We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Spot and Great Hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
mill from the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
mill from the river
the garden the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
mill from the river
the garden
the garden
the sitting room with direct view on the river
the kitchenette
the terrasse
the front facade
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monts, Loire Valley, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YR-LGB
Long Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot and Great Hosts”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved staying here. It’s a great base to see the area. And, when you’re sitting out back, looking over the river, looking out over the lush yard, you feel a million miles away. David and Lise were wonderful hosts and created a wonderful place we called home for 5 days. They were great at helping us plan our days and made our time there so enjoyable. When we arrived, they had a wonderful loaf of bread, a bottle of wine, and a bottle of the most amazing local apple juice. We received a great orientation to the area and sites with detailed maps. We highly recommend staying – you will not regret it and plan a second trip just as we are. If quite is important to you, check to see if the upper 2-bedroom unit will be rented – depending on your needs, it could be a little loud. No big issue for us. Thank you David and Lise – you really made our time in the Loire memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts, location, comfort
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2016
Thanks Yesmean and Gary , it is been a pleasure hosting you.
Hope to meet again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuzQTrave...
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot; Delightful Accommodations”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I wanted to stay in a quaint French village close to the wonders of the Loire Valley chateaux, but away from the fray of the tourist spots, so we picked Monts. Luckily (and thanks to TripAdvisor) we found le moulin de Monts water mill for our stay. It was perfect for us: great location; nice setting (over the river); comfortable accommodations; and friendly and helpful owners to help us plan our five days in the area. The apartment is fairly basic, but is clean and comfortable. David and Lise went out of their way to make sure our stay was what we had hoped for. Le moulin de Monts apartment was one of the highlights of our trip.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd C
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable and relaxing accommodation perfect as a base for exploring the Loire Valley.”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Australian couple - mid 60's.

I reinforce the comments of other reviewers with respect to the owners of the property. Always available for help and advice but never intrusive.

The accommodation is one large room (approx 8 x 5 metres) with a a kitchen alcove and attached bathroom/shower (no bath). There is also a small balcony/deck

The unit is clean and the bed is comfortable and the lighting adequate.. There is heating but no fans (cooling) and no safe or TV. The WIFI is fast and reliable.

The kitchen has two hotplates, a fridge, microwave, coffee machine, kettle and toaster along with cutlery, crockery, saucepans and fry-pans. There is no convection oven.

The bathroom is good sized, clean with no "off smells". Water is hot with good pressure.

No washing machine but there is a laundromat about 10 minutes drive in another village.

Super U supermarket about 4 minute drive from the accommodation.

Being the ground floor unit there is some noise from the residents in the above unit. Sounds like a couple of fat possums in the roof at times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing after a hard day exploring.
Liked least: No safe which required us to always take our passports etc with us.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbk114
Tempe, AZ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was an idyllic stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Lise and David were superb hosts -- very welcoming and helpful. The apartment is simple, yet they have made sure that all of the essential needs are met. The location is ideal for touring the sites of the Loire Valley or if you just want a quiet getaway in a beautiful setting. They even provide bicycles and canoes so that guests can explore the surrounding area without having to pile into a car. Our time there was one of the highlights of our trip to France, and I hope that we have the opportunity to stay there again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“pas de soucis peace an quiet in a great location”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

we have been to france a few times over the years, but have to say this was the best and friendliest place we have come across.From the very start of the holiday, david was ultra helpfull about all in the local area and put us on to some of the best food we have ever eaten anywhere.There are 3 quality local restaurants within walking distance of the apartment and plenty more within a short drive or bike if you are up to it .David will give you plenty of info on all the attractions around the area.Do go to chinon for wine, langais for a lovely market,Tours for shopping ,villandry for the chateau ,chateau de candi, candea st martin for the river beach and views,time will soon run out as it did for us. And for a peacefull day or night just sit in the garden by the river mill chilling, fishing, wine and cheese.All in all c'est beau.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great host great location
Liked least: coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wambrechies, France
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaveL63
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This charming flat in a former water mill was the highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We feel so lucky we found this amazing property over the Indre river in a lovely village outside Tours. The flat was beautifully remodeled and furnished recently, and is in a former water mill dating to the 1770s -- the sound of the river gently flowing beneath you lulls you to sleep each night. The owners, David and Lise, are friendly, helpful hosts and delightful people who gave us many valuable tips for local sights and restaurants in the Loire valley. Lise invited us to join her and her daughter on a community bike ride with local schoolchildren through fields along the river to the local chateau. The owners provide a canoe and bikes for tenants. We spent several afternoons lazily canoeing on the river after a day of touring. We spent most evenings dining on fresh baguettes and cheese from the local farmers market on the terrace above the river. Magic! We would gladly return on our next visit and can't stress how much we recommend this property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The waterfront location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing