We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Italy at its best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sant'Angelo in Vado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Tavola Marche Agriturismo & Cooking School
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Italy at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

My husband and I spent three days here in October and feel it was the highlight of our trip to Italy. We felt really comfortable at Ca' Camone and really admire what Ashley and Jason are doing. They have made amazing connections with their neighbors and are learning many of the "old ways" of doing things-from cooking to gardening- to preserve the knowledge. This is a chance to experience Italy far from the crowds and learn about the country culture and its people. Everything was top notch and we had one of the best meals ever at little Osteria Cucco in Urbania based on their recommendation. (It didn't hurt that it was truffle season!) The cooking class to learn about wood fired pizzas has my husband yearning to build us a wood fired oven of our own. The mushroom hunt was also inspiring. We are hoping we'll be able to return at some time in the near future. This may not be the place for people that like crowds and the next new thing, but for us it was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wascall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
58
101
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pacific northwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

Where do I begin??? The food the wine the hosts the countryside...it all exceeded my expectations. We travelled with some friends through Italy and our stay here was the best part of the 2 weeks. The reception we got after being in the car for several hours??Beautiful Ashley with a jug of wine, some snacks and an incredible view of the countryside. I think it is safe to assume that one of the big reasons people travel to Italy is for the food. Jason outdid himself with both meals he prepared for us. My husband and I took the cooking class and since I am a chef I was curious to learn about cucina povera. It was some of the best food I have ever had and yet it was so simple. It was also fun to talk to a couple of ex-pats to see what their experiences have been living abroad. All this and very reasonable in cost. I hope to take my whole family there for a week someday soon. Thank you Jason and Ashley for the fabulous experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chefmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
157 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

We very much enjoyed our trip to the Le Marche area of Italy. It seemed like Tuscany without the crowds - an undiscovered gem. We spent a wonderful day with Chef Jason in his big stone kitchen cooking an incredible lunch. Jason is a terrific cook and his casual approach to Italian "slow cooking" is wonderful - and delicious! Even if you don't consider yourself a cook you'll have a fun time with Jason. We didn't get a chance to spend the night but had a tour of the rooms. They are tasteful, clean, comfy and quite large, especially the two BR, two BA units. Perfect for two couples or a family. (We're already making plans to go back) The off the beaten path farm oozes charm. What a great place to relax! Owners, Jason & Ashley, are so adorable you'll want to hug them. Ashley goes out of her way to make sure guests are comfortable and Jason feeds them fabulous farm-grown food. A day or two (or more) at La Tavola Marche Agriturismo & Cooking School will provide a memorable and unique experience during your next trip to Italy.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bud9845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We - a family of four with two sons ages 9 and 7 - planned our recent visit to Italy at the last minute. We wanted to visit Le Marche, where we had never been, and so turned to Trip Advisor for help. Based largely on the reviews here, we decided to book at La Tavola Marche. What a great choice! Because of our schedule, we could stay only for three days. How sad for us - next time we'll plan on at least a week if not longer, there is so much to see and do in the area.

As others have noted, this part of Le Marche has that undiscovered feel. Life is simple and quiet, the Marchigiani are very hospitable and friendly. The same is true at Ca'Camone, which is set in a lovely little spot in the valley along the Candigliano river (indeed, one of the locals in the nearby town of Piobbico noted that it was the most beautiful location around). Although we had intended to take some day trips, we ended up spending most of our time splashing by the pool, picking lunch from the garden, eating plums off the trees, and hiking around the mountains. We did venture into to Urbino one afternoon - a stunning town - but otherwise were content to just be.

We had dinner at LTM the night we arrived. I totally recommend you do this! What a feast. Course after course of simply prepared foods that emphasized local flavors - almost everything was grown or produced on or within a short distance of the property. House cured salame, prosciutto from the guy down the road, "carpaccio" of zucchini, seafood "lasagna" (which our kids devoured), and sauteed veal with parsley sauce.

We also took a pizza making class. This actually turned out to be the highlight of our vacation, especially for our sons, who still can't stop talking about how much fun they had. Jason is a fine teacher and he has a great touch with the kids (the class included an intermezzo of soccer on the lawn). The pizzas were delicious, as was the tiramisu (which our children also learned to make!). We also enjoyed meeting Ashley and Jason's neighbor friends, Il Dottore and his wife Rosanna, who joined us for dinner (thank goodness - we never could have finished all those pizzas without some help!).

Ashley and Jason are wonderful hosts. They are both sincerely warm and gracious, and the fact that they have created such a special place is truly inspiring.

What a great trip! We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We arrived at La Tavola Marche in time for lunch. From the moment we checked in Ashley and Jason Bartner (the owners) treated us with the warmth and generosity of family. Th property itself is a gorgeous stone house with a hugh kitchen (they were making homemade plum jam when we arrived); and dining room (try the 4 course dinner, fantastic and ask Ashley about the cherry and walnut liquors, all homemade); and each room is actually a full apartment with everything you could possible need, including windows that open upon the most incredible view of the Italian countryside. The beautiful pool and gardens (everything is grown fresh on property) are not to be missed. We planned to make day trips but ended up not leaving the property for 3 days, except to join Ashley and guests for a swim in the Adriatic and Jason on a short culinary shopping trip to the little village. My husband took Jason's cooking class and loved it - what a treat, Jason is an amazing chef. And Pizza night is not to be missed (Thursday night). We ate outside under the stars with the other guests and made new friends. My husband and I will definitely return to the Marche region of Italy (a hidden gem) and to La Tavola Marche, a real jewel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherieFaiella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2009

We learned about La Tavola Marche on-line, and relied on reviews just like this one. We had looked at their website, read their blog and emailed a bit with them in advance. It seemed like a great place but could be we be sure?

But let me assure you that all of the wonderful things in these reviews are true. The Jason and Ashley are wonderful hosts, the amenities are excellent, and the random visits by their neighbors and italian friends are great fun ("The Dr. will be by at 7:00am if anyone is interested in a mushroom hunt tomorrow"--read about one of their first hunts on their blog). We seriously didn't need any air conditioning, it was actually chilly in the evenings and the breeze kept us comfortable even mid-afternoon. A great relief after hot days in Venice and Rome.

My wife and I took a cooking class with Jason and he is a great teacher. We didn't just learn to follow a recipe, we could do that already. We learned the techniques to make great pasta and sauces. And we used all fresh ingredients straight from the garden. Our class actually inspired my wife to expand the size of our garden at home!

We also enjoyed a Thursday night Pizza Party. Great fun! (Also featured on a recent blog entry.)

Finally, our trip coincided with that of a great crowd from the Seattle area--some of Ashley's relatives. In no time we felt like part of the family!

Jason and Ashley, thanks for a great time! Keep up all the good work.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Golden_Gophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

We have just returned from La Tavola Marche and wish we were still there.
The location in the beautiful hills of the Marche is idyllic. Although you are in the peaceful countryside you are minutes from two lovely towns, Piobbico and Urbania. You are less than an hour from Urbino, a beautiful college town, the birthplace of Rafael, less than an hour from Sansepulcro, the birthplace of Piero della Francesca, and also less than an hour away from Fano, a lovely Adriatic beach town. There is much to see in this area, although you may want to stay your total vacation at the agriturismo, cooking school because there is much to do and enjoy there as well. The choices are many, all superb.
We have cooked a number of times in Italy at different locations, all so far good experiences. La Tavola Marche is up there with the best. Jason, the master chef , has cultivated the area for local dishes which are deliziosa. His knowledge and ability to teach makes learning easy and fun. From pizza in a wood fired brick oven (with many unusual toppings) to antipasti of varied ingredients (some of which I would consider gourmet) to delicious lesso, to dolci which were simple and great, I learned a great deal and also feasted on these wonderful dishes.
If you don't want to learn to cook these you can just order a four course Italian meal from Jason. The meal is better than any agriturismo we've stayed in and right up there with any of the restaurants we've sampled in Italy . (we've been to Italy 10 times in the last 10 years)
The agriturismo itself is beautiful. The rooms are really suites. Our room had 2 bedrooms, a large"great" room area with kitchenette, dining table, fireplace and sofa, and 2 bathrooms. All this for an incredibly reasonable price. You can make your own breakfast and any other meals or the hosts can make you the typical Italian breakfast of cappuccino or espresso and pastries, yogurt, cereal and fruit. The agriturismo is clean, spotless and beautiful.
All this is wonderful but what makes a vacation at La Tavola Marche exceptional are the hosts. Jason and Ashley Bartner are young Americans who have followed their dream in Italy. They have become part of their community and you can feel that as their neighbors and friends drop in to visit, help them, give then advice and just "schmooze". Most of their neighbors and friends do not speak English so Ashley and Jason have had to master Italian (which I think they have). The experience you get then is one of Italy. Ashley is an incredibly friendly, vivacious host. She wants you to enjoy your vacation and is willing to offer her advice on where to go and what to see. She'll answer all your questions and yet she will give you choices so you can decide what you want to enjoy. Jason is a wonderful chef and teacher and also is available to help you enjoy your vacation. The atmosphere these two have created is warm and friendly, very Italian.
For a great vacation, for cooking, eating, relaxing, enjoying the country, for visiting incredible art (Piero della Francesca Trail and Rafael), for visiting beautiful small towns , for visiting Adriatic beaches, it would be hard to beat La Tavola Marche.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Angelo in Vado
18.1 mi away
Urbino Resort - Tenuta Santi Giacomo e Filippo
6.4 mi away
Castello Della Pieve
Castello Della Pieve
#1 of 1 in Mercatello sul Metauro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Chiara
Hotel Santa Chiara
#4 of 8 in Sant'Angelo in Vado
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
B&B Corte Giordani
#1 of 3 in Sant'Angelo in Vado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Palazzo Santinelli
B&B Palazzo Santinelli
#3 of 8 in Sant'Angelo in Vado
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
4.1 mi away
B&B Piazza del Papa
B&B Piazza del Papa
#2 of 8 in Sant'Angelo in Vado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tavola Marche Agriturismo & Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tavola Marche Agriturismo & Cooking School

Property: La Tavola Marche Agriturismo & Cooking School
Address: Via Candigliano Vocabolo Cacamone 3, 61048 Sant'Angelo in Vado, Italy
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Pesaro and Urbino > Sant'Angelo in Vado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Angelo in Vado
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm, Inn & Cooking School just 15 minutes from the center of Urbino! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Tavola Marche Agriturismo & Cooking School Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing