We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We thought the hotel was closed for the winter - it wasn't”
Review of Hotel Ducale

Hotel Ducale
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ducale
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Tabiano
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Looked a big hotel, slightly shabby and it felt very empty. I really thought it had closed down and it felt that our Shearings coach party was the only customers it had.

The rooms were okay, plain and a tad shabby but we were only there for the one night. Didn;t like the odd shaped, small balcony (which seemed to be a small, wedge shape large enough for just one chair).

The bathroom was a good size but the oddly placed wc, right up against the outside wall meant they had to push the wall out under the window so you could use it. How odd!

The layout of the hotel was 'interesting'. The reception was at ground level. The two levels above, one had a large lounge and the other the restaurant. So the rooms on the first level were in fact on the third floor.

The breakfast was served, not in the large restaurant but in the smaller room opposite the reception desk. Obviously more convenient for serving drinks and snacks it was also useful for serving breakfasts from two small side tables and issuing the teas and coffee from the bar.

I had the feeling that this was a really good hotel some 30 or 40 years ago, but it really does need a bit of refurbishment and updating.

There was free wifi here, which was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgware2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Supposedly a 4 star gone to 3 star for tax purposes. Terrible hotel. Scruffy rooms. No lighting on arrival on corridors. Dodgy lifts. Owner really unimpressed with our arrival and just handed out keys with a scowl. Couldn't find rooms due to strange layout. Food poor and no choice. Least shearings could be bothered to pay we got. Breakfast was poor. No choices. No table as too full and we had to sit outside! No cutlery. Flies on bread. Room dirty. Had to clean floor in bathroom. Couldn't open bathroom window if using toilet. Silverfish in bathroom and found one in bed. Avoid. Glass in windows not safety glass. Photos say it all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Cleanliness
Thank Honestguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in the first week of May.
The hotel is old, the rooms look worn out, wireless NEVER worked despite some so-to-speak technician working hard to connect the poor hosts (this is what the receptionist told us). Old tvs in the room. Some rust in the toitel. No frills. The lift broke 3 times and we had to walk 3 floors many times during our stay (maybe this was intended to sport, who knows).
Breakfast is basic and offers the same stuff every day.
Receptionists and staff aver friendly and kind.
I would recommed this only for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tatami71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on a Shearings coach holiday. On arrival we were given a friendly welcome & complementary drink in the bar. The rooms are large, comfortable and clean, and all seem to have balconies, TVs & working air conditioning. However the hotel is very 1950's, so be prepared to step back in a time warp. Nothing wrong with it at all, in fact we found it rather charming in it's old fashioned way. Dinner in the upstairs restaurant was very nice, and we recommend the inexpensive house red wine. Breakfast was a bit basic but adequate in the ground floor bar. There is a large lounge on the first floor full of dated settees & armchairs. The town is small, but quite nice to walk round with a park near the hotel. The pool & terrace looked clean, but we did not have time to use it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittlePatsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not 4 star mabey long long ago every thing is tired the staff however are really very nice and helpful the hotel is worn out and needs a revamp .shearing grand tourer staff who picked the place need training and fast

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank towbar178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank marcoreyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank antonio c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabiano
0.8 mi away
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
Antico Borgo di Tabiano Castello
#1 of 1 in Tabiano Castello
821 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#4 of 16 in Tabiano
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Farnese
Hotel Farnese
#9 of 16 in Tabiano
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#6 of 16 in Tabiano
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#2 of 16 in Tabiano
180 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Salsomaggiore
Grand Hotel Salsomaggiore
#8 of 50 in Salsomaggiore Terme
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducale

Address: Via E. Respighi 3, 43039 Tabiano, Salsomaggiore Terme, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Parma > Salsomaggiore Terme > Tabiano
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Tabiano
Price Range: £51 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ducale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ducale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing