We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roll on June”
Review of Beach House I & II

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach House I & II
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Tsada, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Roll on June”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Booked yet anouther two weeks in BH 11 for June/July. It can't come soon enough. We have stayed here many times before, and can't honestley imagine staying anywhere else in Alykes. We are lucky enough to be able to take several holidays a year now that the kids have grown up, and this one is our favourite. As soon as we come home we book our next one for the following year. The apts are spottless and have everything you need. The beds and towels are changed regualy. Vikki and Spiros who own the apts and the fantastic Virago Bar are the best hosts you could wish for. Even Luka and Sky Rocket (their dogs) are lovely.
There are many good resturants in Alykes. Especially Fidellio's and the Pondarossa.( Make sure you print off the vouchers for free wine) Or take a carriage ride to Old Alakanas to the Lemon Tree Garden. Then you must finish the evening at the Virago Bar. Spiros will always make you laugh, and give you a little Yammas. We are counting down the days till we can stay there.
Pat and Ken

Room Tip: Use the pool and bar at the Paradise next door. Their Tuna salad is yummy,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pattimac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    14
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
9
83
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Shields
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with beautiful views and friendly people, then we highly recommend Beach House 1 in Alykes, Zante! The accommodation and location were so much better than photographed in the brochure and Vikki and Spiros made us feel more than welcome during our two weeks stay, so much so Vikki drove me to the nearest pharmacy as she was concerned I'd had a bad reaction to mosquito bites. As we were one of the first couples to arrive during May, we were given the ground floor apartment with the path from the garden leading directly to the beach, absolute paradise :-) The apartment itself was basic but lovely and cleaned regularly and had everything you needed for your stay including a fridge, kettle and cooking rings. The 'Virago Bar' owned by Vikki and Spiros is open from late afternoon until the last person leaves, reasonably priced cocktails (recommend the mud slide ;-)) with a beautiful outlook to towards the Salt flats. We certainly intend to visit Zante again and stay at the Beach House but perhaps later in the year as when we were there is it was the beginning of the holiday season so there wasn't many attractions open.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EmmaT1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed in the beach house 1 in October.
ROOMS were basic but only what you would expect from Greek apartments, but everything you needed, they were cleaned every other day, would have liked clean towels more regular!.
LOCATION of the beach house is perfect, just a stones throw away from the pebbly beach. There are about 8 sunloungers with parasoles that belong to next door but are available for 5euros for 2. It was a short walk one way to a sandy beach and a short walk the other way to the hotel with use of a pool, but we didnt use either only the sunloungers from next door.
MINI MARKET just next to the apartments,but was a short walk from supermarket and shops.
TAVERNAS,WE tried a few as we was there for a week and wasnt disappointed with any.
VIRAGO BAR that belongs to the apartments is very good which was only open at night, was relaxing, but at the same time this part of Zante was very quiet much like a ghost town but could be due to time of year alot of things closing up for the season.
HAVE read a few reviews about the dogs, we didnt have a problem, there was 2 dogs a golden and a black lab that belonged to the owners of the apartments, we found both dogs ok when loose around the bar but they wasnt there for long,but the golden one the youngest did bark when tied up.
We would stay at the beach house again if we were to visit Zante again, all rooms have see view.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nitro57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachHouseViragoBar, Manager at Beach House I & II, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
In line with the terms specified in the tour operator's contract, the towels in Beach House I are changed twice a week. In Beach House II, towels are changed every other day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We stayed here in October 2012 we arrived with apprehension having read the good reports from other advisers but what a find we opened the balcony doors to the prettiest of gardens straight onto the beach the apartment was comfortable and clean the utensils and cooking facilities were all as listed in the brochure the bar and on site mini market were well stocked and reasonable the staff friendly and only too willing to assist in any of our requirements the pool bar clean and grounds well kept,We went to the weekly barbecue and what a treat best meal of the whole holiday plenty of entertainment as well,Alkys resort is 5 min walk away with good bars shops and restraunts the little train also has a greek night which was brilliant the driver a hoot plenty of wine flowed that night and the entertainment had all in stitches

Room Tip: Beach house 1 is the best if you want a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todashopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Spent two weeks here recentley. What a lovely relaxing place. Not the place to go if you want the 18-30 type of holiday, but if you just want to relax it is wonderful. The studio was clean and always had plenty of hot water. Stopping off at the Virago bar for a nightcap just finished off a wonderful day. Spiros is a good host and always had time for a chat. Couldnt really imagine Louka snarling at anyone as stated in a previous post, I am not a dog lover and I was never bothered by him. Would not hesitate to recommend this place if all you want to do is relax. Thank You for a super 2 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHESHIREROVER94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Beach House 1
This accomodation is set right on the beach and we couldnt believe our luck when we arrived.
I used Trip Advisor to search the accomodation in this area and the reports were faultless and to be honest they were all correct!
Its fabulous, l wanted somewhere that was clean and quiet where you could relax and thats exactly what we had.
The apartment we were allocated was number 2 and it was opposite the gates onto the beach, we couldnt of chosen better if we had a choice.
The rooms are basic as most of them are in Greece but spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed. We had a Toaster and a Kettle in the room along with just enough crockery and bits and pieces to make something to eat if you wanted to.
We arrived on 4th October for a week and l was a little bit worried about the weather before we travelled but it was amazing for the time of year, this meant that because it was end of season a lot of the bars and hotels had already closed and a few of the remaining were getting ready to close. This meant that perhaps we didnt reap the benefits of the whole of this lovely little resort and we did feel that it was a little bit of a ghost town but it didnt spoil our holiday.
This accomodation seems to get re-booked time after time with people that have been before, there is something about it and l will most certainly re-visit.
Someone in a recent report thats been posted had complained about a dog that snarled and barked............couldnt be further from that with us and our experience- the dog that was mentioned is a lovely old boy, a Black Labrador that was extrememly friendly and never once gave us any trouble, hes lovely.
The Beach house owners live in a seperate building near the front gates of this accomodation and they run the Virago bar, we only went there twice for drinks and as l said it was very quiet but the owners seemed very friendly and always greeted us when we walked past.
There is a small supermarket about 1 minute walk away from the Beach House which is handy for anything that you need straight away when you arrive. Its got most things and its not expensive.
The beach outside the Beach House is pebble and at night you can hear the sea crashing onto the shore, its lovely to listen to and very relaxing.
The whole resort is lovely and quiet and ideally suited for couples, lots of nice places to eat and extremely friendly people everywhere.
You use the pool next door which is about a minute down the beach, very clean and lots of sunbeds and brollys - friendly staff and the drinks are all reasonable priced. We went here to a BBQ on the Tuesday night when we were there, it was 10euros and well worth the money, they had a quiz a well.

Room Tip: Beach House 1 is on the beach, 2 is just behind - lf you want a seaview then ask for Number 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOND61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Dundee
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We're not long home after our umpteenth stay in Beach House 1 and as in all previous stays, this year's was a laid-back and simply wonderful experience. We were very impressed with the new pitched roof that replaces the previous flat one (it looks great) and with the new solar water heating system.
The physical facilities, great as they are, contributed only a part of the enjoyment of our holiday. The other, and it's a very significant part, was the contribution made by the lovely owners/managers Vikki and Spiros who were, as always, ready to help us if required and on a couple of occasions really inconvenienced themselves to help us. We should also mention Vasso and Maria who kept our room spotless and despite working hard still found time for a laugh with us.
We noticed a comment in an earlier review about about a dog following guests to their rooms at night and barking etc. Now this canine could not possibly be the Louka we've known for years as he's about as docile as dogs come and exhibits a studied and rather aloof indifference to guests. He might perhaps say 'woof to a goose', or for that matter a chicken, (sorry Louka if this is gross calumny) but that about as far as his interests probably go! He's just a rather snooty softie.
Dogs it is said, are very good judges of character.

Oh, roll on next June!

Room Tip: All eight rooms in Beach House 1 are great with super sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyJUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
214 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paradisso Beach Villas
Paradisso Beach Villas
#3 of 5 in Ammoudi
91 reviews
5.9 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.5 mi away
Montes Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House I & II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House I & II

Property: Beach House I & II
Address: 377 Alikes | Virago Bar, Alykes 290 90, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for beach lovers who do NOT want a pool. These well maintained studios and apartments are simply but adequately equipped, with two ring cooker, toaster, kettle and fridge. Both Beach Houses offer optional air-con and safety deposit boxes. The sea view from all rooms in BHI is unrivaled. BHII, situated behind BHI in established gardens has a partial sea and partial mountain view. Reception is at The Virago Bar from 4pm, the owners live on site and are available at all times. The beach is currently pebble leading to sand. Guests have use of the sunbeds in the grounds free of charge. Please note that in October there may be fewer eateries open than in the main season. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach House i And Ii
Beach House i & Ii Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing