We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Art and nature” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel di Tusa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Art and nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

...."I want to be excited"...This is one of the things you will read once you arrive in this little but wonderful hotel. And your visit will be full of surprises. You will have the occasion to visit all the different rooms designed by several artists, each one with different colours, materials and carachteristics. Each one reflecting the way every artist see the life and the nature. You will enjoy a unique view on the sea. The people who work there will be happy and proud to tell you the story of this place with courtesy and smile. The chef will offer you a very good and geniune food (the cuisine is excellent). And please, don't lose the occasion to visit the other art installation in the proximities (the ladies in the reception will indicate you), especially the piramid on the hill at the sunset. Thank to Antonio Presti for creating and manteining this, and for all the emotions given to the visitors.

Room Tip: All design rooms are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fabiogioooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your nice and lovely words! I'll forward your compliments to my staff, they'll be very happy and motivated when read comments like yours. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at our Museum Atelier sul Mare. Your comment is very important to us to constantly improve ourselves. Please come back in the future!

Kind regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    120
    56
    17
    39
See reviews for
73
251
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was very nice experience. Something that happens not everyday :) I would like to come back one day for sure. Thank You for sharing with us Your art so closely. Maybe for longer stay I would choose standart room ( they are decorated also very nicely ), but for one night.. is perfect to get the feeling of something that is out of the box ( we stayed in the Salt room)..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Asta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear, guest,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. You have totally understood the feeling that our rooms give to our guests: the unforgettable experience of sleeping inside art, providing to the guest a unique and powerful experience. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare.
Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and were given the painter's room. My partner and i love arts. We think this is an excellent idea to rooms with different themes. The whole area is so peaceful. There are restaurants not far away from the hotel. The breakfast is average. There is lots parking space here. (free charge)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suli_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at Hotel-museum Atelier sul Mare. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel-museum Atelier sul Mare. Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fiumara d'Arte Foundation/Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

This place in magic, atmosphere and location are unique.
Our room is "terra e fuoco", in front of the beach, you sleep with the sound of the sea and wake eith by the raylights that come from throught the big window, placed just in front of the bed. For magic moments and dreaming! Suggested!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisavd83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear customer,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare and that you were especially enjoyed the atmosphere of dreaming atmosphere the art room offered to you. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Atelier sul Mare.

Kind regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were a party of 4 that made prior reservations for 2 rooms for 2 nights. Our plans changed so we had to cancel one night. Instead of canceling one night they put us for 4 rooms in one night. When we checked in we explained that Yes, we wanted only one night, but only 2 rooms for 2 married couples. Even though they had our names all along for 2 rooms, they refused to credit us for the other 2 rooms and yet they did not offer for us to stay in 4 rooms. WHen I talked to the manager the next day, they said we were only allowed the 2 rooms, even though we had to pay for 4 on the same night. Very frustrating, and certainly felt ripped off. There was nothing special about the hotel, and after 3 weeks in Sicily, I can say that this was our only situation where I did not trust the people. There are other, better places to stay in the close vicinity.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shirleyjeancole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thanks a lot for your comment. I remind you writing a review doesn’t mean real facts. First of all, remember that you booked the room using two different booking circuits (Booking.com and Expedia.com). This has already created a mess up and a miss understanding, and any issues arose is only your responsibility. It's not absolutely true that you paid 4 rooms for one night. You only paid the reservation made through Booking.com for no.2 special price rooms for € 70.00 per night (total € 140.00). There was no payment on Expedia.com since the reservation was canceled. I hope you now understand that dishonesty does not belong to our staff. In addition, the reception staff was so kind giving you, for the same price as gift, two art rooms (The desert room and Lunaria-Countryside without name). You say there was nothing special about the hotel. It should be blind do not understand the beauty of Atelier sul mare and the town where it’s located, one of the best and beautiful bay of Sicily. The Atelier sul Mare represents the fusion between the best tradition of the hospitality and the fascinating conception of contemporary art in constant evolution. The museum Atelier sul Mare has a revolutionary concept of "living art". The rooms of the hotel have been given to international artists who have transformed them in art works. Our guests are very sensitive and emotionally about contemporary art, perceptions, I would respectfully say, do not deserve you. We understand that you didn’t like our property. What we regret most is the offensive and insolent tone used in writing this review, that doesn’t match in any way the truth and does not correspond to the reality of our museum-hotel. Now I recommend you that next time you’d like to express an opinion, please think a little more before accuse people who work to be always attentive, kind, and ready to offer the best support to our guests.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

The most ludicrously designed hotel ever? We had booked a standard room, but on arrival were offered an 'art room'. After declining one with black walls and triangular bed,and another predominantly in pillar-box red, we accepted one with a giant concrete scroll across the ceiling and a bathroom like a gloomy, underlit rocky grotto. We soon wished we had stuck to a standard room. The bed was entirely freestanding - no bedside tables, no lamps, also no chairs, no drawer space, no phone, no TV. I nearly knocked myself out on an artistically projecting slab of wall. The narrow serpentining corridor was unlit until the reception desk decided it was time to switch on the lights, which made it virtually impossible to see to put the key in the door. There was no restaurant or bar, and out of season there seems to be just one restaurant open in the vlllage. Very quiet at night, at least once the trains have stopped rattling past the rear of the hotel. Adequate breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Kunde,
ihr Kommentar bezueglich der Unterkunft, sehr fraglich und persoenlich, entspricht nicht im Geringsten unserer Art und Weise Gaeste zu behandeln. Wir bitten Sie deshalb uns direkt anzusprechen um das Problem zu loesen.
Ich moechte Sie des Weiteren daran erinnern, dass es eine Rezeption gibt, an der Sie jederzeit nach einem anderen Zimmer fragen konnten, wenn das Ihre eventuell zu laut war. Ich schliesse allerdings Renovierungslaerm aus und kann mir nicht vorstellen, wo und wie ein solcher Laerm erzeugt wurde.
Das Personal ist nicht verpflichtet Sie an Uhrzeit und Ort des Fruehstuecks zu erinnern, da in Italien das Fruehstueck immer im Preis inbegriffen ist und von 7:30 - 10:00 Uhr angeboten wird.
Ich moechte Sie auch darauf aufmerkasam machen, dass das Hamman (Sauna) ein besonderes Angebot ist, das extra gebucht werden muss.
Desweiteren moechte ich Sie erinnern, dass das Kunsthotel 'Atelier sulMare' nach einem revoluzionaeren Konzept fuer Kunstgenuss entstanden ist. Die Raeume des Hotels wurden in die Haende der Kuenstler gegeben, die sie dann zu einem Kunstwerk verwandelt haben. Und das ist die Neuigkeit, die Kunstwerke sind nicht statisch sondern verwandeln sich mit ihrem Nutzer. Kunst ist freie Wahrnehmung und Tische und Schraenke befinden sich in allen Zimmern, man muss sie nur entdecken und verstehen wie sie zu nutzen sind. Ein Fernseher hat in einem Museum fuer zeitgenoessische Kunst keinen Sinn, wird zum Stoerfaktor, aber das versteht sich von selbst.
Ich schliesse meine Antwort auf Ihren Kommentar, indem ich Sie erinnere, dass das, was fuer Sie 'heruntergekommen' oder 'jugendherbergsstil' bedeutet, fuer viele Andere (und das sind wirklich sehr viele) eine Quelle zum Traeumen, Staunen aber auch Nachdenken bedeutet. Man muss die zeitgenoessische Kunst verstehen, um sie schaetzen zu koennen, und es tut mir leid, dass Sie diese Sensibilitaet wohl nicht besitzen. Die Schoenheit der Kunst liegt ausserhalb der gierigen, blinden Welt der menschlichen Schranken.

herzliche Grüße

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

We just stayed one night and got mixed impressions:

Pro:
- Nice location directly at the beachfront / nice views
- Friendly personnel
- Very clean

contra:
- Relatively far away from Cefalu (takes at least 20min by car); no other relevant sights around
- Basic room; felt a little like in a youth hostel
- Quite noisy when we stayed there (people talking until late in the night in front of our balcony (bar), some constructions going on on the beach, somebody hammering next door at 8:00 in the morning)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear customer,
thanks a lot for your comment. It’s very important for us understand our customer needs and typology. However, let me just say something: We would like our customers choose the Museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare because they appreciate being immersed in contemporary art, amazing landscapes and a spiritual journey through art, and not because Cefalù is nearby. I have to contradict you, but maybe you have not understand that the art rooms are created by international artists, and the standard rooms (that you have chosen) are gallery of contemporary art with amazing masterpiece. Consider the museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare a youth hostel is an extreme offense and give further evidence that you don’t have the sensitiveness of contemporary art. I apologize for the people talking until late in the night, even though there is no bar in front the museum-hotel. You could advise the reception to resolve this issue. I apologize for the noise and the hammering due to the strengthening of the front beach, but we don’t have control of these temporary labor work, therefore you should complain with the municipality of Castel di Tusa, and not with us.

My best regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum Atelier sul Mare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castel di Tusa
0.2 mi away
Tus'Hotel
Tus'Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tusa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Le Calette
Hotel Le Calette
#2 of 35 in Cefalu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
9.4 mi away
Relais Santa Anastasia
Relais Santa Anastasia
#1 of 4 in Castelbuono
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Bluebay Cefalu
Bluebay Cefalu
#6 of 35 in Cefalu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
56.2 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
11.7 mi away
Hotel Kalura
Hotel Kalura
#7 of 35 in Cefalu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Property: Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 4, 98070 Castel di Tusa, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Castel di Tusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castel di Tusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atelier Sul Mare Messina
Hotel Atelier Sul Mare
Hotel-Museum Atelier Sul Mare Sicily/Castel Di Tusa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing