We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Portofelice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Camping Village Portofelice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2012

First time ever to write a review but I was so impressed with Portofelice, I felt it warranted a review. We normally travel to France and stay with Pierre & Vacances. This year, we decided to try something different and chose Portofelice, having had a look around their website and the other reviews here. It is far cheaper to book direct with Portofelice and we flew from Dublin with Ryanair to Treviso.

Portofelice is appox. 50kms from Treviso airport. You can either travel by Taxi or Coach to Portofelice Camping Villiage (bus stop is right outide the resort), if you are going by taxi make sure to book it through Portofelice reception as they will give you 30% discount, (we took a taxi on the way back for two adults and two children it was €74 with the discount). The coach is run by ATVO, there is a ticket office in the arrivals lounge, it's about €8 one way per person, the journey takes about an hour with one change, everyone speaks English and are really helpful.

The resort itself is lovely well shaded and spotlessly clean. The staff are so welcoming and friendly and the animation team are wonderful, if you have young children they are going to love it here. There are very few Irish, mainly Dutch, German, Swiss and Italian, but all the Mini club staff speak English and other languages fluently so there so language barrier. There is lots to do and you can participate in as much or a little as you want, there is no pressure to participate.

There are four pools along with two hydro therapy pools and there are always three life guards on duty. You can hire sun loungers for three days or by the week but there are lots of decking areas around to lay down and enjoy the sun too. The beach is very close through a pine forest and stays open during siesta time (1-3pm), again there are sun loungers for hire if you want, there are spotless toilets, showers, first aid and there are life guards there too. Further up the beach there are snack bars etc.

The shop is very well equipped with a great deli bar and fresh bread daily. There is also a good selection of camping gear, swimming togs, googles, clothes, toys etc so don't worry if you have forgotten anything, the shop is sure to have it.

The Restarant is very good with the usual fare of pasta and pizza all reasonably priced, I recommend you book a table. The ice creams are delicious and the staff are really friendly and helpful. Three is also a take away facility available.

The evening's entertainment is lots of fun with the amazing animation team putting on different shows each evening, the highlight for our girls was the kids dance every evening from 8:30 to 9:30pm when they got to particpate in different dances. I can't speak highly enough of the animation team, they work so hard, from 8:30 in the morning until after 11:00pm at night and are always so friendly and helpful.

I chose the "no problem Formula" when I booked (check out their website) €140. This meant that I didn't have to bring sheets, pillow cases, towels, beach towels etc with me. You also get Olive oil, wahing up liquid, tokens for washing machine and free wifi etc, they also do the final cleaning of the accomodation and given that our return flight was early in the morning it's well worth it.

The only downside and this has nothing to do with Portofelice is as everyone has mentioned the Mosquitos, there are fierce and are around all day but are ferocious at night. Portofelice do everything they can, the shop is really well stocked with repellants, creams and candles, the accomodation has screens on the windows and they have those electric ultraviolet zapper lights under each street lamp in the resort. The area is surrounded by marsh land which is why there are so many and the locals call them "tiger mosquitos". Just be prepared bring an antihistamine with you and some hydracortisone cream too if you can, use lots of citronella candles, use the usual spay or gels, anything the the ingredient Deet at 50% is the best.

We had a fantastic relaxing holiday and even got a trip to Venice in too. I will definately be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jamirogr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We just got back from a week at Portofelice (27th July - 3rd Aug) with our two kids, aged 7 and 11. This was our first camping village experience and we were treating it as a bit of an experiment to see if it suited us. All in all, I'd have to say it's probably not for us but that's more because it's just not out cup of tea, rather than anything particularly bad about Portofelice.

As other reviewers have said, the site is well equipped and the staff are helpful. The shop and the restaurant are both good and competitively priced. The pools are all good, if a bit limited for older children and the beach is great. We stayed in one of bungalows which was clean and reasonably equipped. We missed a few things, like no proper oven (there's a hob and a microwave though), no obvious way to light the hob (not a big deal - had to go buy some matches) and no oven gloves (beach towel pressed into service for hot pans) but nothing major. We had to hire towels and bed sheets which they didn't remind us about when we checked in so we spent a while trying to find them before realising and heading back to reception to pick some up.

For us, the organised entertainment started to grate after a day or two - my son loved the little race cars and boats and spent a lot of time on those but the thumping drum 'n' bass coming from either the pool area (aquarobics etc) or the kids evening singalongs seemed to pretty much go on from 11am to 11pm (apart from the 'silent time' from 1-3pm) and it did start to annoy us. Our bungalow was right next to the pool area so we may have noticed it more than others. Plus there were quite a few noisy tweens doing their thing just outside our bungalow until knocking on for midnight most nights. I don't want to be overly negative on this as I guess you need to expect this kind of thing in a holiday village. But when the reps started to pursue us into the ocean with megaphones, trying to get us rounded up to do aquarobics in the sea, we reckoned we had had enough of the organised entertainment.

The other big issue was what we ended up referring to as the 'nuclear mosquitos'. They really were fierce. I counted over 80 bites just on me when we got back. They seemed to thrive on insect repellant and insecticide. Every couple of days a big truck would rumble through the camp, showering us all with insecticide but still they seemed to be undeterred. I think the mossies alone would make us think twice before going back to this area.

So all in all, I think Porpofelice is great if you like that sort of thing and you don't mind the nuclear mosquitos. We had a nice enough time there but we probably won't be heading back any time soon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Just back from two weeks in Portofelice. We went with our two children, aged 15 and 11, and another family. We all had a great time, the campsite is extremely well run and has some of the best facilities I have seen.

The shop is, without a doubt, the best on site shop I have seen, reasonable prices, a fantastic deli, loads of fruit as you wood expect, fresh bread every day, wine on tap, €1.00 for a Litre bottle, €1.90 for a refill, not that that matters of course ! Oh yea, three reds and three whites.

Pool is simple enough, a couple of slides for younger people, a big 1.4m deep pool and then two smaller pools, our children lived there when they were not at the beach, it does close for a siesta at 1pm to 3pm but by the time you have had a relaxing lunch it's open again and failing that head for the beach. It is well monitored but not over monitored, assuming you are not being a nuisance a bit of ball playing is not frowned on and again there is not an instant whistle if you disobey the no diving rule but keep doing it and you will be politely told to stop.

The beach is a good ten minute walk depending on where you are in the camp site but its worth the walk, shallow with a very gradual gradient. lifeguard monitored, little or no shell line. You can rent a couple of beds and an umbrella but when an umbrella in the shop costs €8.90 why bother.

The on site restaurant is again excellent, there are of course better restaurants in the area, but for value, convenience and the very friendly staff it is great.

In general the staff on the campsite are excellent, friendly and very helpful. It is a very quiet campsite late at night, they come around and tell you if you are being a little noisy, but it's great no loud teenagers partying as we have had in France.

Finally we stayed with Campus whose reps, Lloyd and Carol, were brilliant, and their caravans, while a bit further from the soccer pitchs then our boys would have liked, are also well away from the entrance and the pool and entertainment area.

Any negatives, well the mosquitoes, though the camp does go to a lot of trouble to keep them down and I'm afraid in this part of Italy at this time of the year it always a problem. At least the campus caravans are air conditioned so towards the end of the day close everything and have a fun mosquito killing session before bed every evening and its fine.

I would definately recommend this site to anybody.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wyon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We have stayed for 1 week in Portofelice, having booked a Villa (#33). We have been very satisfied with the services provided. Food in the restaurant was just great value for price and restaurant staff was very friendly & helpful. All in all, having a 2 year old daughter, I fully can recommend this resort and we will definitely be back, if our vacation brings us again into this area.
Only comment for the management would be to increase WIFI signal strength in many areas of the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KuehrS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We got home yesterday from our first ever "camping" holiday. We went to Portofelice booked through Canvas (great last minute deal) staying in one of their Classic mobile homes. We were so impressed with our experience we will definitely consider going back. I travelled with my husband and my 4 year old daughter.

We flew to Treviso via Ryanair and Portofelice was about 40 mins drive away.

The other guests on the site comprised mainly Italians with Germans, Austrians, French and a few Irish. I don't think that we met any other Brits. This might change during school holidays though. English was spoken by the majority of campsite staff which was handy given our pretty non existent Italian. We did try tho!

Booking in was easy. We were taken to the Canvas reception by the campsite staff where we were met by our reps. The Canvas reps Tommy and Sue, were really helpful and very available. It felt like nothing was too much trouble for them. Because of our late booking we hired linen directly from the campsite which was reasonable enough but had to pay a 100 euro deposit in cash.

The static accommodation on the site was mainly owned by Portofelice with Canvas, Roan and a few other companies having smallish areas. I would say in our class of accommodation Canvas probably had the largest mobiles and definitely the best laid out. They weren't as close to each other as some. We stayed in a Classic 2 bed which was plenty big enough for the three of us.

The site is described as large but is tastefully laid out with lots of trees and pretty landscaping. There was a great pool complex with space for proper swimming as well as all the necessary features for small children. We ate at the restaurant on a few occasions; the food was nice and good value. Obviously good coffee and ice cream. The on site supermarket wasn't too expensive either and we shopped there. There is also a really well provisioned shop for children’s beach stuff etc.

It took us about 7 minutes to walk to the lovely sandy beach through the pine forest. Idyllic! There are two sides to the beach, serviced with sun loungers and the other side where most of us pitched our towels, buckets and spades. There is a gradual slope into the sea so quite safe for paddling. I had a swim which was warm despite the weather not being great.

There is a very large children's adventure playground, tennis courts, ping pong tables, football areas (5 a side I think), an outdoor church, children's club building etc.

It is an easy walk through the pine forest to Eraclea Mare, the local village, touristy but still very "Italian". We had a nice meal there.

There were plenty of activities for those interested - I only took part in Yoga but there was beach volley ball, aqua aerobics etc etc.

The one thing that really stood out for me was the level of service we experienced. It was exceptional - nothing was too much trouble for the staff throughout the site.
I was particularly impressed by the "reps” they looked after the children’s activities, sports activities and put on the evening shows. The kid’s club reps were very welcoming to my daughter (Marianna and Claudia) - the only English speaking child, not sure how much Italian she picked up but the older children enjoyed practising their English with her. The evening entertainment was basic but great family fun and at times quite hilarious.

Sadly the weather wasn't great but this motivated us to get good use out of our hire car. We visited Venice for an afternoon - stunning. We also spent a rainy day at a Zoo. Caorle was delightful and well worth a visit to the older part.

All in all one of my best holidays and I would certainly go back. Apparently they are planning improvements to the site - new restaurant for 2010. I would highly recommend this if you are really looking for a family holiday away from the usual tourist places.

One warning though - the mosquitoes are fierce and I reacted badly to their bites. Don't underestimate them and take repellent, antihistamine and nets.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AllisonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Ernesto012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: als camper würde ich den eden bereich wegen seiner nähe zu schwimmbad und kinderwaschhaus bevorzugen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaosmaker0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eraclea Mare
2.5 mi away
Centro Vacanze Pra delle Torri
0.8 mi away
Eraclea Palace Hotel
Eraclea Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Eraclea Mare
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#4 of 9 in Eraclea Mare
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Hotel Pineta - Family Relax Resort
1.6 mi away
Villaggio San Francesco
Villaggio San Francesco
#18 of 65 in Caorle
591 reviews
11.9 mi away
Europa Camping Village
Europa Camping Village
#4 of 42 in Cavallino-Treporti
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Village Portofelice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Village Portofelice

Address: Viale Dei Fiori 15, 30020 Eraclea Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Eraclea Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Eraclea Mare
Price Range: £75 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Village Portofelice 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portofelice, a peaceful oasis in the midst of green vegetation beside the Adriatic Sea and not far from Venice. Portofelice is the ideal setting for a revitalizing holiday in direct contact with nature and the well-known pinewood of Eraclea Mare. Portofelice is a well-organized Camping-Village offering countless opportunities for amusement and sport to ensure a relaxing stay that does not just include sun and sea, thanks to the comfort and the pleasure of our modern accommodations! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Camping Village Portofelice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camping Portofelice Hotel Eraclea Mare
Camping Village Portofelice Eraclea Mare, Italy - Province Of Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing