We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but incredibly friendly and very helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BB 44 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BB 44 Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 6 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Basic but incredibly friendly and very helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed at the Borgarholtsbraut location for one night at each end of a holiday.

The whole place has the feel of staying in someone's large home, and I mean that in a good way. The lady that runs BB44 could not be more delightful or helpful. She checked transport times for us, booked cabs, insisted we have a coffee when we got there. We really could not have felt more welcome.

The rooms were plain, but they were spotless and the beds were comfortable. The wifi worked just fine and was free. There was a hottub, but we never got to use it.

A word of warning. It's further from downtown than we realised. There are two bussed an hour that go from nearby, and cost 350 Kr (about £1.75), or you can take a cab for about 2,000 Kr (£10 ish).

Overall, for just a fraction more than staying at Kex hostel, you get your own room, albeit with shared facilities, in a very pleasant environment. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    23
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Be aware that BB44 has two properties. Most of the positive reviews refer to the original guest house. We arrived at the guest house (which looked ok) but were then asked to follow in the car on to the second property, also called BB44. This is a lock-up style building on an industrial estate. The location is terrible. The accommodation was very poor - showers were disgusting (I went to the swimming pool to shower), room was extremely basic, old and tatty throughout including carpets, rugs, bedding, mattresses and other 'facilities' such as in room fridge. This is NOT what we booked. We had spent a great week staying in the hostels up until now - they are of a much higher standard for a similar price and would recommend them. After initial greeting and paying in full, we didn't see anyone else including hosts for the remainder of the stay. This is pretty much of bunk house standard. Luckily Reykjavik is a lovely town by day and night, so we didn't have to spend much time here!

Room Tip: Somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 147JenniferH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the studio with a kitchenette. The studio was cute and clean, but it was rather dark and the tv was missing. The wifi was not working unless we sat, without mooving a bit, on the toilet seat (!).

The staff was extra nice, very helpful.

There is a grocery store nearby (5 minute walk), which is useful if you want to cook. The dining room (for the breakfast buffet) and the backyard are beautiful. The breakfast is very good although it was exactely the same as in 8 other hotels we went to.

The neighbourhood is very quiet, composed with beautiful big houses. It is a truly residential area. Altough we do not regret our stay at BB44, it was a little too quiet (and far from attractions) for our taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Electromelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

This place is so amazing! I have stayed here many times on my visits to Iceland. The first time was in February of 2005 and each time it just gets better and better. They are constantly adding new and better things to the property. It is run by a family and they are very kind and are constantly there for help. Sigga is the woman who owns the property and she has been so kind over our stays that she seems like a family member to us now. You will not be disappointed with BB44 if you decided to stay here. It is a 10 min drive from downtown and has a hot tub and they have breakfast and have even made nice meals for us when we asked for local food experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrbigpappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I spent 3 nights at this place, the owners are very helpful and friendly, good breakfasts. Outside of town in the district of Kopavogur but well connected with local buses into the city centre. There's a very good outdoor swimming pool very close by.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank pen_weekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We had a very happy two-night stay at BB44. The owners are very helpful and friendly, and they are absolutely dedicated to the comfort and happiness of their guests. The house and garden are crammed with things to give pleasure or interest, everything from books and leaflets to fish and rabbits to a water garden complete with a little wooden bridge. I understand there is soon to be a transparent dome out there for guests to sit in! Our room was just right, with a table and comfortable chairs, and the en-suite was neat and ingenious. Breakfast was plentiful and very cheery served out in the conservatory attached to the house. The street is quiet, and parking is no problem. Although not in central Reykjavik, it is an easy drive, and of course it is on the right side of town for Keflavik airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorsele, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

very nice rooms, quiet, lots of information, a perfect breakfast and very nice people - a place to come back

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank geertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,417 reviews
The Capital-Inn
#61 of 105 in Reykjavik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BB 44 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BB 44 Guesthouse

Property: BB 44 Guesthouse
Address: Borgarholtsbraut 44 | and Nybylavegur 16, Kopavogur 200, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — BB 44 Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB 44 Guesthosue is family run bed and breakfast located in quiet family house area.Established 1997.We offer single,double and family rooms,some rooms have ensuite bathroom,other shared kitchen and bathroom facilities.Cheap car rental on site,ask for our package deal.Day tour booking´s ,no extra fee.We offer personal service in relaxed atmosphere.Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your BB 44 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BB 44 Guesthouse Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing