We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”
Review of Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astoria
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We booked into the astoria for a 2 week holiday - our first time in Zante. This was a lovely hotel, we were there on a bed and breakfast basis. The food was great, the staff were exceptionally friendly. Our room was basic, but fine for our needs. As typical we paid more for the air conditioning which was essential as it was really warm.

There was wi-fi but you have to pay extra for this.

All in all, brilliant hotel, with brilliant staff and a brilliant location right on the beach and 2 mins walk from the beginning of the strip. We'd go back in a minute.

Room Tip: doesn't matter if you have a beach or street room as there is very little noise either way, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sharmrp72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    33
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
27
78
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

we had a very good time at the Astoria. The family who ran the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The food was nice and great value for money . The drinks were cheaper than the pubs. No problem with sun beds excellent location right on the beach. We had a very relaxing holiday. We would go back again .

Room Tip: request room overlooking sea great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carol m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We had a brilliant time at Astoria. The family who ran the place were very friendly and the food was nice. Great value for money! We look forward to returning as soon as possible.

Gerry & Anne from Durham

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gerald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

This was our fourth visit to the Astoria and have always found it a relaxing place to stay.The owners Marie and John once you get to know them are realy friendly. i say once you get to know them as on the first time you meet them they seem offish. Not at all. Despite John being totally blind he can remember everyone. The hotel is situated ot the top end of the village and is far enough away to be peaceful bot within a few minutes walk you are in the centre of town.
Breakfast is changed most days and not continental style. plenty of egg bacon and beans. Restaurant is on the beach edge and spent many evenings enjoying good food and wine overlooking the sea. You can pick a boat up on the end of the jetty for the caves abd famous ship wreck. Plenty of other bars and restaurants in the village.
would say however not very good for kids as no pool

Room Tip: No Good for kids as no pool but you have to walk a long way out in the sea to get above four feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Just come back from Alykes after making a late booking and stayed at the ASTORIA. From the minute we checked in to the minute we left all the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a Canadian influence to the hotel, flags,maple syrup and pancakes at breakfast. The hotel is owned by a greek gentleman who lives in Canada part of the year. Hotel: very clean,two lifts,yards from the beach,good food,10 minutes stroll to the centre of Alykes.We will certainly return.
Tavernas - try the Anotolikos not far from the hotel. Shirley Valentine setting and cheaper than those in the centre of the resort. Not a massive menu but lovely grub.
For any animal lovers please go and see the donkey opposite Cheers bar and behind the Indian/Chinese restaurant. He is very docile, we named him Apples as he loved them-please feed him-a little kindness would mean a lot.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ouzoman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinton England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed in the Astoria for one week in August this year. We have been to many lovely places around Greece but always go somewhere new each year. The Astoria in Alykes is one place we will go back to. Fabulous location, great room with fantastic view, good breakfast choice and good value evening meals on the wide terrace overlooking the Ionian and Kephalonia. The beach is a minute away and the sea is just perfect, gently shelving for 100m or more, I've never spent so much time in the sea. The small town of Alykes has a great supermarket called Montes and opposite you can book day trips (much cheaper than the tour operators), just talk to Costas, great guy.

Room Tip: Send an e-mail and ask for a room on the second floor in one of the wings overlooking the sea. Maria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AndyAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband, myself and our 10mth old baby have just returned from a week at the Astoria. Despite booking very last minute through the hotel and slight confusion on arrival, our stay was very welcoming. It's a family run business with many different generations working there, all who speak fantastic English.
The Astorias prime location is right on the blue flag beach, which is sandy, clear and shallow for ages.
Alykes is very friendly, with several bars and restaurants, and also trips and watersports. We stayed on the beach most days as we had the baby, and felt a week was perfect.
It was a great chilled out beach holiday, ideal for young families and people wanting to enjoy the beautiful location and friendly family run hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wonderarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.0 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.0 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 19 in Vasilikos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria

Property: Astoria
Address: Alykes 29100, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Jet2Holidays and LoveHolidays so you can book your Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing