for mains then it is great. Breakfast was the best meal of the day and even that had drinks from a vending machine and the toaster disappeared after day one never to return. Considering that we were in the most prolific olive growing area we did not see one olive on our menu although the vegetarian choice was mozzarella in one form or another most nights. Internet access costs 5 euros per day in the rooms and as we were told 1 room one computer and even if you want to pay for another the answer is NO. Staff in the dinning room are friendly but most of the reception staff are rude, with the exception of Laura who was at least one friendly face on the horizon, and another girl who you got the impression wanted to be good at her job but the competition from the rude ones won the day every time. If you look carefully at the good reviews most of them are for 2011- 2012 and speak of buffet food in the evenings - this is Not the case now I am afraid. The details of this hotel speak about a wonderful Mediterranean Garden - sorry no it is a roughish looking green space with a few pots lying around and yes the pool area etc looks great in the night with all the fairy lights on but beware the camera does lie. Would we go here again NO - would we recommend it definitely not - Basil was great though and you felt sorry for the dining room staff who were expected to serve what was obviously not four star food.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sierrasilvana, Direttore at Sierra Silvana Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Customer
We are very sorry that your stay at our hotel was not to your liking. Your bad judgment, however, it seemed exaggerated and contrary to the view expressed by many Italian and foreign guests who have made very positive reviews on the reception staff, the service of the restaurant and the quality of the food. Certainly it can happen that a preparation is not of satisfaction to a customer, while the same can be appreciated from another. It 'a personal judgment. I assure you that all the members of the staff of Sierra Silvana every day are doing their best to enhance the stay of our guests, in fact many people have appreciated in great reviews, and have also declared an exceptional quality / price ratio. Maybe your grudge against us is due to the fact that once you arrive after occupying the room allocated, you claimed to have a superior room with garden view while knowing that this is more expensive. The receptionists unfortunately not having more rooms available during the period of your stay could not fulfill your request because the only garden view rooms available were booked by Citalia customers who had paid the surcharge. After 3 days it was possible to change the room and there has been no increase demand for this upgrade (perhaps we did wrong). Also unfortunately our management system WI-FI does not allow you to assign 2 passwords to the same room . I'm sorry.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Selva
1.4 mi away
Park Hotel Sant'Elia
Park Hotel Sant'Elia
#8 of 14 in Fasano
482 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel del Levante
Hotel del Levante
#3 of 5 in Torre Canne
472 reviews
5.2 mi away
Borgo Egnazia
Borgo Egnazia
#2 of 6 in Savelletri
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Miramonti Hotel
Miramonti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Selva
143 reviews
6.0 mi away
Porto Giardino Resort
Porto Giardino Resort
#3 of 15 in Monopoli
708 reviews
4.6 mi away
Casale del Murgese
Casale del Murgese
#5 of 6 in Savelletri
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Silvana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Silvana Hotel

Property: Sierra Silvana Hotel
Address: Via Don Bartolo Boggia 5, 72010 Selva, Fasano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Fasano > Selva
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Selva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Silvana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the green hills of Selva di Fasano in the territory of the trulli and the Itria-Valley, in the centre of the 3 provinces Bari, Brindisi and Taranto, the 4 star resort Sierra Silvana is imbedded in a green oasis of rest, ideal for small and great events. It disposes of 127 rooms, 10 of them superior, all with plenty of light and fitted with balcony or terrace, distributed to 5 buildings, imbedded in a wonderful Mediterranean garden, where you can find as well 7 trulli.Each of the pleasant furnished rooms is fitted with bath tub, hairdryer, telephone, minibar, air conditioning, TV LED, Wi-Fi. In the main building you find the vast hall, furnished with comfortable willow sofas; the bordering bar with great windows opens a view to the splendid swimming pool. In the elegant restaurant you can enjoy dishes of highest quality, created by a accurately selected team of staff, who were vice-champions of the world at the „Culinary World Cup“ 2006. The vast conference room „Salone della Luna“ disposes of 350 seats, 8 smaller rooms can be connected to offer space for small conferences from 10 to 150 persons. Bordering on the swimming pool you find the magnificent pavilion in the liberty style of South Italy in which pour cascades of bougainvilleas, an ideal place for gala dinners. A few steps away from the hotel there is located the “Casina Municipale”, which disposes of 1 000 seats and vast exposition areas. The guests can reach in 15 minutes the private beach of the hotel Del Levante in Torre Canne. Sun umbrellas and deckchairs are free available. The hotel is situated in the centre of a territory with a vast artistic and cultural interest. Nearby are located Alberobello, Martina Franca, Cisternino, the white city Ostuni, Polignano a Mare, the zoosafari, the exvacation of Egnazia, the grottoes of Castellana and the numerous masserias (ancient Apulian estates). One of them is the famous Masseria Torre Coccaro, a 5-star luxury hotel of the same group, about ten minutes away . Here you can enjoy in the restaurant of the subterranean oil mill a superb atmosphere. Furthermore the Aveda-Spa centre and the Coccaro Golf Club allow pleasant moments of relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sierra Silvana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sierra Silvana
Sierra Silvana Hotel Selva, Puglia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing