We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely relaxing stay!”
Review of Potamitis Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Potamitis Studios
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Just returned from 2 weeks at the Potamitis Studios (first time visit) and we weren't disappointed. We found the location to be perfect, just close enough to walk to the town with its good selection of bars and restaurants as well as the beach, approx.10 mins. George and his family / members of staff made sure our stay was first class and as comfortable as possible, nothing is too much trouble for them. The food there was amazing, good portions and reasonably priced. The complex and the pool area are spotless and well maintained, also there was always plenty sunbeds available throughout the day. We had room 15 which is on the right hand side when you come in the complex which we found more than comfortable, adequately supplied and cleaned daily. This seems to be one of the quieter rooms when we spoke to other guests. All in all a fabulous holiday, we would definitely recommend this place to others and would consider returning in the future. Thank you to George and his family for a great relaxing holiday. Jacqueline and Derek

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (342)
There are newer reviews for Potamitis Studios
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 342 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Potamitis Studios is set in a rural location away from the main drag along the sea front. This brings its rewards but also brings the pitfalls (more about this later). I will try to provide as much detailed information whilst we were there for 1 week in August to hopefully give you an understanding of what our own personal thoughts are of the Potamitis Studios.

Arrival
We were met by George the owner who sat us down at the snack bar area for they do not have a dedicated reception area. He went through the general rules which seemed reasonable and then went on to say that the safety box in the room was 15 euros per week and if we wanted the air con that was 45 euros per week. Both of these options were not forced but with today's society and the weather being 37°C we paid for both the box and the air con. He then took us to our room and explained how to work the air con and left us to it.

The Room
It seemed small in size but adequate for a week where you usually spend much of the time in the sun or the bar/taverna's. We had a ground floor room which had a shared balcony and looked out towards the mountains if you looked through the olive trees. The twin beds had hard mattresses with a single pillow. There was a single wardrobe, with 3 shelves, a small vanity table with 2 drawers and a computer desk. Although not great for storing clothes the computer desk was OK for socks, shorts etc.
There was a small cooking area with some utensils which get you by for a week but they do not provide any cleaning up sponges, cloths or washing up liquid.
The bathroom was very small and compact. The shower is a 25 inch square tray which for the bigger person creates a slight problem (in the words of my partner 'she was raped by the shower curtain'). The shower curtain hangs just outside of the tray and is 7 inches from the floor so yes you've probably guessed, the floor gets flooded and the towel that you've placed on the floor to stand on is soaked. Place it next to the opposite wall to keep dry.

The Pool & Snack Bar Area
The pool and the whole area was kept spotlessly clean with sufficient sun beds for anyone wanting to stay around the pool during the day. The snack bar area was also kept clean and was a welcome break from the sun when you need some shade.

The Food
Now I like my food to be tasty and well presented, so I was looking forward to trying lots of Adriana's dishes from reading past reviews. I have to say from this point on that I was very dissapointed with what I was presented with on every occasion. Yes the salad and the club sandwich was nice but a 5 year old could put them together. The beef sifado was going to be the highlight but what came out was half a plate of very unseasoned mash potato, 10 soft onions, 3 large lumps of beef and a very oily/thin sauce.
To put the above into light with the other taverna's I ate at, they all did pretty much the same and placed chips with just about anything that was ordered.
It a shame for they could do so much more but cater for the more un-concerning person.
Now I know that my opinion differs greatly from a lot of others but when your passionate about food like I am then taste and attention to detail counts.

The Staff
They all are great and polite but watch out if you cross either George or Adriana's cooking for then you go down the pecking order.
It seemed that George will like you as long as you are spending money and coming back year after year. On certain evenings when dinner has to be booked such as Meatballs, George places your room number against a selected table of his choice and you end up eating at a table within the snack bar rather than round the pool if you don't keep to the above 2 areas.

Prices
Now at first glance the prices seem very good and you may not see anything different if you do not stray from the complex. The food is pretty much on par with other taverna's but it's the things you will need every day that are more expensive from the towns supermarkets. It's only a few euros here and there but they definitely add up over the week if not over a fortnight.

The Location
As mentioned at the beginning it is set in a rural location with the mountains in the distance and lots of olive trees surrounding. Yes you get the sound of cockerels from 3am, followed by the chickens, turkeys and the dog barking from anytime after 7.30am. These sounds were heaven compared to the incessant barrage of crickets that frequented every olive tree. They started at approx' 10am every day and depending on the heat finished anywhere from 8pm to midnight. The constant screeching sound that came from them firmly removed the notion of getting any peace and relaxation.

Conclusion
You can read lots of Tripadvisor reports and come to several conclusions why you should spend your hard earned money here.
In hindsight I would not have booked for it was definitely not what we expected and has you've guessed we will not be one of those couples who return year upon year. The world is great place and much more to see before I reach the retirement bracket and join those who do return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank Recurve67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We have just returned from our first trip to Zante staying at the Potamitis Studios. George and his family worked very hard to ensure that our stay was a comfortable and happy one. The food is AMAZING. The rooms are cleaned daily and the studios are a 10-15 minute walk from the beach. The pool is nice and clean.

We found the beds slightly uncomfortable- but maybe that's just our preference. Yes we got woken by the cockerels and dogs barking but to be honest, that didn't bother us.

All in all, a lovely relaxing holiday with great food and hospitality. Thank you George! x

Jo and Jim

Room Tip: Room 9 or 10 are good as in a quieter location
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Thank you to George, Andriana, Vicky & Stathis, Angela & Marcos and Russell and Hilda for another fabulous 2 weeks. Our stay at Potamitis has yet again been relaxing, a great laugh with fabulous food and beautiful surroundings. Nothing is to much trouble for any of George and his family or his other staff that keep the rooms and the grounds spotless. Andriana cooks fabulous food and manages to cook me, as a vegetarian, so many different delicious dishes throughout the 2 weeks. The pool and bar and food makes for relaxing, lazy days where you feel completely comfortable. This was our 9th year and we are looking forward to next year already.
'The Girls'

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We have recently returned from our 2 week stay at the Potamitis Studios in Alykes. This was our 11th year, and that just says it all. Thank you to George, Andrianni, Stathis, Vicky, Markos, and Angela, you make our holiday very special, and we could not ask for more. The rooms are immaculate thanks to HIlda, and the pool and gardens thanks to Russell. We have also made some very special friends, and a fun time is had by all for the whole 2 weeks. Counting each day already until we return next year. Jane and Paul.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ja-PauAlikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is the 8th time we've been to the Potamitis. Cannot find a more relaxing holiday. This is not our only holiday of the year but the only one we return to.The food is excellent as is the whole experience. Very Clean rooms thanks to Hilda and very clean pool and grounds thanks to Russell. A big thank you to George & Andriana, Vicky & Staithis, Angela & Marcos. And a huge thank you to all the regulars Jane & Paul, Tracy & Garth, Brian & Lesley, Ian and Tracy, Judith and Glen for making the holiday what it was which was fun. We had a lot of laughs and can't wait till we go again next year. Hopefully see everyone there again.

Room Tip: I think the best rooms are the ones at the back of the bar/ restaurant as they overlook the mountain...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank karen-steve11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Another year another great holiday thankyou George and andriani and family . The food was great everything is so clean every one is so friendly thank you for making us Welcome can not fault it. See you next year year ian and tracy

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inky6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.1 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
255 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
236 reviews
9.8 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Ionion Blue Hotel
Ionion Blue Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kalamaki
486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potamitis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potamitis Studios

Address: Alykes (Alikes) Zante, Alykes 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Potamitis Studios Alykes
Potamitis Studios Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing