We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Lily name sounds soft, is this place very cosy”
Review of Guesthouse Lily

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse Lily
Ranked #2 of 6 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I chose Lily for my tourist. Place is clean, with sharing kitchen in Kopavogur just town next to Reykjavik. While most of tourists are organized with ren"r a car, there is not need to stay downtown Reykjavik and it is how Lily makes welcome to my tourists.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mercury G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Not close to downtown but a short drive if you come by a rental car. Close to the Perlan complex and has a supermarket near by. The staff was very helpful, the rooms were very clean and so were the bathrooms and showers. It wasn't a full house so no pressure on the showers at all. The breakfast was modest but fresh. Stayed for two nights, overall a very good experience. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MasterYoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My daughter and I stayed two nights in August here to avoid paying a much higher fee for a hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We were warmly greeted; felt "at home" throughout tyhe stay; our room was impeccably clean and comfortable. Special kudos of exceptional deference goes to the night manager on duty, Mr Pauli Rafn Eriksson (perhaps a distant descendant of Leif?). Great advice, company, life's stories of Coast Guard days, breakfast prep, etc all added to the ambience of our stay. The one thing that stands out is his taking me (unrequested) in his car several miles to get ice cream (his treat). I highly recommend Guesthouse Lily. Great view & close to downtown Reykjavik also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crosby R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband and I found Lily’s Guesthouse on the internet and chose it because it
was inexpensive and had facilities for wheelchair users .The room with shower accessed by just one step and another toilet and shower room in the hall equipped for
people with mobility problems,with a wide door and the shower edges lined with foam.Although there was no handle on the inside of the door, the owner promised to rectify this immediately.Likewise, in order to enter the hotel you needed to pass a step which was going to be improved according to the owner. The guesthouse has an automatic lift with a self-closing door. Lily and her assistant were very friendly and helped us with whatever we wanted them to do.We had a great time and have already decided to stay at the same guesthouse next time we visit Reykjavik.

Room Tip: They have only one room for people with wheelchair. Be sure to order at an early date to get this ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I spent three full days with Lilly at her guesthouse and we loved the experience. Lilly couldn't have been more helpful when we needed help and suggestions and actually drove us twice instead of letting us struggle around on our own. The guesthouse is located within easy walking distance of a major bus stop which will get you to downtown Reykjavik in no time flat and the breakfast meal was great and the use of kitchen area unrestricted. We were sorry to go when it was time to move on.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rarobbins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was in Reykjavik last week for 6 nights and as it is indeed high season in Iceland I had to stay in a guesthouse as opposed to a hotel which I'm much more used to for hotels were just too pricey. Well I was in for a very pleasant surprise !
The place was spotlessly clean, the room was large and airy, the shared bathrooms were never a problem as there is more than one. There is no breakfast lounge as such but one can help oneself to the kitchen fridge and toaster with freshly baked bread from the corner bakery and Lily herself is very flexible with the time- I'm indeed a late riser ! -
Furthermore Lily is a genuinely nice person who'd go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable and welcome by helping out with all your requests. She's a real " auntie" figure.
The guesthouse overlooks Kopavagur bay with its geothermal beach and just 1 mile from Reykjavik's domestic airport. Also the Flybus from Keflavik's int'l airport can drop you directly by the guesthouse.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luketrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed one night in July in a family room. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were confortable. Quiet environment. The breakfast was copious and good. Lily and Viktor are very kind and helpful, ready to help you and to give phone calls. If we had to go back to Reykjavik, we would go to Lily's without hesitation. Warmly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kopavogur hotels
3.3 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
305 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Heidmork
Hotel Heidmork
#1 of 6 in Kopavogur
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Star Apartments
North Star Apartments
#3 of 6 in Kopavogur
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
BB 44 Guesthouse
BB 44 Guesthouse
#4 of 6 in Kopavogur
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Lily? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Lily

Address: Nybylavegur 30, Kopavogur, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Lily 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lily Guesthouse is a modern family owned accommodation in Iceland. We offer friendly and personal atmosphere with modern, fresh, and spacious rooms all with wash-basins and comfortable beds. At our cheap guesthouse in Reykjavik Iceland we welcome both individual travelers and groups and aim to ensure a pleasant and rewarding stay, whether you plan to spend a romantic weekend, talk business or simply relax away from the busy routine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guesthouse Lily reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Lily Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing