We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykes Garden Village
Ranked #3 of 6 Alykes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here looking for a relaxed holiday and base to explore the island. We quickly discovered that there was little point leaving Alykes as the beach is one of the best in the island and at other times hanging and eating by the pool was perfect - some of the nicest burgers and pizzas I have ever tasted. AGV is a spotlessly clean, SMART place to stay - the pool area and general surrounds are excellent and the rooms are ideal: ours overlooked the pool and had a cool colonial feel about it. The bar is very cool and great for drinks during the day and in the evening. Internet is free. Jimmy and his family were also wonderful, helpful hosts. AGV really has it all.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_mcg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    62
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
107
147
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Had a lovely 2 weeks at the Garden Village, agree with previous reviews about the helpfulness of Jimmy, Christine, Sula, George, etc. Clean accommodation, plenty of towel changes and sheets changed every 4 days. All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to ensure you have a good holiday. George's barbecue nights are not to be missed. Great swimming pool which never seemed to have more than 6 people in it. Quite a walk to the beach and main centre - could be a problem if you have poor mobility, although Sula of George will always give you a lift if they see you setting off and in the evening you can get a "pony and trap taxi" back to the apartments.

Alykes is lovely with a good beach and easy entry into and out of the sea. Lots of good eating places. We enjoyed our holiday immensely and I am sure we will return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We are a couple in our early thirties who were looking for quiet, family run accommodation not too far from the town (for a few bars and restaurants) but also not far from a nice sandy beach, and somewhere good to base ourselves for exploring the island by day either by car or scooter. As it turned out, the Alykes Garden Village ticked all the boxes for us, and the family who run it (Chris - mum, Jimmy - son) were so helpful and friendly that it made for the ideal place to base ourselves for the week's stay, and for a wonderful holiday. We had a garden facing studio, which had a lovely private terrace overlooking the pool. The studio itself was basic - pretty much what is typical in Greece - wooden furniture and white cotton bedding, but it had everything we needed: a small separate kitchenette with adequate crockery, pans and cutlery for basic meals; two towels each; bathroom with shower, shower tray (rare in Greece!!) and a shower curtain (even rarer!!!). The rooms are cleaned every day and the bins emptied daily too. The studios are set by the pool, which is a decent size and kept lovely and clean, with plenty of sunbeds, and the gardens around are beautifully kept with palms and olive, orange and fig trees; however, most wonderful is the backdrop, which is the mountains. It is in a lovely quiet setting just outside the village of Alykes, approx. 10-15 minutes' walk into the village (although some parts of the road don't have a path, it wasn't really a problem for the two of us). We found Alykes just lively enough (there are probably around five bars that are lively in the evenings), and there are plenty of restaurants to try out while you are there. The beach there is lovely and sandy with warm, shallow, calm waters - perfect! As to the effects of the economic problems in Greece, the only noticeable thing for us was the taxi strike that was on for the whole week while we were there. We managed to get a taxi from the airport to the Alykes Garden Village from the Hertz car rental desk on our arrival, and on our return, Jimmy actually drove us to the airport himself in order to ensure we made it to the airport for our return flight. What a lovely family and what great accommodation for the price. We were really happy with the accommodation and would heartily recommend it to any couples or families who are looking for a peaceful, friendly place to stay that is close to the action - but not on its doorstep.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmandaLeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Second year on the trot and will return, would strongly recomend to anyone wanting a quiet greek holiday but also being close enough to the town and beach. Jimmy and his family make you feel so welcome and will do anything to help. Plenty of sunbeds no neccessity to reserve. Rooms are very clean, cleaned every day and laundry changed regularly. Cooking facilities limited but lovely food available at pool bar and very good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Second year on the trot and will come back next year. Very clean rooms, cleaned daily and laundry changd regularly. Rooms not really equipped for a lot of catering but food is lovely at the pool bar and there are some very good restaurants within walking distance including a bakers that sells fresh croissants daily. Jimmy and his family are very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. They really make you feel at home and part of the family.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Room was large and clean. Bathroom was fine and the small kitchen had everything you needed.

Lovely pool! Nice and chilled which is exactly what we wanted as was alykes in general.

Bigs to gyros hut. Can't remember name of best restaurant but walk into town. Turn left and it's a 5 min walk out of alykes. Best by far!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wookie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Just returned from 8 nights at the Garden Village, which is also known as the Soula & Sellini Studios & Apts. I went with my daughter (20). Booked through easyJet.
We had a spacious studio on the ground floor with a roomy terrace that got the sun in the late afternoon/evening, and had a lovely view of the moutains.
The room was kept clean but on arrival we were told that 'the contract' only allowed us 1 change of towels, so we shouldn't put them on the floor, and if we wanted more we would have to pay!
We paid 45 euros for the air conditioning, which we needed as it was HOT!. But it kept leaking and sometimes we had to switch it off in the night as the dripping was really annoying. After several attempts it was fixed, (the day before we left), but I did manage to get a small refund.
The shower room was adequate, pretty much what you expect in Greece, and the beds were comfortable.
We were bed & breakfast, breakfast was cooked for us each day but there was not much choice, & no fruit, but they encourage you to have lots of eggs!! This is connected to the fact that the surrounding area has hens and cockerels wandering around everywhere, and cockerels constantly crowing. But this we found this quite appealing.
The swimming pool area was lovely, nice decent sized deep pool, and plenty of sun loungers, although some people still insisted on reserving them!
The first night we ordered a drink at the bar and my glass of wine was 'off'. We didn't like to complain as it was our first night, but it did mean that we didn't go back there.
There is a supermarket on site with very limited stock and which only seems to open at random times. But there are others nearby.
The resort of Alykes and its lovely beach are 10 mins walk along a nice country road. There are a choice of tavernas, some at the beachside, and try 'Olympic' if you want to go a bit more upmarket. Sadly, the area has a number of abandoned hotels, some with their pools still full of (filthy) water.
We hired a quad bike to explore further afield which was good fun, but do take it slowly!! Its only 12 euros a day (less if you book multiple days) and although the petrol is as expensive as back home, they hardly use any!
Overall we had a fantastic time, the staff were friendly and did try to assist with any issues we had. Oh and just remembered - take loads of anti mozzie stuff as they are rife!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrissypp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
10.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 29 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.4 mi away
Clio Hotel
Clio Hotel
#1 of 6 in Alykes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykes Garden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykes Garden Village

Property: Alykes Garden Village
Address: Katastari Road, Alykes 290 90, Greece (Formerly Sellini Apartments and Suites)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly self-catering studios and apartments, set in beautiful gardens just a 10 minute stroll to the sandy beach and resort centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alykes Garden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alykes Garden Village Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing