We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful views- very hospitable hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
The house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house
The house LIving room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The house
The house
LIving room
living room
living room
kitchen
bedroom
bedroom
second bedroom
bathroom
bathtoom
courtyard
landscape Etna
green meadow
green meadow
pool with views of Mount Etna
pool
green meadow
mountain Serra
mountain Serra
vineyard
Vineyard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Viagrande, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
hank610
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nicely situated with view on the Etna. Wifi poor. Lack of heating and warm water.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Owner speaks only Italian, his son who we saw only on arrival can speak a little English.
Furnitured with old benches.
Wifi is hardly working.
The heating and warm water facilities run only from 19.00 till 20.00 hours. When we asked the son if the heating could go on, he replied that it was not cold. On the operation panel there is a paper which says do not touch. If you remove it and try the panel yourself it is possible to get some heating in the rooms on chilly evenings and some warm water for a shower, but in my opinion this should be included in the normal rental agreement.

눇Nicely situated with view on the Etna.
Nice garden, however also inhabited by a snake of half a meter which made it less relaxing to sit in the garden.
Swimming pool available, but you have to remove the dead insects yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the garden
Liked least: Wifi is hardly working. Heating and warm water supply is poorly provided by the owner.
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
We were really amazed by the contents and the general tone of this review.This because, for many years, except in one case, our holiday home was always praised by our guests. We love to take care of them, and we usually do everything to make them feel at ease and let them spend a pleasant holiday.
For this reason, we appreciate any reports that enable us to further improve the hospitality.
However, we think this review is full of inaccuracies and written for the only purpose of discredit our structure.
First of all when guests have asked us to have the heaters turned on, they were immediatly satisfied. If, as they actually said, they had not tampered with the boiler touching a dial where there was clearly written they would not touch, they would have had active heating, and of course hot water available 24 hours a day.
We wonder for what strange reason guests did not report to us the malfunctions as they had been told clearly that if they were not yet satisfied of the temperature they could easily notify us, given that we live into the next house. And what is more, the second day of their stay they told us that everything was good. In fact, only after their leaving we found that the boiler had gone in stall.
As for the swimming pool, our holiday home is located in the Sicilian countryside, for this reason you can find a few bugs in the pool although it is cleaned every day.
The presence of snakes in the grass there has never been reported. But finding us in the country we can not exclude that customers have spotted a small harmless grass snake (very rare, and really harmless).
We fly over on the "old benches", and specify that it is a rustic country house and all the fornitures of the house are visible in the photos on the website that customers use to make the reservation.
Taking everything into account, we are still sorry if customers are not happy and that there has been some misunderstanding.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruwylengh...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful views- very hospitable hosts”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My husband had booked us to stay here and I hadn't seen any reviews or pictures. It was such a nice surprise. The place is lovely. Gorgeous views of Mount Etna and surrounding countryside, vine yards, cacti and trees. The house is very spacious and could easily sleep 6 (if not more) . As soon as I got there I was planning my return with more people. the place is very good value for money and has bucket loads of character.

The family were amazing and incredibly helpful. In knowing we had no transport Maria and Claudio came and picked us up from the bus station. They made suggestions on where to eat , good places to shop as well as get souvenirs, also suggested good places to go and see. They went out of their way by sorting us out with bikes for the two days we were there.

Cannot thank all the family enough for making our stay so special. Now we just need to figure out when we are coming back!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: no air con or fan
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetf57
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Immaculate, peaceful hidden gem”
Reviewed 21 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Located within reasonable driving distance to etna and the coast this beautiful bungalow/cottage is immaculate and comfortable. The terrace and garden with views of etna are stunning. Beds are very comfortable and the hosts welcoming and warm, whilst in the grounds of their vineyard you are very much left to your privacy. Would highly recommend if you want to come to etna. We played snowballs on Etna in 30 degrees sunshine! Great for self catering, we found it challenging to easily find somewhere to eat on a Monday evening...large supermarket within ten minutes drive. Tea, herbs olive oil and a welcoming bottle of wine available on our arrival..plus milk in fridge..very caring

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness and beauty of the garden
Liked least: The neighbourhood
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2015
Thank you for your feedback and for the accurate description of the holiday House. It was a pleasure to meet you. We are glad that you enjoyed our services. We wish to welcome you soon!
Gae and Maria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elix7
Half Moon Bay, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Etna Views!”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a very pleasant stay here in April. The front terrace IS as idyllic as it looks in the pictures. Although we didn't require any help, the owners gave us a phone number and kept in contact through email in case we needed anything. They were very welcoming - even leaving a bottle of homemade wine and a delicious orange cake for the stay!

The house is well-equipped. They have an drip-style coffee maker as well as a moka and an electric kettle. We used the kitchen a few times over the course of the week and the washing machine as well. It was a bit too cold for the pool when we visited, but I imagine it's wonderful during summer.

The drawbacks are the same as I have found anywhere else in rural Sicily, but I should at least mention them. There is a gate you must lock/unlock when you leave. There were a lot of dogs barking at night. (I didn't mind the dogs because I had ear plugs. I'll also say that the few times I saw dogs on the road at night, they were not at all aggressive or unfriendly.) There is also a very active bird population by the house. Until this trip, I didn't realize how much cuckoo birds actually sound like cuckoo clocks!

This is a great house for relaxing or seeing east Sicily. In the immediate area, there are Etna towns, Catania, and the Riviera dei Ciclopi. Within an hour, you can visit Taormina and Siracusa. Sicilian food and wine are excellent, and Viagrande is just far away enough for the biggest tourist centers than you can avoid other tourists if that's your thing. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
octoppusi
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
“Lovely house in a beautiful garden/park/vineyard”
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We just returned after spending one week in Sicily in this lovely house. We had fantastic weather with 28/29 degrees C and this in the middle of October!
We were so lucky that we found this hidden gem. Already before our Holiday, we have been mailing with the owners and they replied quickly and friendly on all our questions.
The house is set in an ancient vineyard: the wine making seems to have a long tradition in this Family.
There is plenty of space in the property and the holiday house is located in a garden/park on the top of the vineyard. You have your own private terrace/garden and the main garden is also there for you. From the garden you have a fantastic view on the Etna, the surrounding and the coast.

It is really amazing to watch the sun rise from here or in the evening when the last ray of sunlight is painting the Etna in red...

In the garden there is also a swimming pool: you can swim and look at the Etna!

The house is very comfortable, clean, perfectly equipped and just very cosy. There is a huge living room and kitchen in the same room with a big window facing the private terrace. The kitchen is equipped with everything you might need for cooking and enjoying your Food.

There are two bathrooms, of course equipped with towels, hair dryer, but also liquid soap, shampoo, and even washing powder for the washing machine (which was located in the smaller bathroom).

Two bedrooms: one with double bed, the other with two Singles. Plenty of space for your wardrobe.

The only troublemakers were some Miskito in the evening, but we had them also at the beach after sundown. So this seems to be normal in October. The good thing: in the house you have different kind of anti -moskito things (spray, something for the plug socket, candles).

We were also lucky enough to try the wine from the vineyard and it is just delicious.

The Hosts: Gae and Michele are very nice, warm-hearted and welcoming people. We were very lucky that we shortly also met the (almost) whole Family: Maria & Claudio with their kids and Andrea.

We came as guests and we felt like we are leaving as friends.

Dear Gea and Michele: many thanks for your kindness and hospitality!

Hopefully we can come back one day! Agni & Martin

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieNarm...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peace and Tranquility. A perfect end to our holiday.”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our month long holiday in Italy and loved everything about the house and its location. The house is set in the grounds of a family run vineyard and is tucked away and very private. We were met by Maria who showed us around and left us with a lovely bottle of red wine from their own grapes. Lots of thought has gone into decorating the house and the result is welcoming and friendly. A real home away from home. It was clean and comfortable and well equipped with everything we needed. The bathrooms are clean and modern, one with a washing machine. The bedrooms are roomy and the beds comfortable. We cooked a roast in the oven on our first night in the kitchen which overlooks the lounge dining area. The kitchen had everything we needed, including a kettle.
The view from the large picture window looks past the patio to some beautiful old trees and some vines. The patio was a perfect spot to sit after a busy day, the only sounds being the bird life around the house. There is also wifi in the house.
There is also a wonderful green lawn shaded by big old trees with an amazing view to Mt Etna. Next to this is a nice swimming pool perfect for a dip after a days sightseeing.
One day we drove up to Mt Etna. A fascinating drive up through the changing vegetation to the top. We walked around the smaller crater,(take a coat!) and the views as the mist cleared were stunning.
We also travelled down to the coast and explored some of the smaller towns where we found a great seafood restaurant right on the water. There were so many other places to visit , such as Taormina, but we will have to do that next time.
Gae came to see if we had everything we needed. She speaks English well and we enjoyed chatting to her. Gae and her family were so welcoming and friendly and on our last day Maria and her husband brought us some home made sorbet made from mulberries from their own trees.
We would definitely recommend this house as a perfect base to explore this fascinating area and would love to come back one day to enjoy hospitality of this welcoming family.
Thankyou Gae, Maria and family for making our last days in Italy so peaceful and relaxing in your lovely home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, location, comfort, hospitality,
Liked least: That we didn't stay longer.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanaGeor...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spacious house set in a superb location with amazing views of Etna and the surrounding countryside.”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our party of four, myself, my husband & two sisters arrived on Sunday 3rd August to a warm welcome from Maria, Michele & Gae. Thank you for the wine & delicious cakes! The house was larger than we expected, very comfortably furnished with two bathrooms (one with a washing machine), large dining table & well equipped kitchen. There were plenty of towels & constant hot water for showers etc. In fact everything required for a relaxing holiday. The only thing missing was aircon in the bedrooms for the hot Sicilian nights, although you probably wouldn't need it for most of the year. The house is set in beautiful grounds, with natural shade from trees and a large terrace with views of the surrounding vineyards, countryside & Mount Etna. The good sized pool was clean & refreshing, great for cooling off. The small but bustling town of Viagrande is a five minute drive away, with supermarkets, a great deli with amazing meats & cheeses, an ice cream & cake shop & a couple of restaurants. Ten minutes to the large food stores & shopping mall. Viagrande is a good base, away from the touristy towns, but with easy access, the coast half an hour away, the cable cars half an hour, St Alfio's lava flows half an hour, the town of Zaferana half an hour, beautiful Taormina an hour & the temples of Agrigento two & a half hours (the last two autostrada almost all the way). So if you want to immerse yourself in the real Sicilian culture and countryside, this is the place to come. Thanks for a great stay, we'll be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday experience, peaceful location, lovely comfortable house & homemade cakes!
Liked least: Sicilan/Italian road signs, they don't have many, but you soon get the hang of it!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for the accurate description of the holiday House. It was a pleasure to meet you. We are glad that you enjoyed our services. We wish to welcome you soon!
Gae
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing