We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little pub”
Review of The Trooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trooper Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stopped here while attending a local function, rooms were spacious and clean. Food in restaurant was excellent and breakfast was varied and well presented. The staff were friendly and accommodating, would visit again

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrooperInn, Owner at The Trooper Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    44
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
56
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed at The Trooper Inn to attend a family wedding and had a wonderful stay. Lovely rooms, comfortable beds and large bathroom. Tea & coffee facilities in the room and even a small jar of biscuits plus bottled water. The service was friendly and the food was fab. Try the Beef Wellington! Beautiful location and a very relaxed feeling. There is a little noise from the road during the summer when the windows are open, but nothing to prevent you from sleeping. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrooperInn, Owner at The Trooper Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. The Beef Wellington is now a fixture on the menu and proving really popular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

A lovely stay, warm welcome and pleasant room - the only things I would advise are very out of date (flickery) TV, slight noise from the road and a slightly dirty quilt cover.

The food was excellent and the service tremendous. Recommended for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moos3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrooperInn, Owner at The Trooper Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review and feedback. I'm really sorry to hear about the issues with your room - I've since arranged for my one team to re-check the rooms after servicing to pick-up on anything which needs dry-cleaning or fixing and have been upgrading the TV's room by room over the past couple of months. Thanks again for your feedback and I'm glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night and thought this place was great. Comfy, cost, clean and very relaxing. The decor was rather quirky which some might not like (though we did) and because it was so hot outside, the room was too- this meant that the room got noisy but it would be fine if you didn't need to open the windows. Also, the TV was very old but we eventually got it working. And no mobile signal, though wifi was easy, fast and free. Breakfast came included and was excellent, including homemade jam and marmelade and a cooked breakfast that was tasty without being greasy. We did have lunch there the day before; the menu was expensive but the food was nice, and they did knock us up sandwiches that weren't on the menu. A really homely, lovely place to stay; we are already planning to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smunkyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrooperInn, Owner at The Trooper Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you very much for your review and feedback. The hot weather this year did cause us some problems - we've since invested in some fans which will help in this regard next Summer. Sadly we are in a real mobile blackspot but am pleased that you found the Wifi useful. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a two night stay at the Trooper .
Accommodation.
We stayed in the Empshott room which was spotless and although it was over looking the road we had no problem with noise as the windows were double glazed. As we stayed there on the hottest weekend so far this year we did not find the room to be too hot or stuffy.
Staff.
The staff were very pleasant and accommodating and would go the extra mile to help you .
Food
Breakfast full English good quality sausage and bacon from local butchers. We had an evening meal again good quality local produce some may say its pricey but you do get what you pay for.
A little gem in the Hampshire countryside.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrooperInn, Owner at The Trooper Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburton, NZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

It's the second time I've stayed at the Trooper, the last time was ok, this time was pretty poor. I ate in the pub and had a chicken tagine which sounded promising. When it came it was some dry cous cous decanted into a tagine with a huge, dry chicken breast plonked on top with a tiny drizzle of sauce. Definitely not worth £15! The rooms are nice but my room was next to the road and was very noisy so had my windows closed, but then it just made the room incredibly hot. The bath hadn't been cleaned properly and there was the remains of someone's leg hairs in the bottom. I was on my own and I didn't find the staff particularly friendly. It's a shame because I come to Petersfield often on business and finding somewhere to stay/eat that's decent without being overpriced is quite difficult.

Room Tip: Don't choose the Ashford room, ask if you can have one away from the road and preferably not abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrooperInn, Owner at The Trooper Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you for feedback. I am so very sorry to hear that your stay at The Trooper was not enjoyable. The hot summer this year did cause some problems in the rooms and we have since purchased some fans. I am sorry that you found my team unfriendly - please accept my apologies on their behalf. I am also sorry that your meal was not up to our usual standard and have reinforced at our weekly staff meeting that my staff should check every table to ensure that each meal is as it should be. Once again I apologise that your experience at The Trooper was not as it should have been and hope that we have an opportunity to rectify that on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We turned up late as it was our wedding night, so we never saw anyone. But found out room with out any fuss. We found that the room was tastefully decorated and very clean. The bed was (as my now husband said ) the best his ever slepted in. We had everything there we needed. On waking in the morning the breakfast was lovely everything was locally made and to a very high standard. A very pleasant and comfortable stay and we will be going back for another stay for definate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennimadgwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheTrooperInn, Owner at The Trooper Inn, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Thank you so much for your review and kind comments. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froxfield
3.1 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
323 reviews
9.9 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#2 of 25 in Petersfield
53 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
74 reviews
5.9 mi away
Champneys Forest Mere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trooper Inn

Property: The Trooper Inn
Address: Alton Rd, Froxfield, Petersfield GU32 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield > Froxfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trooper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Trooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trooper Hotel Froxfield
The Trooper Inn Froxfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing