We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fleas, disrepair and aggressive staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Firenze

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Firenze
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Assenza
UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fleas, disrepair and aggressive staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Today we are paying to leave this hotel and stay somewhere else. We didn't sleep at all during the first night due to the uncomfortable beds. The rooms are not as they are pictured, they are in a poor state of repair. Our bathroom door didn't even close!

We got up in the morning to find we both had multiple bites and managed to find the culprits- fleas. Nice.

Additional points- it states parking but there is none. We were told where to park by the staff and then taken out half way through dinner to move it. It also states special diets are catered for- this is simply untrue, even on request. Finally, it states air conditioning but you have to pay for this and it only works for a few hours at night, it is switched off the rest of the time.

When we wanted to leave the hotel the reception staff were rude and aggressive.

I wouldn't stay here again even if someone paid me, there are plenty of other gorgeous hotels around the lake that are worth your time- namely panoramica in salo and campanola in riva del Garda. Try those instead!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cham265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuditta I, Proprietario at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Google Translation
ENGLISH
Dear Guest,
we are very sorry that your stay in our Hotel wasn't like you expected.
It's indeed strange anyway that our bed was not comfortable: every year, before opening the Hotel to the public, we personally check every single bed in order to change the mattress or what have to be changed, because our taget is to give a pleasure stay to our guests.
We work in our Hotel for over 40 years, and we learnt that the most important thing is the satisfaction of our guests; in this way, we managed to have a certain amount of fixed guests that every year come to Lake Garda to stay by us, and continue to be happy every single year! Feel at home even if you are away from home: this is the sensation that many of our guest tell us to have when they are here!
Speaking now about your review, what make us astonished is also the fact that you assert we have fleas in our rooms! A fact like this never happened in our career, and cannot happen in any case: our cleaning stff is properly trained by us about how to clean the rooms, and in confirmation to our attention we also received the certification from Venere.com about the cleanliness of our Hotel.
In conclusion, we are convinced and we have the proof that we are making the best for our guests; we are also conscious that make everyone happy is not easy, but in an case you could directly speak with us at the reception and we could have managed to the problem for sure.
We are sorry to read such a negative review, and most important, we are sorry to read a false review, that depict us in a false way. We will for sure ask to tripadvisor to remove these false assertions you wrote.
For the future, we will become more punctual and awake about the stay of our costumers, but we ask also to everyone to be honest with us, because is not our taget to make people unhappy!

GERMAN/DEUTSCH
Lieber Gast,
Es tut uns wirklich sehr leid, dass Sie so einen schlechten Urlaub verbracht haben. Wegen der Bettmatratzen schreiben Sie aber etwas Unmögliches, eine Bösgläubigkeit, die uns tief beleidigt!
Die Matratzen werden jährlich einzeln nachkontrolliert und bei Bedarf mit neue gewechselt. Bei jeder Zimmerreinigung während der Saison wird die Sauberkeit der Matratze überprüft und bei Bedarf hygienisiert. Reinigung und Sauberkeit unserer Zimmer ist mit dem Reinraum-Qualitäts-Zertifikat vom bekannten Webportal Venere beglaubigt worden; dieser Charakterzug ist auch eins der wichtigsten unseres Hauses!
Seit über 40 Jahre rechnen wir mit einer stabilen deutschen Stammkundschaft, die uns als zuverlässiges Urlaubshaus seit Generationen betrachtet, vor allem für unsere Freundlichkeit die wir als Frauen-Staff (zwei Schwestern und die Mutter) bieten können. Wir persönlich folgen und überwachen unsere erfahrene Putzfrauen.
Es kann immerhin passieren, dass ein Gast sich nicht gut bewirtet fühlt. Sie hätten sich gleich bei uns melden können, um ihre erwähnte Probleme im Zimmer lösen zu können; was jeder aufrichtiger Gast gemacht hätte! Wir haben aber über ihrem Schicksal nichts gehört und auch kein weiterer Gast, der in ihrem Zimmer nach ihrer Abreise gewohnt hat, hat sich bei uns für so eine Angelegenheit beklagt. Vielleicht haben sie uns mit einem anderen Haus gewechselt. In jedem Fall werden wir gleich über diese widrige und unehrliche Rezension diesem Portal für die sofortige Löschung anfordern!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    17
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
5
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Lovely location, the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Book a room with the lake view, its worth the extra money. The rooms are adequate but not luxurious, some have been updated, others await refurbishment, we booked literally the day before we arrived so had one of the older style rooms. Buffet breakfast superb. The 4 course evening meals are very good and great value. If you prefer to eat out there are plenty of good local restaurants' in walking distance. Pool area very nice with views over the lake - I think all the sun loungers and umbrellas were probably new this year. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, it represents great value for money.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view although there is traffic from the road between hotel and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alec J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giuditta I, Direttore at Hotel Firenze, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Guest,
we are very happy to read your review and very happy to let you spend a beautiful holiday on Lake Garda! As you noticed, every year we try to update the structures to make our guest have the best holiday we can offer to them. Thank you also for your positive judgment about our meals offer! We hope to see you soon again on Lake Garda for your next holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cubalibre10
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A good hotel located in a lovely part of the northern lake. The hotel is just outside both Assenza and Porto but easily within walking distance of both. We ate out every evening or purchased food for a picnic from the range of excellent supermarkets nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful throughout and the breakfast was plentiful and of a good quality. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and spacious and cleaned daily.

The pool was nice, if slightly on the small side when busy. However the hotel had compensated for this with decent sunbathing areas on the roof and in the garden.We also found that whilst some rooms on the top floor did not have balconies there was a huge terrace with amazing views (see photos)

The one unfortunate element was that there was no air-conditioning or fans. The rooms on the upper floors get very hot and do not have balconies attached. Even a simple standing fan would have helped as it got very stuffy.

Overall a nice hotel with a beautiful location and friendly, helpful staff. We did not have a car during our trip around the lake and this hotel was very easy to get to and from via the main bus route around the lake (bus stops directly outside; stop "aquafresca"). I would really recommend taking a walk (early to avoid the heat!) to Castello - a little up in the hill to the South of the hotel - stunning place and very peaceful.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back, towards the left of the hotel can be a little noisy at night due to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cubalibre10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were upgraded without asking for it or paying any extra from a mountain view room to a lake view, with a nice private balcony looking north out over the lake and pool. The bed wasn't fantastic, it sloped towards the middle and I woke up in the mornings wedged into the gap between the two mattresses. Otherwise the room was quiet, spacious and clean. The shower cubicle was a bit on the small side but made up for it with nice strong hot water pressure.

The family who run the hotel are wonderfully friendly and helpful.

The breakfast buffet is great, really sets you up for the day. We stayed half board since we were only there for a couple of days but to be honest, unless you are on a serious budget I wouldn't advise it. It works out at around 6 euros per person per meal which is very cheap, and the food is ample if not too great (nor is it particularly Italian, I get the impression that they cater very much to their mostly German clientele, one evening the main course choices were schnitzel or strudel) but there are so many fantastic restaurants all up and down the lake shore that it seems a shame to confine yourself so much. Our dinner the second night was pretty dire (first time in my life i didn't finish a plate of carbonara), we would have been very disappointed had we not a had a great and huge lunch at a pizzeria up the road. The wine selection is also a bit overpriced

Room Tip: The floors aren't very sound proof, so the higher up you are the less you'll hear people sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherrycoke106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is an amazing Hotel. We went 1/2 board - excellent buffet for breakfast, which you could keep going back to and set you up for the day. Dinners were super (super salad bar as well) - dessert and wine on the verranda after, and the lake next door to walk along later! ... and the pool. After a day travelling to get there the pool was just sooo welcome. A super hotel run by a very nice family - I'm pretty sure we will be back here!
Andrew, July 2012

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed at the Firenze for 8 days this summer, sailing on Garda and doing some local sight seeing. The Hotel is beautifully situated, the "Lake view" rooms offer a perfect way to start the morning ! Breakfast is out on the lake balcony too.

The Hotel is apparently family owned and there is a careful attention to service in every respect. Rooms are spotless, a good size and the food and wine service is very thoughtful. if you spend a lot of time in Business chain hotels this will all come as a very pleasant surprise. There is also good parking nearby and the Hotel is convenient for public transport too. Nothing seems too much trouble for the owners - if you ask for local recommendations you will get good advice. Very handy for visiting the wineries in Bardolino and Torbole too !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fastwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Assenza
0.2 mi away
Drago Hotel
Drago Hotel
#2 of 5 in Assenza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Brenzone
Hotel Brenzone
#2 of 28 in Brenzone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#1 of 28 in Brenzone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#19 of 28 in Brenzone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantide Villaggio Albergo
3.4 mi away
La Caletta Bolognese
La Caletta Bolognese
#1 of 6 in Castelletto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze

Property: Hotel Firenze
Address: Via Gardesana 4, 37010 Assenza, Brenzone, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Brenzone > Assenza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Assenza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel firenze has been run by the isotta family for over 35 years. It is located in assenza di brenzone, a small village on the eastern shore of lake garda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Firenze Lake Garda, Italy - Assenza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing