We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"My Dream of a Lifetime" Trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castelmuzio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Casine di Castello
Reviewed 16 June 2014

If you had a rating for 10 stars for Le Casine di Castello (II Cielo) in lovely Castelmuzio that would be my choice. Isabella and family were perfect hosts for the 12 days there. My friend and I felt like we family by the time we left! Walking through the door to our apt. we were overwhelmed seeing baskets of homegrown vegs., fruits, biscotti and bottles wine, homemade torts, fresh bread, jams, cookies, etc., on the kitchen table! The rest of the apt. was charming and quaint. From our location we took day trips in the car we rented. Isabella made a treasure trove binder of maps, descriptions and directions to all the towns in the area. The countryside and hill towns are breathtaking in the spring. Everything looks like a beautiful painting. Saw the splendor of Venice and Florence as well, but I Ieft my heart in Castelmuzio!

Room Tip: Highly recommend any of Isabella's places in Castelmuzio and Cretaiole near Pienza, Italy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

We spent a fantastic week at Castlemuzio. The two bedroom unit(IlCielo) was just as it was advertised. The welcome basket was a wonderful surprise and the service thru out the week was top notch. Thank you Carlo for the drop in surprise of fresh rolls one morning! We enjoyed the Dolce Vita package options and the pasta making dinner was the highlight of the week. The location was ideal for visiting and experiencing the Tuscan country side. Isabella, Carlotta and Carlo plus their staff made each activity a memorable experience. We will definitely stay at one of their charming units when we return to Tuscany. our other family members were very impressed with the tour of Siena. We are already talking about returning to Castlemuzio. We have been to Italy a number of times but this time in Castlemuzio was truly amazing. Thank you all again for being such wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I spent two weeks in Italy. We started in Venice, rented a car in Florence and drove to Tuscany. We are hooked. Right from the friendliness on line with Isabella Moricciani to the lovely apartment in Castelmuzio (a sweet, little village about 10 minutes from Pienza) to the olive tasting class led by her husband and staff, to the suggestions for dining and her interest in us as a couple made us feel so special. When we arrived in our room, there were flowers everywhere, wine, dainties, homegrown vegetables and fruit. It was divine. This was our first time in Tuscany and we will be going back as soon as we can. The whole experience of the gorgeous countryside, the wonderful people, the wine tasting, and coming home at night to the quaint, Victorian style apt was just a lovely treat and so romantic for my husband and I.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clarisse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A friend and I recently returned from a 3-week trip to Italy. It was truly fabulous, beginning in Venice, ending in Florence and the rest of the time in the beautiful Tuscan countryside. The highlight of our trip was staying at Le Casine di Castello (Il Cielo) in Castelmuzio, a charming small Etruscan hill town, off the beaten path and not far from Pienza. It was beyond all of our expectations. The Moricciani family was a delight. Isabella felt like she had been a friend forever and her goal was to make our stay perfect. When we arrived, the kitchen table was filled with baskets of vegetables, fruits, sweets, pasta, bread, etc. There was yogurt, eggs, milk and juice in the refrigerator. There was wine and liqueurs to enjoy, plus all the usual condiments, olive oil, vinegar, salt, spices, coffee, etc., etc., etc. It was AMAZING! The apartment was tastefully decorated with special touches and with care and comfort in mind. The recently updated bathroom was furnished with lovely shampoos, conditioners, moisturizers, and wonderful large towels. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were marvelous. Sitting out on the roof top terrace enjoying cheese, bread, wine and the beautiful village scenery was such a treat after a day on the go. Castelmuzio was a perfect location for taking day trips throughout the region. A binder compiled by Isabella equipped us with all we needed for visiting other hill towns and provided information for areas we would not have found in a tour . It was invaluable and we used it daily. We visited the family farm where we were welcomed with open arms by Luciano and Liliana. Luciano proudly gave us a tour of the farm and afterwards we all shared in some prosciutto, salami, cheese, bread and wine, all produced on the farm. This was a very special afternoon. We also attended a dinner at Le Cretaiole, where we indulged in a wonderful Tuscan meal and left, as they say in Italian, "pieno come un uovo (full as an egg). The food was delicious and it was a festive and memorable evening. I cannot say enough about Le Casine di Castello and the Moricciani family. If you have an opportunity to visit the area, don't think twice about this place. Book it ... You won't regret it. This was truly an experience to be remembered. It was PERFECT and I want to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Two adult couples spent a week in October at Le Casine di Castello, owned by Isabella Moricciani and family. It was a wonderful experience for first time travelers to Tuscany! This upstairs apartment is located in Castlemuzio, a small charming village located about ten minutes from Pienza. Upon arrival, we were pleased to find a beautifully appointed two bedroom apartment with amenities beyond what we would ever have expected, including fresh fruit & vegetables, bread, cereal, juice, cooking supplies, etc... The Moricciani family also runs a nearby Agriturisimo, Cretaiole, and although we didn't stay on the farm with the other guests, we were invited to participate in any of the activities planned for them ... which we enjoyed immensely. Isabella provides a wealth of information for her guests in a binder that came in so helpful for exploring the nearby sites that you otherwise may not find in the tour books - which enabled us to fill our days with the activities of our choice. She was also a tremendous resource for us ... making reservations at restaurants, answering any questions, and welcoming guests to the family farm for everything from pici pasta making to olive oil tasting, and sampling the proscuitto made by the family patriarch, Luciano, who entertained guests with his friendly demeanor and homemade grappa. We felt that we had an opportunity to have a true Tuscan experience while making new friends who thought of so many small details to make our stay so much more enjoyable. The apartment itself has a lovely little terrace with a view of the town. Since Castlemuzio is a hill town, the views from the village are spectacular. We would highly recommend both the apartment, as well as Cretaiole the farm. The Moricciani family are very special people. You won't forget your experience there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Last September we were fortunate to spend another two wonderful weeks in the charming viiage of Castelmuzio, Italy. This was the 4th year we have stayed at Le Casine di Castello, in the upstairs Il Cielo (the Sky) apartment. We had our two adult daughters with us again and it was like we were returning to our Italian Home. We noticed some nice upgrades from our stay in 2011. They have enlarged and tiled the shower in the main bathroom, adding nice large shower head and a place to sit in the shower if you prefer. They also improved the lighting over the sink and added a lighted shelf next to the sink, all very attractive. There was also a bamboo/reed type cover over the rooftop terrace which was nice to block the sun. There were new beautiful and much appreciated wrought iron handrails in the stairways. We had exceptionally warm and sunny weather for the last two weeks of September. We sat up top on the terrace everyday and enjoyed our meals and soaked in the village atmosphere. This year we met Carlotta who is a wonderful addition as Isabella’s right hand.
Our family prefers our privacy when on vacation. However, staying with the Moricciani family gives you the best of both worlds. You are included in all the weekly activities that are available at their agriturismo, Cretaiole. Isabella encourages you to stay in the Val d’Orcia area and experience the local people and villages. This is what we prefer to do. When you stay in Castelmuzio it is like going back to the true, rustic, simple lifestyle of the 9th century medieval village. As you walk a few steps and pass through the stone archway into town, you get a feeling of going back in time. The beautiful wrought iron windows, doors and gates are reminders of the craftsmen who helped to build this charming village. True there is only one restaurant, but it is a good one with a friendly staff. There is also a small local grocery store with all the essentials, but that keeps your thoughts away from the over commercialized world we all live in. Step back in time, indulge yourself in the honest, down to earth lifestyle of the village people and enjoy the Tuscan experience by staying in Castelmuzio.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2GeorgiaBrowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My husband and I just recently returned from 6 weeks in Europe. Two of those weeks were spent at the properties run by Moricciani (sp?) family. We stayed first in the Il Nido apartment which is located in the adorable town of Castelmuzio, then we moved to the "farm" Cretaiole to be there during olive harvest time. You cannot imagine a family that has as much enthusiasm and passion for ensuring that their guests have a perfect time, than this family. From the minute I phoned to say I was on my way there, until even after my trip was over, we were treated like royalty. They go out of their way to make sure that their guests have everything they need to be comfortable. When I asked about a fan (even though the nights were quite cool) voila, it was there. When we got a cold and wanted some honey for a cough, voila, left on my door step late one night. If you were to get lost, or needed dinner reservations, or where to find the perfect souvenir, they had the answers and went out of their way to accommodate you. All of their rooms, apartments and villas are immaculate and extremely comfortable. We were blown away by how extensive their hospitality is and how running these places, isn't just a job, it is their life's passion. All pictures, and reviews you see and read are not photo shopped or made up... THIS is the real deal. If you want a perfect vacation in Tuscany, look no further than Cretaiole.

Room Tip: IF you want privacy choose Il Nido apartments. If you want to be a part of a big happy, fun Tuscan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atriptolove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castelmuzio hotels
0 mi away
Locanda di CasalMustia
Locanda di CasalMustia
#1 of 2 in Castelmuzio
106 reviews
0 mi away
La casa di Lucia
La casa di Lucia
#4 of 4 in Castelmuzio
7 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa di Dina B&B
La Casa di Dina B&B
#2 of 2 in Castelmuzio
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Agriturismo Pascianella
#3 of 4 in Castelmuzio
1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Moricciani
Casa Moricciani
#1 of 4 in Castelmuzio
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Casine di Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Casine di Castello

Address: Piazza Quattro Novembre 6, 53020 Castelmuzio, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelmuzio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Castelmuzio
Price Range: £62 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Casine is located in an ideal location for daytrips to Montalcino, Montepulciano, Florence, Siena and Cortona, Perugia and San Gimignano. Owned by Isabella Moricciani, who manages "Agriturismo Cretaiole." She will teach you to make pasta, taste wine and olive oil, and enjoy the traditions of the Val d'Orcia. Come taste, feel, and absorb Tuscany in a way rarely experienced by others who visit Italy. Your memories of your stay will last a lifetime! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Casine Di Castello Castelmuzio, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing