We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay!!”
Review of The Trooper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Trooper Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Everything was fab especially for my stay on business - however I would also take my partner here as a vacation stay!
Nice country hotel/pub with a great ambience of old charms and antiques; with classic characters dotted around everywhere!!
Bedrooms are not driectly above pub - more to side of pub on second floor and great view of a big garden area!! Also ensuring a good sleep! and V comfy/clean bedrooms!
Wifi in bedroom and restaurant area - and actually works brilliantly!!
Food in restaurant Delish!
V lovely and helpful staff; and really love the lil gestures - lil sweets/bourban biscuits in room / jelly babies as you pay for your dinner .. etc :-)

Room Tip: Booked on Expedia - they give pics of the rooms - think there are four to choose from - only room le...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LJFarkas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for The Trooper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel for one night. The staff are friendly and although the rooms are a bit dated, they are well maintained and you feel like it's been cared for.

The restaurant food was lovely although very expensive, but they very evidently do employ an experienced chef. The breakfast was also very nice.


What stops me from rating this any higher is that the next morning we were approached and asked for more money because only I stayed in a double room - very cheeky considering we didn't have to eat there the night before but we did and put £200 through their till and they had one less mouth to feed the next morning. For me, that is a no go.

Otherwise, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here mid July-14 as we were attending a wedding reception at the nearby Langrish House. We booked quite late directly with the hotel and got an OK deal, our room was the Stoner room on the ground floor which was a standard twin but a disabled room which was fine with us. The Trooper has a great beer garden out back and serves a range of real beers/ales (local brews I think), and the usual lagers and everything else you’d expect. The Inn appears to be very popular for food as most of the tables inside are set up for dinning. We had a full English breakfast on our departure day and it was first class. The staff were very friendly both on checking in, serving drinks and breakfast the next morning. We would consider going back and staying the night for food. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KT16_Chertsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have been to The Trooper more times than I can remember - New Year's Eve, quiet dinners, noisy dinners or just a pint. So, it was the obvious choice for a celebration. Hassan, Sarah and the team were simply fantastic and helped us organise a really memorable event. We occupied all the excellent, well-appointed and very comfortable rooms and most of the dining area.
Dinner arrived without fuss, on time and to a very high standard - all my guests praised the quality of the food, the service, the accommodation and the breakfast the following morning.
The only disappointment was that the evening went so quickly but I will be sure to be back for the next big one!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hztf1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have been here a couple of times now and every time the quality of the food is unbeatable. The service is always friendly and they never forget a face which these days is hard to find.
One thing that I would recommend is the Lamb, it is the best lamb that I have tasted and cant recommend it enough.

It is ideal for couples although families visit to and are always warmly welcomed. Its an old fashioned look and feel to the place with wooden pillars and pictures about the place.

I have not stayed there as yet but I am sure in the future I will be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited the Trooper Inn last weekend. Rooms were pristine and beautifully fitted out. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. The food was good. We had 3 rooms and they were all good - far better than we had anticipated.

Room Tip: Any room - we had three and they were all good
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Trooper Inn on 9th & 10th of May. I was taking part in a charity walk that started at Goodwood race course and The Trooper Inn is less than 30 minutes drive away.
Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished. The bathroom was large and modern with plenty of hot water. The bed was so comfortable with with crisp white bed linen and a good weight duvet. The beverages in the room were good quality. Everywhere is beautifully clean.
We ate at the Inn on both evenings and the food was absolutely gorgeous. I had beef wellington one evening and organic chicken breast with figs and saffron sauce on the second. My husband chose scampi and a sirloin steak which cut like butter. No need for a steak knife really. My husband enjoyed trying the local ales too.
Breakfast was also delicious with a good choice and quality food. Each table has it's own toaster so no need to queue and a fantastic idea!
Last but by no means least the owners/staff all made us feel welcome. They were knowledgable about the area and happy to help in any way they could.
Would definitely recommend and would love to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Froxfield
3.1 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
338 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
367 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#2 of 25 in Petersfield
70 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trooper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trooper Inn

Address: Alton Rd, Froxfield, Petersfield GU32 1BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield > Froxfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Froxfield
Price Range: £92 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trooper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Trooper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trooper Hotel Froxfield
The Trooper Inn Froxfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing