We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Star Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very good value for Reykjavik. Definitely not a four star hotel but clean and comfortable. Conveniently located. Many tours pick up here. Wonderful views. Free wifi. Grocery store across the street. Fast food and local restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
2  Thank grvaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a lovely stay at our apartment just outside (5 minutes) of City Centre. The view we had was of The Pearl and Hallgrimskirkja. The room was very cozy and was big enough to accomodate 3 beds (our son was with us). It had a microwave and a stove and even the laundry room on the ground floor was easily accessible. We did laundry for free after learning how the European styled washers and dryers worked. We would stay here again as we were able to easily access the outskirts of the city as well as downtown. Shopping was also very closeby.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Martyb260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

You definitely will not be disappointed. Great location, clean and Alex was wonderful, went out of his way for you. Just minutes from City Center and walking distance to the grocery store. The apartment was just right for our family with great views as well. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Jennibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

These apartments are spacious, bright, with a well-equipped kitchenette. Everything is very clean and in excellent condition. 15-minute drive by car to the city center. Reliable Wi-Fi. Excellent value for Iceland. The manager is very friendly and helpful, but it might be tricky to locate him - there is no reception, but you may try your luck by knocking on an unmarked door by the entrance. Make sure to print the instructions for the room access, since the check-in is self-serve. If you book the apartments last minute for the same night, access might be tricky, as e-mail with instructions may not arrive right away. Solid option for a stay in Reykjavik - recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 10G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Compared to other lodging in Reykjavik, we got a bargain to stay at North Star apartments. It's been recently renovated and in pretty good shape. We were fortunate to run into the building manager when we arrived, who helped get us situated earlier than the posted check-in time. Good wifi, local TV service, and kitchenette. Hot water is a little sulphuric and you don't want to wear any silver jewelry when in contact with the hot water. If you want a concierge and someone to always be available, this place isn't for you. If you want a good deal for a apartment-style accommodations close to Reykjavik, look no further.

One downside is that it's about 5 km from the middle of town and the Flybus wouldn't let us get off here. I tried to get them to let us off at the Hamraborg bus stop, but no dice. We had to grab a taxi from the BSI terminal for 2500 ISK because weekend public bus service is rather disappointing in Reykjavik (next bus from BSI was a 4-hour wait!!) Rather than deal with the buses, we just walked to/from town while we stayed in town. The walk is nice around the bay inlet and through the park that surrounds Perlan. Would have been perfect to have bikes available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank switchflare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

good location, close to the very nice swimming pool and in walking (5km) distance from Reykjavik, fantastic view from the windows, balcony. All necessary equipment for cooking. Very clean. Hot water with a good pressure in bathroom. Powerful hair-drier. Temperature of radiators in a room you can adjust as you like. Very nice impression, thank you very much for Alexander who was assisting us with a lost luggage. Very-very good quality for the money paid!

Room Tip: Ask for room 406 - best view right from the bed)))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugenia_Danilikhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Milai_0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kopavogur hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
122 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
305 reviews
3.2 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Heidmork
Hotel Heidmork
#1 of 6 in Kopavogur
37 reviews
0.6 mi away
BB 44 Guesthouse
BB 44 Guesthouse
#4 of 6 in Kopavogur
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guesthouse Lily
Guesthouse Lily
#2 of 6 in Kopavogur
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Star Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Star Apartments

Address: Hamraborg 7, Kopavogur 200, Iceland (Formerly Merlin Hotel)
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: £65 - £390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Star Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse has 3 floors and a beautiful view. The rooms are big up to 4 persons in each room. Shower, toilets and a litle kitchen are in each room also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your North Star Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Star Apartments Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing