We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic holiday at the astoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
bedlington uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic holiday at the astoria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

first time at the astoria in alykes great hotel ,friendly staff ,food wonderful .right on its own private beach .we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived we would go back anytime .

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lairdcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    33
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
27
77
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Lovely family run hotel situated right on the beach in Alikes. Food excellent and breakfast is buffet style with lots of choice. Very clean hotel and towels and sheets are changed regularly. Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side of the hotel have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carolLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

The service we recieved from all staff was good they were very friendly and helpful. The room was good but bathroom was on small side but beautiful view from the balcony.The location was lovely short walk into village and sea...... the night life was excellent great places to have meals and very nice friendly and helpful people everywhere we went . The food at the hotel was good although we only had breakfast and had our evening meals in the village.
The only drawback was having to pay extra for air conditioning which we feel should be included as it is really necessary ... but we were lucky we only paid 7euros per night where some people were paying double that per night .

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank deemike13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2010

I felt I had to write this review after reading what the not so happy lot below said, and it's unfortunate that people only normally write when they have had a bad time.
We had a great time here we found all of the staff to be lovely and extremely helpful, especially seeing as one of our children is a fussy eater they bent over backwards to accommodate him. The hotel is very clean and spacious, and on a beautiful beach front, which isn't large but it is still lovely and the sea is shallow for a long way out so it is great for kids. There is a lovely bar at the front of the hotel, where you can watch the world go by, and a childrens play ground just over the road. The food is excellent, we didn't have one bad meal there and among the favourites were the trout and the baked spaghetti. Also there are home made desserts which a delicious, my favourite the lemon meringue pie, for which the ingredients are sent over from canada, so foodwise they take special care that it is good. Highly recommended. And guess what we are going again this year, can't wait.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lsamio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green green grass of home
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2009

The Astoria is in a very good spot on the edge of the resort .The picture in the brochures of the beach in front of the hotel is totally misleading , there is one line of sunbeds on the waters edge .The breakfast is adequate but repetitive .The serving staff are downright rude .They will reach in front of your face to take something off the table. If youv`e been going there for years they are full of good cheer ! The rooms need to be gutted and refurnished. The cleaners are very pleasant but they don`t clean excessively as we found out with a birds nest on the balcony and birds droppings over the cupboard containing the fridge. The carpet was stained and filthy .We didn`t try the evening meal because one dose daily was enough of the serving staff .I wouldn`t go here again for free !! I can`t understand why anyone would want to come here twice ...

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davekorbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Dundee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Our first experience was about five years ago when we decided to have our evening meal in the restaurant bordering the beach. We walked in, sat down at a nice table overlooking the beach only to be told by the manageress that we 'couldn't sit there' and would have to move indoors. We just walked out and vowed never to return.

Last year (2008) a friend who had won two free meals in the Astoria as a result of winning a quiz in the hotel's Cave bar gave the tickets to us as a birthday present. So not wanting to look a gift horse in the mouth we accepted them and went there for the meal. The meal itself was pretty poor and on a par with a not so great school dinner. Nothing to write home about, but ok for a freebie. Serving staff were very nice and couldn't be faulted. However when we came to pay and presented the coupon the manageress was most unpleasant. "I knew nothing about this...." etc and left us feeling like we'd been trying to pull a fast one in order to get a meal, when in fact the Astoria based on our previous experience was the last place we'd chose to eat. It was a most embarrassing episode and we'll never ever venture there again.
The management have a lot to learn about courtesy and customer care, but going by other reviews of this hotel I doubt if they will.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveyJUU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zante Alikes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

The Astoria has some bad reports but no problems on our stay, the rooms were dated but clean and no sewage smells . The food we ate at the hotel was good and reasonably priced , the breakfast a bit monotonous as with other greek hotels .
It is in a great position but unfortunately the beach in front of the hotel is now virtually non existant but within 5 metres there is a lovely golden beach. If you took the time to speak to the staff they were pleasant.
The only negative comment the towels although clean and changed daily need replacing.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank factotumzantealikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.0 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Property: Astoria
Address: Alykes 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays and LoveHolidays so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing