We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kopavogur
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 7 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I spent one night as I was traveling back to the airport the next day. Price and location are great. I had a one bedroom with a shared bathroom. Overall, the entire place is clean and cozy. Will come back and stay here again :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookiebeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 12 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed here with 2 adults and one child for 1 night beginning of August 2013. We shared one room.
The guesthouse is easy reachable by car and quite close to Reyk.
Jona is an excellent host. We hadn't enjoyed such a great breakfast in a guesthouse ever before! So many choices and great pancakes. The sleeping room and the bathroom were clean and cosy. There were fine paintings made by the host in every room. We didn´t use the kitchen, but it looked well-equipped.
There was 1 glitch: the documentation said that there was a hot tub, but it was broken.
We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were in Gunnarsholmi Ghesthouse last week for three days and we really enjoyed our stay.
We were lucky enough to have the entire house to ourselves and Jona let us pick whichever room we wanted. We stayed upstair near the living room. It was really nice, warm and so comfy, very comforting after long days trekking in the cold !
We had breakfast on the first day and it was amazing ! Jona made great effort to provide the best breakfast, I'm sure she was up early to prepare such a feast. she cooked pancakes, we had nice smoked salmon, herring, toast, ham, fruits, yogurt, everything and anything you like !
Perfect start of the day to go out in the cold.
Jona told us that one of her son does glacier tours as well which can be really interesting and handy if that's what you'd like to do !
Jona is so laid-back and friendly, she'll make your stay nice and easy !
I highly recommend this guesthouse.

Room Tip: Room number 5 was really lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agathe1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in late July for two nights, and found it charming, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, and Jona Margaret was a wonderful host. She was very understanding when we arrived late at night, and she was extremely helpful throughout our stay. The house is a great choice for those looking to stay near, but not in, Reykjavik. Having a rental car was helpful. But be sure to get a map (or GPS) from the airport, because the Google directions were incorrect. Bathrooms are shared, but clean, bright and convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

stayed here for 4 nights. the guesthouse is outside Reyk, about 15min drive, but in a strategic position for trips to the GC and the south. everything was clean. the kitchen is well equiped and we cooked some of our meals there. the owner is very friendly and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. i give 4 out of 5 because there isn't a choice of a double bed size, just single beds joined to each other. would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: better ask for a room on 1st floor, away from the kitchen on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noctua1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed here our first 3 nights in Iceland and it couldn't have been a better choice for us. The owner, Jona Margret, was very friendly and welcoming and her breakfasts turned out to be the very best we had in all of Iceland. When she asked what we wanted to drink in the mornings, I asked about hot chocolate and every morning there was a thermal carafe ready for me with the yummiest hot chocolate I'd ever tasted. The guesthouse is approximately 15 minutes from Reykjavik, but we enjoyed being out in the country and having the opportunity to feed some of Jona's Icelandic horses. If we go back to Iceland some day (hopefully!), we'd certainly want to return to this guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D0UgB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We stayed in the guest house for 3 nights. It is very convenient, countryside but not too far from Reykjavík. We did not have a car, so took a cab twice from Reykjavík, paid 6000 ISK, what is reasonable. And was not a problem for the touristic attraction people to pick us up from there, so close it is. (horse riding and superjeep tour) And you can make some nice walk around.
The rooms are comfy, the bathroom is shared between 3 rooms, so it is ok. The breakfast is plenty and tasty. Also you can try to have fish for breakfast what is kind of exotic for me - being Hungarian. The pancakes are freshly cooked while you are eating breakfast.
Kitchen is equipped ok, and before you start to do some shopping for dinner, check if there is some leftover e.g. herbs etc. left from other travelers. Coffee and tea is for free.
Jona and the family is very helpful and friendly, and went the extra mile when it was needed.

Room Tip: If you are a bad sleeper as I am, go for a room in the back of the house, as the highroad is busy ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanna60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kopavogur hotels
3.6 mi away
Kriunes Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
316 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Smari
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
130 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blue Mountain Apartments
Blue Mountain Apartments
#1 of 5 in Kopavogur
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Heidmork
Hotel Heidmork
#1 of 7 in Kopavogur
41 reviews
7.1 mi away
North Star Apartments
North Star Apartments
#3 of 7 in Kopavogur
89 reviews
7.7 mi away
BB 44 Guesthouse
BB 44 Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Kopavogur
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse

Address: Gunnarsholmur, Kopavogur 203, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gunnarshólmi Guesthouse combines the privilege of the city and the peacefulness of the countryside, being only 15 km away from Reykjavík Centre. The guesthouse is a small family owned business located at Gunnarshólmi farm, which has been in the family since 1923. The guesthouse offers a fully equipped kitchen. Wireless internet access is available throughout the whole guesthouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gunnarsholmi Guesthouse Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing