We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Casine di Castello
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Castelmuzio
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
La Torretta(Trequanda)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Locanda di Montisi(San Giovanni d'Asso)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Locanda del Castello(San Giovanni d'Asso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rotelle(Torrita di Siena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Residence San Gregorio(Pienza)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
99
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolive oilpastapicimade us feelspent a weekwelcome basketbeautiful arealocal coopcharming apartmentdelicious fooddetailed directionswonderful hostsfarm toura special placeauthentic experiencelifetours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Last September we were fortunate to spend another two wonderful weeks in the charming viiage of Castelmuzio, Italy. This was the 4th year we have stayed at Le Casine di Castello, in the upstairs Il Cielo (the Sky) apartment. We had our two adult daughters with us again and it was like we were returning to our Italian Home. We noticed some nice upgrades from our stay in 2011. They have enlarged and tiled the shower in the main bathroom, adding nice large shower head and a place to sit in the shower if you prefer. They also improved the lighting over the sink and added a lighted shelf next to the sink, all very attractive. There was also a bamboo/reed type cover over the rooftop terrace which was nice to block the sun. There were new beautiful and much appreciated wrought iron handrails in the stairways. We had exceptionally warm and sunny weather for the last two weeks of September. We sat up top on the terrace everyday and enjoyed our meals and soaked in the village atmosphere. This year we met Carlotta who is a wonderful addition as Isabella’s right hand.
Our family prefers our privacy when on vacation. However, staying with the Moricciani family gives you the best of both worlds. You are included in all the weekly activities that are available at their agriturismo, Cretaiole. Isabella encourages you to stay in the Val d’Orcia area and experience the local people and villages. This is what we prefer to do. When you stay in Castelmuzio it is like going back to the true, rustic, simple lifestyle of the 9th century medieval village. As you walk a few steps and pass through the stone archway into town, you get a feeling of going back in time. The beautiful wrought iron windows, doors and gates are reminders of the craftsmen who helped to build this charming village. True there is only one restaurant, but it is a good one with a friendly staff. There is also a small local grocery store with all the essentials, but that keeps your thoughts away from the over commercialized world we all live in. Step back in time, indulge yourself in the honest, down to earth lifestyle of the village people and enjoy the Tuscan experience by staying in Castelmuzio.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2GeorgiaBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I just recently returned from 6 weeks in Europe. Two of those weeks were spent at the properties run by Moricciani (sp?) family. We stayed first in the Il Nido apartment which is located in the adorable town of Castelmuzio, then we moved to the "farm" Cretaiole to be there during olive harvest time. You cannot imagine a family that has as much enthusiasm and passion for ensuring that their guests have a perfect time, than this family. From the minute I phoned to say I was on my way there, until even after my trip was over, we were treated like royalty. They go out of their way to make sure that their guests have everything they need to be comfortable. When I asked about a fan (even though the nights were quite cool) voila, it was there. When we got a cold and wanted some honey for a cough, voila, left on my door step late one night. If you were to get lost, or needed dinner reservations, or where to find the perfect souvenir, they had the answers and went out of their way to accommodate you. All of their rooms, apartments and villas are immaculate and extremely comfortable. We were blown away by how extensive their hospitality is and how running these places, isn't just a job, it is their life's passion. All pictures, and reviews you see and read are not photo shopped or made up... THIS is the real deal. If you want a perfect vacation in Tuscany, look no further than Cretaiole.

Room Tip: IF you want privacy choose Il Nido apartments. If you want to be a part of a big happy, fun Tuscan family and really get a true experience while not sacrificing excellence, choose Cretaiole, if you want luxury, choose the Villa....
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atriptolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Isabella, Carlotta & Carlo, Thank-you for making our 25th anniversary feel like we were on our honeymoon. We especially enjoyed your homemade treats delivered in the morning, that was very thoughtful. All the events you planned for the week that we could choose from was awesome!! Our favorite of course was the Pici Pasta-making class. We will never forget your hospitality you all made our trip very memorable. Paul & Connie Puyallup, WA

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I and 2 friends went to Italy to celebrate my wife's special birthday. We spent an amazing week at Il Ciello, a 2 bedroom apartment in the heart of a most charming little medieval town called Castelmuzio in Tuscany. If you are looking for an experience which captures the very essence of Tuscan living, you will love staying at any of the Morriciani properties which Isabella owns and manages. Our place was charming and beautifully decorated, and furnished with fresh flowers, fresh home grown vegetables, fruit, pastries, cretaiole wine and olive oil and more. (These were all grown and produced at the Morriciani family farm). Every detail was attended to so completely. Isabella thought of everything! She provided tours of all kinds (optional) which cannot be missed. They provided a taste of the rich culture and the real people of Tuscany. You will have an opportunity to visit the family farm which we enjoyed very much, and had samples of their wine, cheese, olive oil, prosciutto, all produced by the Morriciani family. And don't miss pasta making night where you will learn to make "pici" and share a wonderful meal with all the guests. Yes, it was a beautiful week in Tuscany, one of the best experiences ever! Many thanks to Isabella and family!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daddy1luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We took our son and his wife to Tuscany this September (2013) and stayed in the Cretaiole apartment in Castelmuzio, a property of the Morriciani family. The 2 bedroom apartment exceeded our expectation, from the superb Italian linens, to the roomy sitting area, the stocked fridge, and the welcome basket with goodies. Arriving late Saturday, the food provided enabled us to have a family breakfast before venturing forth to explore. The Morriciani "family", welcomed us with warm hospitality and provided wonderful opportunities to dig deeper into Tuscan life. The activities provided and suggested were excellent quality and gave us a good variety of experiences. We would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The Castelmuzio accomodation gives an added experience in a walled medieval village. Other rooms are at the farm property.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews