We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying if taking on tours only .”
Review of Hotel Smari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Smari
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth staying if taking on tours only .”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on long Weekend. Nice clean hotel. Shopping Mall nearby in the retail type estate.
Nothing much in the evenings to do here. The main city is far away and taxi rides not cheap. Staff very good and breakfast descent. Enjoyed the stay until the reception booked my bus ride to the Airport early. Waited long time just to be told that it was never done. It cost me a very expensive taxi ride and made it just in time. The lady taxi driver drove so fast as not to miss the flight back home. Annoyed me a lot. Not the way to end a real good trip to Iceland.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Abdul Gani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    46
    26
    5
    0
See reviews for
21
54
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Visited for holiday and staff v helpful . It's out of town so need to get a bus to City which is low cost and efficient or car needed . Coach trips are pricy but worth investment and will pick up from hotel. Breakfast is included and rooms comfortable but some traffic noise . A tip is to buy bus tickets from hotel Cost about one euro each way to centre.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorrilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

As tour operator in Iceland I organized working excursion based on welfare.
All 27 guest are been extremely satisfied with hotel and staff at all. Hotel is not Reykjavik city center but very suitable for all those traveling with rented car or picked up with bus.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndresZIvanovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I have stayed in this hotel for 5 nights in April. I would definitely recommend it to everyone who wants to explore Iceland and don't want to pay a fortune! It is basic but you have all you need if you are going there to explore the area (rather than stay in your room all day:)).The staff was really nice and helpful, gave me some good tips when I was going on day trips etc. The room (and the whole building) was really clean and it was cleaned on a daily basis no matter what time I left. The highlight for me was an amazing breakfast- great selection and really nice variety of food :) From freshly made eggs (real ones, not instant-powder mix!) to delicious fruit and pancakes! Iceland is a breathtaking place and if I ever go there again, I will be more than happy to stay in this hotel :) Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aggie789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goring
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We arrived after midnight and checked in , room was clean although not full of mod cons, it does have a tv but no hair dryer but we were lent one from the desk Staff were friendly and breakfast was ok to start the day you do get eggs cooked different ways most days.
There is a shopping mall over the road, quite big for the amount of people using it where there are eating places, do not go to TGI Fridays it is bad and I mean bad, there is a chinese next door that is very good called Mings or Pizza Hut in the mall and I repeat do not go to TGI Fridays
Good hotel but a bit out of it if your a town person

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

For Iceland standards this is very good! its not to far out from the city and a short walk to the bus stop and 1 direct bus is all it takes to reach Reykjavik. All the local excursions also pick you up from this hotel. The rooms are basic but good and very clean. Breakfast again is great everything you would need and some hot items. There are also a few places to eat next to the hotel including Chinese, Indian, Pizza etc & the tower restaurant is only a short walk away. If your looking to save £100's of pounds & have your own on-suite bathroom this is the place to stay. Will stay again if in the area. Brilliant thanks

Room Tip: all rooms very clean, also dont be worried as its not as far from the center as some reviews make ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitchisshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annajons86, Front Office Manager at Hotel Smari, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider us again if you manage to return to our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Was the hotel outstanding as a place I would choose to get away from it all? No, but as far as a great place to hang up my coat and leave my bags and relax after sightseeing, yes. The hotel was off the freeway..so this could be a problem in the summer with the windows open...but the location is great. It is near a shopping mall with a grocery store...the room is nice...and the breakfast is adequate with eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and waffles. Very accommodating and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the freeway if during the summer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twofidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annajons86, Front Office Manager at Hotel Smari, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and hope you will be able to return some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
282 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,049 reviews
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#40 of 52 in Reykjavik
526 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smari

Property: Hotel Smari
Address: Hlidasmari 13, Kopavogur 201, Iceland
Region: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smari 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Smari is a three star hotel in the great capital area, Kopavogur, with well furnished rooms for business and leisure travellers who are looking for a comfortable stay in Iceland. We have 47 rooms with private bathrooms, TV, hot water kettle, coffee/tea, hairdryer and free WIFI. Free parking on site. Included is a continental breakfast served all mornings. The hotel is located in a business area with many shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is ready to assist guests with booking of excursions, rental cars and other travel arrangements. From Hotel Smari to Reykjavik center is 10 minutes by car and 20 minutes by bus. Our guests have free parking and easy access for buses. Our staff can arrange pick-up and drop-off from Keflavik International Airport and Reykjavik Bus Terminal on request. The hotel is located in a business area only 300 meters from Smaralind, the largest shopping mall in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Smari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smari Iceland/Reykjavik - Kopavogur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing