We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (620)
Filter reviews
620 results
Traveller rating
333
145
65
23
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
333
145
65
23
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art room out of season reception area cakes museum atelier antonio emotions tusa castel coast beauty waves toilet di tower culture
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 620 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This hotel offers authentic Sicilian hospitality with the added bonus of quirky and brilliant art throughout. The service is excellent and discreet at the same time. No one is going to turf you out of your room at 10.00am when checking out or rush you through your healthy nutritious breakfast. They will offer you as much lovely coffee as you want, if like me, you do not like the what is called American style weak chicory flavoured beverage served in most Italian hotels.
The beds can look as if they are going to be uncomfortable because they are different but we slept like babies in both artistic rooms we were privileged to sleep in during our stay ( assisted by the sound of the waves audible from the rooms).
The sea is literally in front of the hotel and free chairs and umbrellas are available on what feels like a private deserted beach. Mainly pebbly so we swam with our fins or Crocks in this beautiful turquoise sea.
I understand that the food is excellent in the hotel restaurant but because we were part of a group we preferred to use the local cheaper options, Le Lampare ( taste the Lampare pizza), La Trinacria( pasta,fish) and Grotta Marina ( real locally caught fish). If you arrive by train the station café does an excellent expresso ( very hospitable).
We were a party of six from Australia, New Zealand, Switzerland, Uk and Portugal and all agreed that this location is one of those best kept secrets.

Room tip: Be adventurous and open minded,
Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nunop593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear guest,
thank you so much for your kind review. I'm very glad that all you guys have had a comfortable stay at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare and that you were especially pleased with the friendliness of our staff. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. I'll be happy to transfer your positive feed-back to the staff. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you again at Atelier sul Mare. Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the bright white nest/egg room which had an unusual giant oval bed with a great view of the sea. The flooding shower may have been part of the concept but it did become tedious. The price for two people did seem a little expensive for the general quality and standard. However the breakfast bar on the beach worked well and touring the Fuimare d'arte was well worthwhile and you have to give credit for the ambition of the project in general.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimoneMartino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear customer,
thanks a lot for your comment. It’s very important for us understand our customer needs and typology. However, let me just say something: We would like our customers choose the Museum-hotel Atelier sul Mare because they appreciate being immersed in contemporary art, amazing landscapes and a spiritual journey through art. You right, the flooding shower is part of the art room concept (spring rain), and probably you have not been paying attention. I’m sorry to contradict you, but € 160.00 for two people in an art room, including breakfast, beach umbrella and chairs, visit of the art rooms and art expositions is not at all expensive. Apart these little drawbacks, I would be happy to see you again at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare, and have a better experience of art.

My best regards

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

...."I want to be excited"...This is one of the things you will read once you arrive in this little but wonderful hotel. And your visit will be full of surprises. You will have the occasion to visit all the different rooms designed by several artists, each one with different colours, materials and carachteristics. Each one reflecting the way every artist see the life and the nature. You will enjoy a unique view on the sea. The people who work there will be happy and proud to tell you the story of this place with courtesy and smile. The chef will offer you a very good and geniune food (the cuisine is excellent). And please, don't lose the occasion to visit the other art installation in the proximities (the ladies in the reception will indicate you), especially the piramid on the hill at the sunset. Thank to Antonio Presti for creating and manteining this, and for all the emotions given to the visitors.

Room tip: All design rooms are special
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabiogioooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your nice and lovely words! I'll forward your compliments to my staff, they'll be very happy and motivated when read comments like yours. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you at our Museum Atelier sul Mare. Your comment is very important to us to constantly improve ourselves. Please come back in the future!

Kind regards,

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This was very nice experience. Something that happens not everyday :) I would like to come back one day for sure. Thank You for sharing with us Your art so closely. Maybe for longer stay I would choose standart room ( they are decorated also very nicely ), but for one night.. is perfect to get the feeling of something that is out of the box ( we stayed in the Salt room)..

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear, guest,
thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. You have totally understood the feeling that our rooms give to our guests: the unforgettable experience of sleeping inside art, providing to the guest a unique and powerful experience. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare.
Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fondazione Fiumara d'Arte/Museum-Hotel Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, and were given the painter's room. My partner and i love arts. We think this is an excellent idea to rooms with different themes. The whole area is so peaceful. There are restaurants not far away from the hotel. The breakfast is average. There is lots parking space here. (free charge)

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suli_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonio P, Manager at Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very glad that you have had a comfortable stay at Hotel-museum Atelier sul Mare. It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback. Thank you also for your comments about the hotel location. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Hotel-museum Atelier sul Mare. Kind regards.

Gianfranco Molino
Art Director
Fiumara d'Arte Foundation/Hotel-Museum Atelier sul Mare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews