We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first impression of Iceland!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kopavogur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 7 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here our first 3 nights in Iceland and it couldn't have been a better choice for us. The owner, Jona Margret, was very friendly and welcoming and her breakfasts turned out to be the very best we had in all of Iceland. When she asked what we wanted to drink in the mornings, I asked about hot chocolate and every morning there was a thermal carafe ready for me with the yummiest hot chocolate I'd ever tasted. The guesthouse is approximately 15 minutes from Reykjavik, but we enjoyed being out in the country and having the opportunity to feed some of Jona's Icelandic horses. If we go back to Iceland some day (hopefully!), we'd certainly want to return to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D0UgB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in the guest house for 3 nights. It is very convenient, countryside but not too far from Reykjavík. We did not have a car, so took a cab twice from Reykjavík, paid 6000 ISK, what is reasonable. And was not a problem for the touristic attraction people to pick us up from there, so close it is. (horse riding and superjeep tour) And you can make some nice walk around.
The rooms are comfy, the bathroom is shared between 3 rooms, so it is ok. The breakfast is plenty and tasty. Also you can try to have fish for breakfast what is kind of exotic for me - being Hungarian. The pancakes are freshly cooked while you are eating breakfast.
Kitchen is equipped ok, and before you start to do some shopping for dinner, check if there is some leftover e.g. herbs etc. left from other travelers. Coffee and tea is for free.
Jona and the family is very helpful and friendly, and went the extra mile when it was needed.

Room Tip: If you are a bad sleeper as I am, go for a room in the back of the house, as the highroad is busy ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The out side of the place was not like its inside..the somewhat broken fence hid a very cosy guesthouse. Room was good, bed was great. Kitchen facillities, good free coffee. We somehow misunderstood that breakfast was a possibility. It seems that we missed!
It is a bit far from reikjavik, not a substitute to staying in town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dolil_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Very good place to stay. The owners are very familiar. We arrived at a day, at which a familiar member had birthday. The owner came to us with a piece of cake. It was very nice and we were surprised. In the morning we got an enormous breakfast with everything someone can wish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madlen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We spent a wonderful first couple of days in Iceland and got a warm welcome in a cute room with a terrific breakfast, especially the pancakes and homemade jams! There was a living room area upstairs by our room which was super cozy and wonderful for relaxing in after walking around Reykjavik city center. Jona was very kind and hospitable; we arrived at 2 am and she was was still extremely friendly. We also liked the horses and the availability of a kitchen. We paid about 105 euros per night, which is a little on the pricey side, but we thought it was well worth it for a great start to our vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank held80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Service was wonderful, rooms were basic but clean and nice. Kitchen is a bonus for anyone planning on staying for more than a night (which is all I did). The breakfast was great--quite the assortment of stuff, including home-made pancakes (crepes).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and were warm welcomed. We could choose the room we wanted to have for these four nights. The guesthouse is very clean, with comfortable beds.
The breakfast is outstanding, including all one could like to eat. We specially recommend the smoked salmon and the herring.
The owner is very kind, making all possible efforts to please the guests. We obtained very interesting tips for our trips.
We highly recommend this address.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in total darkness, plan to bring eye covers with you. In Iceland, they are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kopavogur hotels
3.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
313 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
125 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Heidmork
Hotel Heidmork
#1 of 7 in Kopavogur
40 reviews
7.1 mi away
North Star Apartments
North Star Apartments
#3 of 7 in Kopavogur
89 reviews
7.7 mi away
BB 44 Guesthouse
BB 44 Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Kopavogur
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse

Address: Gunnarsholmur, Kopavogur 203, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnarshólmi Guesthouse combines the privilege of the city and the peacefulness of the countryside, being only 15 km away from Reykjavík Centre. The guesthouse is a small family owned business located at Gunnarshólmi farm, which has been in the family since 1923. The guesthouse offers a fully equipped kitchen. Wireless internet access is available throughout the whole guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing