We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kopavogur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 7 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We had a great stay at this guesthouse a few miles out of Reikjavik. The guesthouse is an independent house on a farm with 6 or so rooms, bathrooms on both floors and a fully equiped kitchen with basic food to help yourself from.
The facilities were in perfect and clean state, our room was quite spacious and the bed really comfortable.
The breakfast was .... royal...! The entire table was covered with various food, homemade smoked salmon, fruit, homemade jam, Icelandic specialties, different types of tea and delicious homemade crepes. I don't think I ever ate such delicious crepes ;-)
The owner and her family are really friendly and happy to have a chat and tell you all about Icelandic culture, the things to see and do, etc...
I first booked one night online and we ended coming back at the end of our trip.
Service is excellent and really good value for money especially close to the capital, also a perfect spot to observe the northern lights.
I would recommend this place to anyone travelling to Iceland.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

We had a short stay in Gunnarshólmi, and Jóna was an incredibly warm hostess, who took care of us and prepared an incredible breakfast and helped offering advice with our trip.

There is excelent WiFi coverage inside the rooms, and a PC free of use in a common area. Rooms are quiet, clean, bright and spacious, and it is just 10 minutes apart from Reykjavík city centre. Without any doubt we will come back!

Unbeatable rate value/price.

Room Tip: Room number 4 has a very convenient double plug just beside the table, to plug your laptop. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lironcareto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This is a lovely guesthouse just out of Reykjavik city. Such a nice place to relax and explore Reykjavik from. We stayed here for 8 days hoping to see the Northern Lights. Luckily we did, 3 nights in a row - they could be seen out the window of the guesthouse! We had the place to ourselves for most of the time except for a few people staying the odd night. Definitely worth the price - The guesthouse has everything you need... fully set up kitchen, washing machine and its toasty warm. You'd need to have a car to stay here but thats the best way to get around Iceland and see everything anyway. Would definitely recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelTime050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I've taken two extended trips to Iceland, and this is my favorite guesthouse. I stayed here for a number of nights in early November. The hostess is amazingly friendly. I saw her helping out other guests in a number of ways (she warned me about some extreme weather coming up, and she researched an outlet for this other guy to get a cheap 66 Degrees North jacket, then gave him a lift to the outlet!). If you want to stick to yourself, the guesthouse itself is a separate building from the main house, and comes with a fully equipped shared kitchen. I would strongly suggest getting the breakfast when you stay here - it is truly excellent. They also have really good wifi in the guest house, and I believe they offer Superjeep tours. There are two bathrooms in the guesthouse, both with showers, and there's laundry in the bottom bathroom. Be sure to note that this spot is outside Reykjavik, so you'll probably want a car if you're staying here - although hitchhikers didn't seem to have a problem getting around. This would be a great base camp for exploring Reykjavik, doing trips on the "golden loop", or hiking up to the hot springs at Hveragerði.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Great guesthouse! The owner's family was very hospitable, friendly and helpful. I traveled to Iceland for two weeks and Gunnarsholmi was the best guesthouse where I stayed. I agree with previous reviewes about pancakes, it is the best! ))

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fvya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed in this guesthouse for 3 nights at the beginning of October. As this was the winter season there were not many guests there. But this is a great place to stay in during any season :-)

The guesthouse is located just a little outside of Reykjavik. Unfortunately no buses run there in winter, but hitch-hiking into the city is no problem. Also the scenery around there is very enjoyable. The owners a very friendly. If there is anything you need just ask and they are happy to help or give you information.

My room was downstairs and rather big with a comfortable bed. Free Wi-Fi was available as well as a shared PC. I didn't have the breakfast there as I was on self-catering, but the common kitchen there offers all utensils needed including dish-washer, coffee machine and some free food. The same goes for the bathroom which has a free to use washing machine.

I would stay there again anytime and can recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

It is much better than to stay in the capital city,Reykjavík! lovely landscape,great hosting family and such a great place where to stay in the beging or in the end of the trip to Iceland :) never forget this accommodation :)..and a "house mother" does the best pancakes for breakfast..

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika000777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kopavogur hotels
3.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
315 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
130 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Heidmork
Hotel Heidmork
#1 of 7 in Kopavogur
41 reviews
7.1 mi away
North Star Apartments
North Star Apartments
#3 of 7 in Kopavogur
89 reviews
7.7 mi away
BB 44 Guesthouse
BB 44 Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Kopavogur
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse

Address: Gunnarsholmur, Kopavogur 203, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnarshólmi Guesthouse combines the privilege of the city and the peacefulness of the countryside, being only 15 km away from Reykjavík Centre. The guesthouse is a small family owned business located at Gunnarshólmi farm, which has been in the family since 1923. The guesthouse offers a fully equipped kitchen. Wireless internet access is available throughout the whole guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing