We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Holiday”
Review of Potamitis Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potamitis Studios
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Just returned from our first visit (already booked to return next June).
Our holiday was brilliant !
George & Adrianna are the perfect hosts. The location is fantastic amongst olive and lemon trees.Adrianna is a very good cook , her food is delicious , we particularly loved the beef stifado .
The property is spotlessly clean thanks to the lovely Hilda.
We met some very nice people who have returned there many times, a special thanks to our new friends Shirley (old Kent road) and Gary who made our holiday entertaining and fun !!
Ellen & Denise

Room Tip: High floor gives a better view of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was our first visit to the Potamitis and it definitely won't be our last! George and Adrianna are wonderful hosts and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The studios and the grounds are kept spotlessly clean by a very nice lady.

What can we say about Adrianna's food?.... there is something for everyone. And her 'specials' are the best anywhere in Greece. It was my husband's birthday whilst we were there and he was asking about Moussaka earlier in the week. Adrianna offered to put this on as a special on his birthday and he was over the moon. He said it was by far the best Moussaka he had ever had!

Where you sit around the pool, the view is either the mountains in the distance or George's wonderful olive and lemon trees. All the other guests were very nice people and we met some that we hope to remain friends with. Thanks to George and Adrianna for looking after us so well and making our holiday so relaxing. The only down side is the very big diet that we now both need to start!! Sam & John

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SamCrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two week stay at the Potamitis Studios in Alykes - Zakynthos. The property is absolutely immaculate set amongst the grapevines and olive groves and is kept spotlessly clean by the lovely cleaner Hilda. George and Adrianna the owners go out of their way to make your holiday special and Adrianna's food is exceptional. A lovely relaxing holiday in a peaceful rural area. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the countryside and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carolLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Booked this venue purely due to the TA reviews. We were warmly greeted by the owner George, who sat everyone down for an informal chat about the apartments and surrounding area. As it was the end of October, the resort and apartments were quiet, but that was exactly what we wanted.

Our room was basic - what you'd expect in Greece, but absolutely spotless. However, there were a couple of criticisms; the bathroom was more of a wet room, so the floor was flooded; the shower mat and curtain were mouldy which was quite unpleasant as there was nothing else to step on. Our room had a lovely view of Kefalonia, but was on a main road, so at times could be incredibly noisy and this was out of season. There was also constant noise from dogs barking day and night, but know that's out of the owner's control, but still distracting nevertheless. You can't put toilet roll down the loo, so a bin had to be used, which was emptied every day. The room was serviced twice in the week with clean towels.

The pool is one of the best I've seen at a resort like Potamitis. Spotless and a pleasure to swim in. There are good quality beds and tables surrounding the pool and a nice little bar and snack area. At night, George turns this into a pop-up restaurant, where his wife cooks every evening. You are never under any pressure to eat there which I was glad of, and we did one night and the food was ok and reasonably priced. Nothing is too much for George - he's so helpful and can accomodate nearly every need or request!!

The apartments are about a 10min walk out of the main resort and while most of the guests didn't venture outside Potamis, I would highly recommend you do as there are some great venues to eat, especially PONDAROSA. Possibly the BEST Greek food I've ever had was served there, and so cheap. We ate there for 3nights it was that good - very rare for us!

The resort itself is small and was very quiet. We hired a car and drove around the island. Our tour rep quoted us three times the price what we paid in town, so shop around!

I would recommend Potamitis for a quiet, relaxing break, but it's not luxurious!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank WeenieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

George & Andriani are the perfect hosts, providing help & advice when needed & letting us just relax, eat & drink the excellent home cooked food (which even suited fussy Richard) wine & beer in an unhurried, friendly atmosphere. We have no complaints at all. The other guests were equally chilled. A perfect wind down. We loved it so much we have booked the first plane back next year. 26.10.12

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tytwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

we decided late too go back again this year for a week(had 10 days in May)in October as this is when we will go next year. temperature mid to high twenty's. as usual very relaxing holiday with everything at hand,George(Giorgo)and Andriana,ensure that the rooms,kitchen,pool and pool area plus the bar are spotlessly clean with excellent help from the lovely Hilda. we have now been 5 times and wished we had found the studios earlier.if you want an adventure holiday or lots of trips than the island is not perhaps the place for you,but if you like relaxing or walking on an island that feels from the past,with lots of smallholdings all around the local area and a beach that is extremely large and the sand and sea very clean indeed,as well as relaxing by the pool and having all you require at the bar plus very well cooked wholesome food either Greek or British, than this is definitely the place for you, with plenty of space round the pool,know need for towel hogging here. I've got too know George and Andriana quite well as we speak too them a lot especially in the evenings after dinner and as well as being very friendly and approachable,they are so generous in so many ways. those who write reviews about Potamitis studios,that are not so complimentary should understand that it is a 3 star punching above its weigh and that every year they get Thomson's Gold award for best in the area.i could go on waxing lyrically about the studios,but i miss being there and don't want too dwell any further. i will leave by saying Yammas to George,Andriana,Hilda and Vicky.

Room Tip: There are lots of good rooms here, but rooms 2-6 are in a very convenient area. i would stay in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dscrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Returned from 2 weeks at Potamitis excellant room, pool, and bar my sister in law had a faulty shower and kettle told George and thay were changed the same day.We tried a Greek beer called Fix and asked George if he could get some in no prob he had them in the next day. We did not find George had any favourites as we only eat there a few times..We went in the Iris bar most nights but we found the Bis Bar down on the beach I think it was the only locals bar in the resort and the owner Takis and the locals made us very welcome I can recommend this place both for night and day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.5 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
271 reviews
1.0 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
2.2 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
87 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potamitis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potamitis Studios

Address: Alykes (Alikes) Zante, Alykes 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Potamitis Studios Alykes
Potamitis Studios Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing