We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and brilliant quality”
Review of The Trooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Trooper Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been here a couple of times now and every time the quality of the food is unbeatable. The service is always friendly and they never forget a face which these days is hard to find.
One thing that I would recommend is the Lamb, it is the best lamb that I have tasted and cant recommend it enough.

It is ideal for couples although families visit to and are always warmly welcomed. Its an old fashioned look and feel to the place with wooden pillars and pictures about the place.

I have not stayed there as yet but I am sure in the future I will be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited the Trooper Inn last weekend. Rooms were pristine and beautifully fitted out. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. The food was good. We had 3 rooms and they were all good - far better than we had anticipated.

Room Tip: Any room - we had three and they were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Trooper Inn on 9th & 10th of May. I was taking part in a charity walk that started at Goodwood race course and The Trooper Inn is less than 30 minutes drive away.
Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished. The bathroom was large and modern with plenty of hot water. The bed was so comfortable with with crisp white bed linen and a good weight duvet. The beverages in the room were good quality. Everywhere is beautifully clean.
We ate at the Inn on both evenings and the food was absolutely gorgeous. I had beef wellington one evening and organic chicken breast with figs and saffron sauce on the second. My husband chose scampi and a sirloin steak which cut like butter. No need for a steak knife really. My husband enjoyed trying the local ales too.
Breakfast was also delicious with a good choice and quality food. Each table has it's own toaster so no need to queue and a fantastic idea!
Last but by no means least the owners/staff all made us feel welcome. They were knowledgable about the area and happy to help in any way they could.
Would definitely recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Although not far from home we stayed the night on Valentines Day so that we could enjoy a romantic evening without having to worry about driving home. A special package was on offer for a very reasonable price so we were pleasantly surprised by the warm and attractive room with a large and comfortable canopied bed.
The dinner was delicious, the atmosphere warm and friendly, and the staff welcoming and efficient. Breakfast was freshly cooked with local ingredients and large portions.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineandbBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The decor and ambience is just lovely - relaxed lighting, rustic, natural and interesting/quirky with a gentle jazz background soundtrack. The beer and wine is great and the food excellent - if you go, don't miss out on the shoulder of lamb!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Stayed here for work as situated close to Petersfield. At £55 a night b&b this was amazing value. Room clean and comfortable - huge bathroom - breakfast was wonderful (they have marmite and homemade jams!) - great, undisturbed night's sleep. I also ate Dinner here and the risotto was beautiful. Staff helpful and friendly. I often stay in the area for work and this is now one of my favourites - I will return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethandAlO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

My hubby & I stayed for one night only and will definitely be going back. Everyone from the bar staff to the waiters to propriotor was so welcoming. Our room was spotless and extremely comfortable. We ate dinner at the Inn and found the food first class. Breakfast was also fab. We were lucky enough to get talking to a local gentleman who entertained us with accounts of his life, the most interesting person we have been lucky enough to meet, thank you Ted.

Room Tip: Our room was at the top of the property and gave the most amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40thbirthdaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froxfield
3.1 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
348 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Old Thorns Golf & Country Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#3 of 3 in Midhurst
283 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Buriton
100 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Cricketers Inn
The Cricketers Inn
#23 of 25 in Petersfield
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trooper Inn

Address: Alton Rd, Froxfield, Petersfield GU32 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield > Froxfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Price Range: £84 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trooper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Trooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trooper Hotel Froxfield
The Trooper Inn Froxfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing