We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, Beautiful and Serene”
Review of Relais La Fattoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Relais La Fattoria
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel Rigone
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Gazing over Lake Trasimeno at sunset from the balcony of a hotel that has the feel of a medieval castle is quite a pleasure in itself. Add to this the peaceful environs, the sparely yet beautifully finished rooms, the warmth of the welcome from the staff and the delicious local food, and you have the recipe for an exquisite vacation experience.

Italian friends took us to this gorgeous spot. Although we were not staying in the hotel, we had the chance to look at some of the rooms with their cool, smooth, pale terra cotta floors and inspiring views. Our reception by manager Roberto Pammelati was incredibly convivial and generous. He apologized for his English, but it was in fact very good. He showed us around the little town of Castel Rigone, our walk accompanied by the sounds of a Spanish Youth Orchestra practicing for the evening’s concert. On our way, we also bumped into Roberto’s mother, who still cooks in the kitchen. We ate dinner on the terrace overlooking the lake, and were served, among other things, the regional specialty pasta dish Strangozzi (the best I tasted all week) as well as simply but richly flavored fish from the lake, local cheeses combined with local honey, and a dessert which included chocolate “salami”. One of our party was vegetarian, and she was very satisfied with her meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Relais La Fattoria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

This hotel missed the evolution to modern times. The rooms are really old fashioned, not air-conditioned en lacks a lot of amenities that most of the rooms have standard nowadays.
It is situated in an old town that kept it's originalitity, which means that all the festivities around are heard throughout all of the entire hotel.
When you like to travel without all the modern comfort of internet, spa and so one, this hotel should be your choice. Most of the days you'll find a quiet environment that changes when the sun goes down and the italians show up...
PS: don't go swimming in the pool, as the water isn't warmed up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kpermen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but went there for dinner twice. It is the only nice place to eat on the mountain and it doesn't disappoint. The restaurant is quite formal but they are happy for you to have a drink around the pool too. The food is a little pricey but definitely tasty with good service and a good wine list. There seemed to be events happening there often such as music nights - we tried to get into one but it was sold out. If you are staying in Castel Rigone it is worth trying as it's walking distance to most homes in the area - there are little trails and steps that avoid the mountain road that takes you straight to the hotel but you need to find the trails. The building itself is beautiful with nice surroundings and good views.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Rancho-Food-Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

probalbly the best place to stay at lake trasimeno if you have a car. located up in the mountains view to the lake and nice pool. situated in old restored village

Room Tip: ask for lakeview
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerhard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

we decided to spend two nights for the Epiphany public holiday (6th January), for a short break away from the stress of our everyday life, and we were absolutely thrilled to discover the gem that Lake Trasimeno is. and stay at the Relais la Fattoria hotel such a splendid romantic hotel situated in a medieval stronghold with fantastic views of the lake. The room was elegant and, spacious yet cosy at the same time and the bathroom though a little dated was in mint condition. The whole atmosphere was magical with beautiful Christmas decorations and paintings and antiques that totally respect the medieval surroundings. We enjoyed the lounge area with books at hand in different languages and discreet music in the background. There was an open fireplace in the dining area where we ate wonderful local dishes and the breakfast, in a beautiful veranda overlooking the lake ,was delicious with plenty of choice, The service was discreet yet welcoming and we were given top quality service and care. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosariog_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

It was great, we had a voucher through Groupon and were really thrilled about the nice location and the great view over the Lake Trasimeno. Sad that it was already to cold for the pool, but its a romantic hide-out and very tranquil, great breakfast buffet and perfect service: reception and service were very helpful. We had a perfect stay and will definitely come back! Also the vicinity to nice places is definitely a plus. We were also lucky with the weather ;-)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Perugia68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Not a 4 star hotel staff need customer service training

Room Tip: Make sure room is on the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carolRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel Rigone
5.4 mi away
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
Albergo Le Tre Isole Villaggio
#2 of 2 in San Feliciano
122 reviews
7.5 mi away
I Capricci di Merion
I Capricci di Merion
#1 of 5 in Tuoro sul Trasimeno
648 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#6 of 10 in Passignano Sul Trasimeno
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Colle della Trinita - BlueBay Perugia
9.4 mi away
Relais Parco Fiorito
Relais Parco Fiorito
#1 of 1 in Piazzano
381 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Casa Sul Lago
La Casa Sul Lago
#1 of 2 in Torricella di Magione
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Fattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Fattoria

Address: Via Rigone 1, 06065 Castel Rigone, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Castel Rigone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel Rigone
Price Range: £69 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais La Fattoria 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais La Fattoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais La Fattoria Castel Rigone, Umbria, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing