We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful owners, a bit out of town”
Review of BB 44 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BB 44 Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Kopavogur B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We stayed for a couple of nights adn the owners couldn't have been more friendly. The rooms were small, but clean and the facilities were good. We hired a car thorugh them as well that worked out well.

The only downside is that the guesthouse is in a suburb a little bit out of town, and costs about $15 to get to from the centre. Its actually not that far, but taxis like everything in Iceland are expensive. The owners were ever so helpful about picking us up from the bus station and dropping us off, but so you might want to factor that into the cost of an evening out in town.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WanderHopefully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
There are newer reviews for BB 44 Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2008

My husband and I chose this location for our brief, 2 day, stay in Iceland so that we could not only save from the cost and hustle and bustle of downtown Reykjavik, but so that we could chat with the homeowners and get a little better feel of the country--it served all of these purposes well!!! We had a small WC in our room and then used a shared shower in a larger bathroom, which posed no problem at all with other guests; the room was quiet and very comfortable. Breakfast was great and the conversation was lovely, the owners are quite pleasant and know English (and other languages) well. I think one would definitely need a car to get to town or tour (unless you use the hotel tour options and airport transit), but many of the greatest sites in Iceland need a car regardless.
I would definitely recommend this location, it's really a great value!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank crnflake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2008

We spent 3 1/2 days in Iceland and can thank Sigga and Tolle for taking care of the all-important things- they had a 4x4 ready to rent, knew which tours would be ideal for us, gave us great directions, picked us up from the airport and even dropped us off at the bus station when she booked our Blue Lagoon tour. Everything was booked onsite the morning we arrived. Typical european private home bed and breakfast. We had a room w our own bath. Hairdryer. All very clean. Breakfast also typical euro style- meats, cheeses, yogurt, coffee. The bonus- HEATED floor in the windowed bright breakfast area which overlooks their well-kept adorable garden/backyard. We used the Jacuzzi- and tho the house was full, we felt like we had the place to ourselves. AND, will stay there again when going to Reykjavik. Bus station to city within walking distance. Located slightly outside of city proper- about 5 km. Ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ingrid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We stayed here in 2003 and had a fab time. It was cheaper than the youth hostel - there was a discount for our fourth night and they didn't charge us for our daughter.

The hosts were so helpful suggesting routes and lending us maps.
Our daughter built a snowman in the garden.

The shower (ours was ensuite) was scalding but soothing. The outdoor hot tub in the snow was an experience never to be forgotten.

We were given 3 cups with the website and a sketch of the guesthouse on them as a leaving present. We think of Iceland every time we have a coffee.

Stayed: March 2003
2  Thank Land-of-Nods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We ended up staying at the BB44 Guesthouse because our previously reserved accomodation was not available. The owner of the BB44 was wonderful. She picked us up from the BSI bus station. She also helped us find a hotel for the next night when she had no rooms available. The BB44 also does car rentals at reasonable prices. She rented us a vehicle and gave us recommendations for the best route to follow. The up stairs of the guesthouse has a breakfast room as well as a small den area with a TV. Internet access is available in the lobby for a small fee.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HappyTrails50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

Just returned from our stay at Guesthouse bb44 .
Loved our stay there .We were made most welcome.
Sigga booked all our trips. Which were teriffic .
She also picked us up from the bus station and
drove us to the guesthouse .
Cannot fault the service supplied and hopefully
return to Iceland in the near future.
Douglas and Lorna Baird

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DOUGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2007

When staying in a country with which you are not familiar, a person who knows the system and is willing to use her expertise to make your stay enjoyable, is the most important resource you can have. Sigga at BB44 was brilliant and made our stay truly memorable. Because she understood how the tours operated, she knew to call them when she saw us waiting hopefully by the roadside long past when we should have been picked up. She also waited up when we were late coming back from another excursion, and booked us in to a last minute trip to the Blue Lagoon. She did it all with grace and good cheer as well. Other hotels might have larger rooms, but the personality of BB44's decor and the lovely garden made the place homey and comfortable. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NorthSylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
Hotel Smari
#2 of 2 in Kopavogur
118 reviews
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
292 reviews
Norourey Hotel Reykjavik Road
#1 of 4 in Hafnarfjordur
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BB 44 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BB 44 Guesthouse

Address: Borgarholtsbraut 44 | and Nybylavegur 16, Kopavogur 200, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kopavogur
Price Range: £71 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — BB 44 Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BB 44 Guesthosue is family run bed and breakfast located in quiet family house area.Established 1997.We offer single,double and family rooms,some rooms have ensuite bathroom,other shared kitchen and bathroom facilities.Cheap car rental on site,ask for our package deal.Day tour booking´s ,no extra fee.We offer personal service in relaxed atmosphere.Free WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your BB 44 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BB 44 Guesthouse Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing