We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family run hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alykes Garden Village
Ranked #3 of 8 Alykes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic family run hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Just had an amazing week in Alykes and at the Alykes Garden Village. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable.
The food was amazing, homemade, fresh and very reasonably priced.
Jimmy and his family made us feel very welcome from the moment he picked us up from the airport to taking us back; offering friendly help/advice to give us a very enjoyable stay.
Will definitely be back!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Adz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    63
    23
    10
    7
See reviews for
107
149
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is our 4th time back on the run, and as always it's brilliant and there is never a problem.
Everywhere is cleaned on a daily basis, so the apartments and its grounds are absolutely spotless and of a very high standard as always. Jimmy and his family work very hard to make the apartments a success making time for all of his guests old and new - and nothing is too much trouble.

The apartments are about a 10 minute walk from the Restaurants and beach, everywhere serves nice food, our favourites being Relax & The Mediterranean; and the Buca bar for great cocktails and chilling music.

Some tips; if you need stuff from the supermarket we tend to use the one in Katastari, so rather than walking out of the apartments and taking a right down into Alykes cross roads, we go left and its about 700m, slightly shorter walk not by a lot; but up here is the chemist, supermarket, & bakery. The supermarket offers better prices, and the bakery offers really nice bread.

Thanks Jimmy & Family for an excellent holiday as always, as I've mentioned in previous reviews that its home from home now and as soon as we arrive we're relaxed. This being said we've already booked for next year. So see you in June all!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are more private; but there isn't a bad room at this complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Doyley156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent place to stay in Alykes. Jimmy, Soula and all staff were first rate. The pool area was very clean as were the apartments, being cleaned every day. The apartments are about a good 10 minutes walk from town but that is an advantage if you want somewhere quiet to stay.
Anita, Peter, Eleanor and Ryan Toal

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked this complex at the end of June on a whim as it's been many years since we've been to Greece and in particular Zante.
The Alykes Garden Village was peaceful, relaxing and very clean. As a family effort, each member works exceptionally hard and endeavours to give you a lovely holiday.
On arrival,, the room we were offered was clean but tired. However Jimmy had other rooms to offer at an additional cost which we were happy to pay for. The complex has grown over the years and subsequent some blocks are more modern than others. We also paid an additional cost for air conditioning and safety deposit boxes, which we were advised of,in advance.
The pool area was fantastic; no panic over beds and very clean.
We were bed and breakfast and we both agree the choice and delivery were exceptional for a small family business.
There is a small shop on the premises which perhaps could be better utilised, a wee goldmine for the future??
The evening bar is very well run by the lovely, friendly Anna. She works so hard in the evenings.
All the very best to a lovely, hardworking family.

Alykes is a small resort. The people are very friendly and prices in bars and restaurants are exceptional value. On our stroll down to the village, we passed Iris Bar, which was run by a Greek/English family. A warm welcome awaits, as does a large glass of chilled wine for €2.
Brilliant!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have some lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Er-Jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

“We'll Be Back!! - Top Place, Lovely People”

Brother and sister, Jimmy & Soula, run a really lovely little complex in Alykes, which is a 10-15 min stroll (depending on the heat of the day, and your mobility) from the main street of Alykes, a charming wee village which offers everything you could want for a relatively quiet holiday, away from the hustle & bustle of the more developed resorts

The accomodation seems great throughout, and we stayed in one of the older, smaller, cheaper rooms - standard for the Greek Isles, and offering a minimum of "luxuries", and only the bare essentials - but as we were only ever in the room to sleep, it was quite adequate to our needs; single beds, basic cooking facilities, shower, dressing table and AC or fan, if required (at an additional cost)

We spent most waking hours either at the pool, beach, restaurant or bar ... so, who needs a luxury apartment.

One small issue was that the pool is quite deep at the shallow end, possibly 5 feet, and my wife Maggi, who is a scaredy cat in water, found it too deep for her ... however, I quickly add, the adjoining villas, Oscar Villas, are part of the family business too, and we were made so welcome there, as they had a small, shallow pool, which was a mere 100 yards away.

We chilled with Denis at Oscars, lunched at Jimmy and Soulas, and enjoyed the Greek Night on Fridays, hosted by both - another recommend - great fun!!

There are larger family apartments available, and everyone we talked to seemed more than content with the value for money they'd received.

The Garden Village shop offers the very basics, with supermarkets within a 10min walk in either direction along the Katastari road at the complex entrance - take a left up to Katastari Village for fresh bread from the bakers, and a wee visit to the local church, which has an interior like Liberace's living-room, and is well worth the walk - take a right into Alykes, and there is a well stocked supermarket, and lots of bars and small restaurants - and 5 mins down that road is The Koukounari "Pine Cone" Restaurant ... the food & service was superb, and astonishingly cheap too!!

I must mention the wonderful hospitality we received from Jimmy, Souls, Anna, and Chris - the family who run Alykes Garden Village - they were lovely, and nothing was too much trouble. Our taxi to the airport failed to turn up for our departure at 3.45 am, and Jimmy got out of bed and ran us to the airport ... what a lovely gesture!!

I can't thank him enough for that, except to say that we'll spread the word of their lovely complex, and highly recommend that anyone go there.

Efcharisto Folks - we'll be back!!

Stu & Maggi

PS

Take a trip on The Trainaki, the little road train which goes up to Spiros tavern and family museum in Pigadakia - an absolute MUST in Alykes - booking office in the main street of Alyke, opposite the supermarket -- a sober, nice crowd on the way up, and a hilarious tipsy crowd on the return, having sampled Spiros lovely wine and hopspitality. Worth twice the charge!!

Koukounari "Pine Cone" Restaurant (nearby on the Katastari Rd)--- fantastic food and service, and so cheap for such quality

Paradosiako, on the road to Alykanes (15 min walk) - very nice, highly recommended

Taverna Asteria (on the beach) - great for lunch, and for sun-loungers on the beach

The Anatolikos is at the far end of the Alykes main street, and is a lively wee restaurant, with tables literally on the beach, and has great food and the most stunning views of Kefalonia across the bay ... stunning at sunset ... highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stuwho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a lovely complex a good 15 mins walk to the centre and beach. The walk becomes less noticeable over the week, but not recommended for those that struggle walking.

Pool facilities are excellent and not too crowded, with plenty of sun beds and with straightforward food available from the pool snack bar. It was so hot that it was nice to see so many shade areas to sit should it get too much.

We had one of the more modern studios and it was a great size and everything you would need to put a simple meal together if you choose to eat in.

Oscars bar on site for an evening drink and theme nights twice a week with Greek Night and BBQ another night, (although we did neither choosing to go into town for a meal).

We thought the price of 87 euros a tad expensive for a safe deposit box and air conditioning for the week, but something you must have/need.

Rooms were clean and we'll serviced daily.

Mine hosts Jimmy and his sister Soula and Mum Anna are really the stars here. They personalise your stay and make you feel welcome and valued, and go the extra mile to ensure your stay is enjoyable. Jimmy in particular is always talking to guests and is always available should you have a problem. Jimmy speaks perfect English, but many of his guests are also from other EU countries as well.

Free wi-if in public areas and if your room is close to the pool you could pick it up, but a bit hit and miss.

Excellent choice if you are thinking of staying here.

Room Tip: Email Jimmy with any requests as he is very obliging. Read of people being woken by cockerels but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlatCapUpNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Brother and sister, Jimmy & Soula, run a really lovely little complex in Alykes, which is a 10-15 min stroll (depending on the heat of the day, and your mobility) from the main street of Alykes, a charming wee village which offers everything you could want for a relatively quiet holiday, away from the hustle & bustle of the more developed resorts

The accomodation seems great throughout, and we stayed in one of the older, smaller, cheaper rooms - standard for the Greek Isles, and offering a minimum of "luxuries", and only the bare essentials - but as we were only ever in the room to sleep, it was quite adequate to our needs; single beds, basic cooking facilities, shower, dressing table and AC or fan, if required (at an additional cost)

We spent most waking hours either at the pool, beach, restaurant or bar ... so, who needs a luxury apartment.

One small issue was that the pool is quite deep at the shallow end, possibly 5 feet, and my wife Maggi, who is a scaredy cat in water, found it too deep for her ... however, I quickly add, the adjoining villas, Oscar Villas, are part of the family business too, and we were made so welcome there, as they had a small, shallow pool, which was a mere 100 yards away.

We chilled with Denis at Oscars, lunched at Jimmy and Soulas, and enjoyed the Greek Night on Fridays, hosted by both - another recommend - great fun!!

There are larger family apartments available, and everyone we talked to seemed more than content with the value for money they'd received.

The Garden Village shop offers the very basics, with supermarkets within a 10min walk in either direction along the Katastari road at the complex entrance - take a left up to Katastari Village for fresh bread from the bakers, and a wee visit to the local church, which has an interior like Liberace's living-room, and is well worth the walk - take a right into Alykes, and there is a well stocked supermarket, and lots of bars and small restaurants - and 5 mins down that road is The Koukounari "Pine Cone" Restaurant ... the food & service was superb, and astonishingly cheap too!!

I must mention the wonderful hospitality we received from Jimmy, Souls, Anna, and Chris - the family who run Alykes Garden Village - they were lovely, and nothing was too much trouble. Our taxi to the airport failed to turn up for our departure at 3.45 am, and Jimmy got out of bed and ran us to the airport ... what a lovely gesture!!

I can't thank him enough for that, except to say that we'll spread the word of their lovely complex, and highly recommend that anyone go there.

Efcharisto Folks - we'll be back!!

Stu & Maggi

PS

Take a trip on The Trainaki, the little road train which goes up to Spiros tavern and family museum in Pigadakia - an absolute MUST in Alykes - booking office in the main street of Alyke, opposite the supermarket -- a sober, nice crowd on the way up, and a hilarious tipsy crowd on the return, having sampled Spiros lovely wine and hopspitality. Worth twice the charge!!

Koukounari "Pine Cone" Restaurant (nearby on the Katastari Rd)--- fantastic food and service, and so cheap for such quality

Paradosiako, on the road to Alykanes (15 min walk) - very nice, highly recommended

Taverna Asteria (on the beach) - great for lunch, and for sun-loungers on the beach

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stewart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.1 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
10.2 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 26 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.4 mi away
Clio Hotel
Clio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Alykes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alykes Garden Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alykes Garden Village

Property: Alykes Garden Village
Address: Katastari Road, Alykes 290 90, Greece (Formerly Sellini Apartments and Suites)
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly self-catering studios and apartments, set in beautiful gardens just a 10 minute stroll to the sandy beach and resort centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alykes Garden Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alykes Garden Village Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing